Shock wave stone treatment waiting time at Wollongong Hospital
Half of patients at Wollongong Hospital waited 26 days or less for shock wave stone treatment in 2024–25 (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026). The source publishes this surgery as "Lithotripsy". This public hospital is in the Wollongong area of New South Wales.
Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.
These figures describe surgery that already happened, not your own wait.
- Median wait
- 26 days2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
- Surgeries completed
- 14 surgeries2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
- Waited more than 365 days
- not published2024–25 · released 28 May 2026 — Reported data did not meet the criteria to calculate this indicator.
Half the people who had this surgery here waited less than the median, and half waited longer. Of the 49 public hospitals that published a median wait for this surgery in 2024–25, this one sits at 17 when they are ordered from shortest median to longest. Hospitals with the same median share a rank.
The median wait here has fallen from 47 days in 2018–19 to 26 days in 2024–25 — down 45% — while the national median fell from 36 days to 28 days. No public hospital nearby published a shorter median for this surgery in this period.
Compare this near you → On the compare page, pick "Lithotripsy" and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.
How this compares
| Where | Median wait | Waited more than 365 days | Surgeries |
|---|---|---|---|
| Wollongong Hospital | 26 days | not published | 14 surgeries |
| New South Wales (all public hospitals) | 28 days | 0.7% | 1134 surgeries |
| Australia (all public hospitals) | 28 days | 0.8% | 2881 surgeries |
Where the wait is shorter nearby
Bars show the median wait in days. The vertical line at 28 days marks the national median.
Sutherland Hospital, NSW · about 48 km away: 26 days
St George Hospital NSW, NSW · about 56 km away: 26 days
Bankstown Lidcombe Hospital, NSW · about 56 km away: 85 days
Canterbury Hospital, NSW · about 60 km away: 34 days
Prince of Wales Hospital, NSW · about 65 km away: 44 days
Concord Repatriation Hospital, NSW · about 68 km away: 52 days
Nepean Hospital, NSW · about 76 km away: 50 days
Hawkesbury Hospital, NSW · about 91 km away: 48 days
Distances are straight-line, measured between hospital locations, and are approximate. The search covered 250 km.
How the wait has changed
- Wollongong Hospital
- NSW
- Australia
View these numbers as a table
| Reference period | Wollongong Hospital (days) | NSW (days) | Australia (days) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2016–17 | not reported for this period | not reported for this period | 34 |
| 2017–18 | not reported for this period | not reported for this period | 29 |
| 2018–19 | 47 | 36 | 36 |
| 2019–20 | 67 | 27 | 28 |
| 2020–21 | 61 | 31 | 34 |
| 2021–22 | 40 | 27 | 33 |
| 2022–23 | not published | 28 | 30 |
| 2023–24 | not reported for this period | 28 | 28 |
| 2024–25 | 26 | 28 | 28 |
Public hospitals only — what these figures include and leave out.
All surgery at Wollongong Hospital · Shock wave stone treatment across Australia · Shock wave stone treatment in New South Wales · All surgery waits in New South Wales