Carotid artery plaque removal waiting time at Westmead Hospital
Half of patients at Westmead Hospital waited 16 days or less for carotid artery plaque removal in 2024–25 (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026). The source publishes this surgery as "Carotid endarterectomy". This public hospital is in the Westmead area of New South Wales.
Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.
These figures describe surgery that already happened, not your own wait.
- Median wait
- 16 days2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
- Surgeries completed
- 34 surgeries2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
- Waited more than 365 days
- not published2024–25 · released 28 May 2026 — Reported data did not meet the criteria to calculate this indicator.
Half the people who had this surgery here waited less than the median, and half waited longer. Of the 27 public hospitals that published a median wait for this surgery in 2024–25, this one sits at 6 when they are ordered from shortest median to longest. Hospitals with the same median share a rank.
The median wait here has fallen from 20 days in 2018–19 to 16 days in 2024–25 — down 20% — while the national median rose from 19 days to 20 days. No public hospital nearby published a shorter median for this surgery in this period.
Compare this near you → On the compare page, pick "Carotid endarterectomy" and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.
How this compares
| Where | Median wait | Waited more than 365 days | Surgeries |
|---|---|---|---|
| Westmead Hospital | 16 days | not published | 34 surgeries |
| New South Wales (all public hospitals) | 23 days | 0.3% | 355 surgeries |
| Australia (all public hospitals) | 20 days | 0.6% | 702 surgeries |
Where the wait is shorter nearby
Bars show the median wait in days. The vertical line at 20 days marks the national median.
Concord Repatriation Hospital, NSW · about 10 km away: 50 days
Royal Prince Alfred Hospital, NSW · about 20 km away: 48 days
Nepean Hospital, NSW · about 26 km away: 45 days
Gosford Hospital, NSW · about 54 km away: 22 days
Wollongong Hospital, NSW · about 70 km away: 21 days
John Hunter Hospital, NSW · about 118 km away: 31 days
Distances are straight-line, measured between hospital locations, and are approximate. The search covered 250 km.
How the wait has changed
- Westmead Hospital
- NSW
- Australia
View these numbers as a table
| Reference period | Westmead Hospital (days) | NSW (days) | Australia (days) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2016–17 | not reported for this period | not reported for this period | 11 |
| 2017–18 | not reported for this period | not reported for this period | 13 |
| 2018–19 | 20 | 20 | 19 |
| 2019–20 | 17 | 21 | 17 |
| 2020–21 | 15 | 23 | 20 |
| 2021–22 | 30 | 21 | 16 |
| 2022–23 | 15 | 23 | 18 |
| 2023–24 | 9 | 21 | 18 |
| 2024–25 | 16 | 23 | 20 |
Public hospitals only — what these figures include and leave out.
All surgery at Westmead Hospital · Carotid artery plaque removal across Australia · Carotid artery plaque removal in New South Wales · All surgery waits in New South Wales