Surgery Waits

Spinal disc removal waiting time at The Children's Hospital at Westmead

The median wait for spinal disc removal at The Children's Hospital at Westmead in 2024–25 is not published by the source (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026). The source publishes this surgery as "Discectomy". This public hospital is in the Westmead area of New South Wales.

Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.

The source did not publish a median wait for this surgery at this hospital in 2024–25. Reported data did not meet the criteria to calculate this indicator. The hospital is shown here unranked rather than ranked on a number that does not exist.

These figures describe surgery that already happened, not your own wait.

Median wait
not published2024–25 · released 28 May 2026 — Reported data did not meet the criteria to calculate this indicator.
Surgeries completed
not published2024–25 · released 28 May 2026 — too few
Waited more than 365 days
not published2024–25 · released 28 May 2026 — Reported data did not meet the criteria to calculate this indicator.

This hospital is not ranked for this surgery.

Compare this near you → On the compare page, pick "Discectomy" and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.

How this compares

Median wait, long waits and volume for Discectomy, 2024–25.
Where Median wait Waited more than 365 days Surgeries
The Children's Hospital at Westmeadnot publishednot publishednot published
New South Wales (all public hospitals)56 days8.8%500 surgeries
Australia (all public hospitals)41 days4.5%1400 surgeries

Where the wait is shorter nearby

The Children's Hospital at Westmead did not publish a median wait for this surgery in 2024–25, so there is no list of nearer alternatives to compare it against.

How the wait has changed

Median wait for discectomy by financial year at The Children's Hospital at Westmead, compared with New South Wales and Australiadays02550751002016–172018–192020–212022–232024–25NSW 56Australia 41
View these numbers as a table
Median wait in days for Discectomy, by financial year. Every figure was released on 2026-05-28.
Reference periodThe Children's Hospital at Westmead (days)NSW (days)Australia (days)
2016–17not reported for this period5641
2017–18not reported for this period6042
2018–19not reported for this period5343
2019–20not reported for this period5649
2020–21not reported for this period5249
2021–22not reported for this period5449
2022–23not reported for this period8160
2023–24not reported for this period6248
2024–25not published5641

Public hospitals only — what these figures include and leave out.

All surgery at The Children's Hospital at Westmead · Spinal disc removal across Australia · Spinal disc removal in New South Wales · All surgery waits in New South Wales