Cranioplasty waiting time at The Children's Hospital at Westmead
Half of patients at The Children's Hospital at Westmead waited 62 days or less for cranioplasty in 2024–25 (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026). This public hospital is in the Westmead area of New South Wales.
Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.
These figures describe surgery that already happened, not your own wait.
- Median wait
- 62 days2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
- Surgeries completed
- 11 surgeries2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
- Waited more than 365 days
- not published2024–25 · released 28 May 2026 — Reported data did not meet the criteria to calculate this indicator.
Half the people who had this surgery here waited less than the median, and half waited longer. Of the 15 public hospitals that published a median wait for this surgery in 2024–25, this one sits at 11 when they are ordered from shortest median to longest. Hospitals with the same median share a rank.
The median wait here has risen from 28 days in 2021–22 to 62 days in 2024–25 — up 121% — while the national median rose from 29 days to 41 days. The nearest public hospital with a shorter published wait is Westmead Hospital, about 0 km away, at 16 days.
Compare this near you → On the compare page, pick "Cranioplasty" and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.
How this compares
| Where | Median wait | Waited more than 365 days | Surgeries |
|---|---|---|---|
| The Children's Hospital at Westmead | 62 days | not published | 11 surgeries |
| New South Wales (all public hospitals) | not published | not published | 73 surgeries |
| Queensland (all public hospitals) | not published | not published | 99 surgeries |
| Victoria (all public hospitals) | 29 days | 1.0% | 100 surgeries |
| Australia (all public hospitals) | 41 days | 2.0% | 352 surgeries |
Where the wait is shorter nearby
Bars show the median wait in days. The vertical line at 41 days marks the national median.
Westmead Hospital, NSW · about 0 km away: 16 days
John Hunter Hospital, NSW · about 117 km away: 86 days
Monash Medical Centre [Clayton], VIC · about 697 km away: 20 days
St Vincent's Hospital [Melbourne], VIC · about 702 km away: 25 days
Royal Melbourne Hospital [City Campus], VIC · about 702 km away: 79 days
Royal Children's Hospital [Parkville], VIC · about 703 km away: 43 days
The Alfred, VIC · about 704 km away: 22 days
Princess Alexandra Hospital, QLD · about 727 km away: 26 days
Distances are straight-line, measured between hospital locations, and are approximate. The search covered 1000 km — the radius was widened because fewer than four hospitals published a figure within 250 km.
Some of these hospitals are in another state — a public hospital referral can cross the border, so ask your GP what that would mean for you. See also where crossing a border cuts the wait most.
How the wait has changed
- The Children's Hospital at Westmead
- NSW
- Australia
View these numbers as a table
| Reference period | The Children's Hospital at Westmead (days) | NSW (days) | Australia (days) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2016–17 | not reported for this period | not reported for this period | 45 |
| 2017–18 | not reported for this period | not reported for this period | 35 |
| 2018–19 | not reported for this period | not reported for this period | 29 |
| 2019–20 | not reported for this period | not reported for this period | 29 |
| 2020–21 | not reported for this period | not reported for this period | 39 |
| 2021–22 | 28 | not published | 29 |
| 2022–23 | 38 | 45 | 50 |
| 2023–24 | not published | not published | 48 |
| 2024–25 | 62 | not published | 41 |
Public hospitals only — what these figures include and leave out.
All surgery at The Children's Hospital at Westmead · Cranioplasty across Australia · Cranioplasty in New South Wales · All surgery waits in New South Wales