Carpal tunnel surgery waiting time at Surgical Treatment and Rehabilitation Service
Half of patients at Surgical Treatment and Rehabilitation Service waited 77 days or less for carpal tunnel surgery in 2024–25 (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026). The source publishes this surgery as "Carpal tunnel release". This public hospital is in the Herston area of Queensland.
Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.
These figures describe surgery that already happened, not your own wait.
- Median wait
- 77 days2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
- Surgeries completed
- 150 surgeries2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
- Waited more than 365 days
- 2.0%2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
Half the people who had this surgery here waited less than the median, and half waited longer. Of the 160 public hospitals that published a median wait for this surgery in 2024–25, this one sits at 89 when they are ordered from shortest median to longest. Hospitals with the same median share a rank.
The median wait here has risen from 38 days in 2020–21 to 77 days in 2024–25 — up 103% — while the national median fell from 80 days to 71 days. The nearest public hospital with a shorter published wait is Mater Adult Hospital, about 4 km away, at 63 days. Here, 2.0% of people waited more than 365 days for this surgery; nationally it was 5.2%.
Compare this near you → On the compare page, pick "Carpal tunnel release" and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.
How this compares
| Where | Median wait | Waited more than 365 days | Surgeries |
|---|---|---|---|
| Surgical Treatment and Rehabilitation Service | 77 days | 2.0% | 150 surgeries |
| Queensland (all public hospitals) | 74 days | 4.2% | 2245 surgeries |
| Australia (all public hospitals) | 71 days | 5.2% | 9994 surgeries |
Where the wait is shorter nearby
Bars show the median wait in days. The vertical line at 71 days marks the national median.
Royal Brisbane & Women's Hospital, QLD · about 0 km away: 95 days
Mater Adult Hospital, QLD · about 4 km away: 63 days
Princess Alexandra Hospital, QLD · about 6 km away: 60 days
The Prince Charles Hospital, QLD · about 7 km away: 43 days
Queen Elizabeth II Jubilee Hospital, QLD · about 12 km away: 63 days
Redland Hospital, QLD · about 24 km away: 56 days
Redcliffe Hospital, QLD · about 26 km away: 72 days
Logan Hospital, QLD · about 27 km away: 67 days
Distances are straight-line, measured between hospital locations, and are approximate. The search covered 250 km.
How the wait has changed
- Surgical Treatment and Rehabilitation Service
- QLD
- Australia
View these numbers as a table
| Reference period | Surgical Treatment and Rehabilitation Service (days) | QLD (days) | Australia (days) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2016–17 | not reported for this period | 54 | 56 |
| 2017–18 | not reported for this period | 65 | 61 |
| 2018–19 | not reported for this period | 69 | 62 |
| 2019–20 | not reported for this period | 73 | 70 |
| 2020–21 | 38 | 71 | 80 |
| 2021–22 | 48 | 69 | 82 |
| 2022–23 | 48 | 69 | 83 |
| 2023–24 | 60 | 69 | 72 |
| 2024–25 | 77 | 74 | 71 |
Public hospitals only — what these figures include and leave out.
All surgery at Surgical Treatment and Rehabilitation Service · Carpal tunnel surgery across Australia · Carpal tunnel surgery in Queensland · All surgery waits in Queensland