Lobectomy/wedge resection/pneumonectomy waiting time at Sunshine Coast University Hospital
Half of patients at Sunshine Coast University Hospital waited 20 days or less for lobectomy/wedge resection/pneumonectomy in 2024–25 (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026). This public hospital is in the Birtinya area of Queensland.
Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.
These figures describe surgery that already happened, not your own wait.
- Median wait
- 20 days2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
- Surgeries completed
- 70 surgeries2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
- Waited more than 365 days
- 0.0%2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
Half the people who had this surgery here waited less than the median, and half waited longer. Of the 28 public hospitals that published a median wait for this surgery in 2024–25, this one sits at 19 when they are ordered from shortest median to longest. Hospitals with the same median share a rank.
The nearest public hospital with a shorter published wait is The Prince Charles Hospital, about 72 km away, at 15 days. Here, 0.0% of people waited more than 365 days for this surgery; nationally it was 0.0%.
Compare this near you → On the compare page, pick "Lobectomy/wedge resection/pneumonectomy" and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.
How this compares
| Where | Median wait | Waited more than 365 days | Surgeries |
|---|---|---|---|
| Sunshine Coast University Hospital | 20 days | 0.0% | 70 surgeries |
| New South Wales (all public hospitals) | 20 days | 0.0% | 604 surgeries |
| Queensland (all public hospitals) | 15 days | 0.0% | 479 surgeries |
| Australia (all public hospitals) | 17 days | 0.0% | 1875 surgeries |
Where the wait is shorter nearby
Bars show the median wait in days. The vertical line at 17 days marks the national median.
The Prince Charles Hospital, QLD · about 72 km away: 15 days
Princess Alexandra Hospital, QLD · about 84 km away: 14 days
Gold Coast University Hospital, QLD · about 137 km away: 19 days
Tweed Valley Hospital, NSW · about 165 km away: 28 days
Distances are straight-line, measured between hospital locations, and are approximate. The search covered 250 km.
Some of these hospitals are in another state — a public hospital referral can cross the border, so ask your GP what that would mean for you. See also where crossing a border cuts the wait most.
How the wait has changed
- Sunshine Coast University Hospital
- QLD
- Australia
View these numbers as a table
| Reference period | Sunshine Coast University Hospital (days) | QLD (days) | Australia (days) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2016–17 | not reported for this period | 8 | 13 |
| 2017–18 | not reported for this period | 7 | 13 |
| 2018–19 | not reported for this period | 11 | 15 |
| 2019–20 | not reported for this period | 11 | 14 |
| 2020–21 | not reported for this period | 11 | 13 |
| 2021–22 | not reported for this period | 10 | 14 |
| 2022–23 | not reported for this period | 12 | 15 |
| 2023–24 | not published | 15 | 16 |
| 2024–25 | 20 | 15 | 17 |
Public hospitals only — what these figures include and leave out.
All surgery at Sunshine Coast University Hospital · Lobectomy/wedge resection/pneumonectomy across Australia · Lobectomy/wedge resection/pneumonectomy in Queensland · All surgery waits in Queensland