South West Healthcare [Warrnambool] surgery waiting times
In 2024–25, this public hospital in the Warrnambool area of Victoria published median waits from 3 days for curettage and evacuation of uterus to 223 days for varicose vein surgery.
Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.
South West Healthcare [Warrnambool] is a public hospital in the Warrnambool area of Victoria. It is part of South West Healthcare. It reported 66 surgery types to the national planned-surgery collection for 2024–25. 36 surgery types were last reported in an earlier period; they are listed below, with the period the source last carried them.
Compare this near you → On the compare page, pick a surgery and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.
Waiting times by surgery
Shortest median wait first. A surgery the source did not publish a figure for is listed after those, and a surgery it did not report at all this period is listed last. Neither is ranked, and neither shows an older figure in place of a current one.
| Surgery | Median wait | Surgeries | Waited more than 365 days |
|---|---|---|---|
| Curettage and evacuation of uterus | 3 days | 71 surgeries | 0.0% |
| Bartholin's abscess drainage | 8 days | 10 surgeries | not published |
| Mastectomy | 8 days | 21 surgeries | not published |
| Cystoscopy | 9 days | 51 surgeries | 0.0% |
| Colectomy/anterior resection/large bowel resection | 12 days | 26 surgeries | not published |
| Skin lesion - excision of | 14 days | 367 surgeries | 1.1% |
| Hysteroscopy, dilatation and curettage | 22 days | 244 surgeries | 0.0% |
| Cholecystectomy (open/laparoscopic) | 28 days | 86 surgeries | 1.2% |
| Anterior cruciate ligament reconstruction | 43 days | 19 surgeries | not published |
| Arthroscopy | 44 days | 62 surgeries | 0.0% |
| Haemorrhoidectomy | 56 days | 17 surgeries | not published |
| Fundoplication | 57 days | 15 surgeries | not published |
| Endometrial ablation | 63 days | 44 surgeries | not published |
| Cystectomy | 64 days | 11 surgeries | not published |
| Carpal tunnel release | 65 days | 36 surgeries | not published |
| Total hip replacement | 68 days | 87 surgeries | 0.0% |
| Salpingo-oophorectomy/oophorectomy/ovarian cystectomy | 74 days | 32 surgeries | not published |
| Laparoscopy | 78 days | 69 surgeries | 1.4% |
| Hysterectomy (abdominal/vaginal/laparoscopic) | 79 days | 50 surgeries | 0.0% |
| Total knee replacement | 85 days | 91 surgeries | 0.0% |
| Cataract extraction (with or without intra-ocular lens insertion) | 97 days | 494 surgeries | 4.9% |
| Acromioplasty/arthroscopy shoulder/sub acromial decompression | 99 days | 39 surgeries | not published |
| Vaginal repair - anterior/posterior | 109 days | 23 surgeries | not published |
| Herniorrhaphy | 114 days | 50 surgeries | 12.0% |
| Shoulder joint replacement | 123 days | 26 surgeries | not published |
| Inguinal herniotomy/herniorrhaphy | 125 days | 49 surgeries | not published |
| Tonsillectomy (with or without adenoidectomy) | 147 days | 43 surgeries | not published |
| Varicose veins treatment | 223 days | 12 surgeries | not published |
| Adenoidectomy | not published | not published | not published |
| Amputation of limb | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| Anal fissure - repair of | not published | not published | not published |
| Arthrodesis | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| Arthroplasty - revision of | not published | 8 surgeries | not published |
| Breast lump - excision and/or biopsy | not published | not published | not published |
| Breast prosthesis - removal of | not published | not published | not published |
| Breast reconstruction | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| Circumcision | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| Cone biopsy | not published | not published | not published |
| Craniotomy | not published | not published | not published |
| Dacryocystorhinostomy | not published | not published | not published |
| Dupytren's contracture release | not published | 6 surgeries | not published |
| Ectropion - correction of | not published | 6 surgeries | not published |
| Epididymal cyst - removal of | not published | not published | not published |
| Female sterilisation | not published | not published | not published |
| Fracture non-union - treatment of | not published | not published | not published |
| Functional endoscopic sinus surgery | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| Ganglion - excision of | not published | not published | not published |
| Hydrocele - repair of | not published | not published | not published |
| Large loop excision of the transformation zone cervix (LLETZ) | not published | 9 surgeries | not published |
| Meniscectomy | not published | not published | not published |
| Muscle biopsy/temporal artery biopsy | not published | 7 surgeries | not published |
| Myomectomy | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| Myringotomy | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| Orchidectomy | not published | not published | not published |
| Osteotomy | not published | not published | not published |
| Pilonidal sinus surgery | not published | not published | not published |
| Pressure equalising tubes (grommets) - insertion of | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| Prostate biopsy | not published | 7 surgeries | not published |
| Prostatectomy (transurethral or open) | not published | 6 surgeries | not published |
| Ptosis - repair of | not published | not published | not published |
| Septoplasty | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| Stress incontinence surgery | not published | not published | not published |
| Tendon release | not published | 6 surgeries | not published |
| Thyroidectomy/hemi-thyroidectomy | not published | not published | not published |
| Toenail surgery | not published | 9 surgeries | not published |
| Trigger finger/thumb release | not published | not published | not published |
| Not reported for this period | |||
| Axillary node dissection last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Bladder neck incision last reported 2018–19 | not reported | ||
| Blepharoplasty last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Branchial apparatus remnant - removal of last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Breast reduction last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Bunion (hallux valgus) - removal of last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Cleft lip and palate - repair of last reported 2020–21 | not reported | ||
| Dialysis access surgery last reported 2020–21 | not reported | ||
| Diathermy of wart/s last reported 2019–20 | not reported | ||
| Examination of eye under anaesthesia last reported 2020–21 | not reported | ||
| Exostosis - excision of last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Hammer/claw/mallet toe - correction of last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Lingual or maxillary frenulum surgery last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Mastoidectomy last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Meatoplasty last reported 2017–18 | not reported | ||
| Microlaryngoscopy last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Myringoplasty/tympanoplasty last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Myringotomy (without insertion of grommets) last reported 2016–17 | not reported | ||
| Nasal cautery last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Nasal polypectomy last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Nasendoscopy last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Orchidopexy last reported 2020–21 | not reported | ||
| Parathyroidectomy last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Parotidectomy/submandibular gland - excision of last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Probing of naso-lacrimal duct last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Procedure for strabismus (squint repair) last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Pterygium - excision of last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Rotator cuff - repair of last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Scar revision last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Shoulder reconstruction last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Sub-mucosal resection last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Thyroglossal remnant - removal of last reported 2020–21 | not reported | ||
| Turbinectomy last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Ureteric - reimplantation last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Urethra - dilatation of last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Vitrectomy (including buckling/cryotherapy) last reported 2017–18 | not reported | ||
Urgency categories
Urgency figures cover all planned surgery at the hospital, not one procedure. They are never combined with the procedure figures. Your treating specialist assigns your urgency category — it is not something you choose. What the categories mean, and how every hospital compares.
| Urgency category | Median wait | Treated within the recommended time | Surgeries |
|---|---|---|---|
| Urgent | 3 days | 100% | 1147 surgeries |
| Semi-urgent | 64 days | 79% | 964 surgeries |
| Non-urgent | 127 days | 93% | 822 surgeries |
Cite this page
In 2024–25, South West Healthcare [Warrnambool] published median planned-surgery waits from 3 days for curettage and evacuation of uterus to 223 days for varicose vein surgery (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026).
Copy-ready citation
Surgery Waits, "South West Healthcare [Warrnambool] waiting list", 2024–25 data released 28 May 2026, https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/south-west-healthcare-warrnambool/, accessed 28 May 2026.
Attribution: Surgery Waits (https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/south-west-healthcare-warrnambool/), from Australian Institute of Health and Welfare MyHospitals data, CC BY 3.0 AU. Reference period 2024–25, released 28 May 2026.
What is not here
Public hospitals only. Private hospitals do not report to this collection, so their waiting times cannot be compared here.
How these figures are put together · All surgery waits in Victoria · All hospitals