Shoalhaven Hospital surgery waiting times
In 2024–25, this public hospital in the West Nowra area of New South Wales published median waits from 4 days for bladder scope (cystoscopy) to 410 days for shoulder joint replacement.
Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.
Shoalhaven Hospital is a public hospital in the West Nowra area of New South Wales. It is part of Illawarra Shoalhaven. It reported 48 surgery types to the national planned-surgery collection for 2024–25. 42 surgery types were last reported in an earlier period; they are listed below, with the period the source last carried them.
Compare this near you → On the compare page, pick a surgery and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.
Waiting times by surgery
Shortest median wait first. A surgery the source did not publish a figure for is listed after those, and a surgery it did not report at all this period is listed last. Neither is ranked, and neither shows an older figure in place of a current one.
| Surgery | Median wait | Surgeries | Waited more than 365 days |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cystoscopy | 4 days | 463 surgeries | 1.9% |
| Dialysis access surgery | 13 days | 30 surgeries | not published |
| Mastectomy | 16 days | 12 surgeries | not published |
| Breast lump - excision and/or biopsy | 20 days | 37 surgeries | not published |
| Large loop excision of the transformation zone cervix (LLETZ) | 21 days | 11 surgeries | not published |
| Hysteroscopy, dilatation and curettage | 25 days | 163 surgeries | 0.6% |
| Colectomy/anterior resection/large bowel resection | 26 days | 33 surgeries | not published |
| Prostate biopsy | 29 days | 144 surgeries | 0.0% |
| Ureteric stent - insertion of | 30 days | 82 surgeries | 0.0% |
| Skin lesion - excision of | 43 days | 434 surgeries | 3.2% |
| Cholecystectomy (open/laparoscopic) | 60 days | 148 surgeries | 4.1% |
| Laparoscopy | 65 days | 19 surgeries | not published |
| Salpingo-oophorectomy/oophorectomy/ovarian cystectomy | 78 days | 12 surgeries | not published |
| Anterior cruciate ligament reconstruction | 92 days | 26 surgeries | not published |
| Haemorrhoidectomy | 102 days | 28 surgeries | not published |
| Prostatectomy (transurethral or open) | 107 days | 53 surgeries | 9.4% |
| Arthroscopy | 108 days | 38 surgeries | not published |
| Carpal tunnel release | 167 days | 39 surgeries | not published |
| Total hip replacement | 182 days | 113 surgeries | 27.4% |
| Circumcision | 223 days | 11 surgeries | not published |
| Thyroidectomy/hemi-thyroidectomy | 239 days | 15 surgeries | not published |
| Pilonidal sinus surgery | 292 days | 12 surgeries | not published |
| Inguinal herniotomy/herniorrhaphy | 308 days | 111 surgeries | 34.2% |
| Herniorrhaphy | 312 days | 84 surgeries | 28.6% |
| Dupytren's contracture release | 341 days | 18 surgeries | not published |
| Hysterectomy (abdominal/vaginal/laparoscopic) | 356 days | 11 surgeries | not published |
| Total knee replacement | 376 days | 158 surgeries | 54.4% |
| Shoulder joint replacement | 410 days | 18 surgeries | not published |
| Anal fissure - repair of | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| Bladder neck incision | not published | not published | not published |
| Bunion (hallux valgus) - removal of | not published | not published | not published |
| Cystectomy | not published | not published | not published |
| Endometrial ablation | not published | not published | not published |
| Epididymal cyst - removal of | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| Female sterilisation | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| Fracture non-union - treatment of | not published | not published | not published |
| Ganglion - excision of | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| Hydrocele - repair of | not published | 7 surgeries | not published |
| Lithotripsy | not published | not published | not published |
| Nerve decompression | not published | not published | not published |
| Parathyroidectomy | not published | not published | not published |
| Parotidectomy/submandibular gland - excision of | not published | not published | not published |
| Rotator cuff - repair of | not published | not published | not published |
| Stone/s urinary tract - removal of | not published | not published | not published |
| Toenail surgery | not published | 8 surgeries | not published |
| Trigger finger/thumb release | not published | 9 surgeries | not published |
| Urethra - dilatation of | not published | not published | not published |
| Vaginal repair - anterior/posterior | not published | not published | not published |
| Not reported for this period | |||
| Acromioplasty/arthroscopy shoulder/sub acromial decompression last reported 2018–19 | not reported | ||
| Adenoidectomy last reported 2019–20 | not reported | ||
| Amputation of limb last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Arthrodesis last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Bartholin's abscess drainage last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Blepharoplasty last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Breast prosthesis - removal of last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Cataract extraction (with or without intra-ocular lens insertion) last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Chalazion - excision of last reported 2018–19 | not reported | ||
| Cone biopsy last reported 2017–18 | not reported | ||
| Curettage and evacuation of uterus last reported 2019–20 | not reported | ||
| Diathermy of wart/s last reported 2016–17 | not reported | ||
| Ectropion - correction of last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Examination of eye under anaesthesia last reported 2017–18 | not reported | ||
| Exostosis - excision of last reported 2020–21 | not reported | ||
| Functional endoscopic sinus surgery last reported 2019–20 | not reported | ||
| Hammer/claw/mallet toe - correction of last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Lingual or maxillary frenulum surgery last reported 2020–21 | not reported | ||
| Lobectomy/wedge resection/pneumonectomy last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Mastoidectomy last reported 2019–20 | not reported | ||
| Meatoplasty last reported 2017–18 | not reported | ||
| Meniscectomy last reported 2019–20 | not reported | ||
| Microlaryngoscopy last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Myringoplasty/tympanoplasty last reported 2019–20 | not reported | ||
| Myringotomy last reported 2019–20 | not reported | ||
| Myringotomy (without insertion of grommets) last reported 2018–19 | not reported | ||
| Nasendoscopy last reported 2018–19 | not reported | ||
| Orchidectomy last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Orchidopexy last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Osteotomy last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Pressure equalising tubes (grommets) - insertion of last reported 2019–20 | not reported | ||
| Pterygium - excision of last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Ptosis - repair of last reported 2018–19 | not reported | ||
| Pyeloplasty/correction of ureteropelvic junction last reported 2020–21 | not reported | ||
| Repair of obstructing hiatus hernia last reported 2019–20 | not reported | ||
| Scar revision last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Septoplasty last reported 2019–20 | not reported | ||
| Stress incontinence surgery last reported 2017–18 | not reported | ||
| Tendon release last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Tonsillectomy (with or without adenoidectomy) last reported 2019–20 | not reported | ||
| Trabeculectomy last reported 2016–17 | not reported | ||
| Turbinectomy last reported 2019–20 | not reported | ||
Urgency categories
Urgency figures cover all planned surgery at the hospital, not one procedure. They are never combined with the procedure figures. Your treating specialist assigns your urgency category — it is not something you choose. What the categories mean, and how every hospital compares.
| Urgency category | Median wait | Treated within the recommended time | Surgeries |
|---|---|---|---|
| Urgent | 19 days | 100% | 564 surgeries |
| Semi-urgent | 56 days | 68% | 1319 surgeries |
| Non-urgent | 329 days | 63% | 823 surgeries |
Cite this page
In 2024–25, Shoalhaven Hospital published median planned-surgery waits from 4 days for bladder scope (cystoscopy) to 410 days for shoulder joint replacement (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026).
Copy-ready citation
Surgery Waits, "Shoalhaven Hospital surgery wait times and waiting list", 2024–25 data released 28 May 2026, https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/shoalhaven-hospital/, accessed 28 May 2026.
Attribution: Surgery Waits (https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/shoalhaven-hospital/), from Australian Institute of Health and Welfare MyHospitals data, CC BY 3.0 AU. Reference period 2024–25, released 28 May 2026.
What is not here
Public hospitals only. Private hospitals do not report to this collection, so their waiting times cannot be compared here.
How these figures are put together · All surgery waits in New South Wales · All hospitals