Royal Prince Alfred Institute of Rheumatology & Orthopaedics surgery waiting times
In 2024–25, this public hospital in the Camperdown area of New South Wales published median waits from 7 days for tendon release to 118 days for ACL reconstruction.
Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.
Royal Prince Alfred Institute of Rheumatology & Orthopaedics is a public hospital in the Camperdown area of New South Wales. It is part of Sydney. It reported 20 surgery types to the national planned-surgery collection for 2024–25. 8 surgery types were last reported in an earlier period; they are listed below, with the period the source last carried them.
Compare this near you → On the compare page, pick a surgery and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.
Waiting times by surgery
Shortest median wait first. A surgery the source did not publish a figure for is listed after those, and a surgery it did not report at all this period is listed last. Neither is ranked, and neither shows an older figure in place of a current one.
| Surgery | Median wait | Surgeries | Waited more than 365 days |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tendon release | 7 days | 10 surgeries | not published |
| Skin lesion - excision of | 15 days | 26 surgeries | not published |
| Shoulder joint replacement | 24 days | 16 surgeries | not published |
| Carpal tunnel release | 42 days | 29 surgeries | not published |
| Total hip replacement | 57 days | 131 surgeries | 0.0% |
| Arthroscopy | 76 days | 45 surgeries | not published |
| Total knee replacement | 91 days | 188 surgeries | 0.0% |
| Anterior cruciate ligament reconstruction | 118 days | 35 surgeries | not published |
| Arthrodesis | not published | 9 surgeries | not published |
| Bunion (hallux valgus) - removal of | not published | not published | not published |
| Dupytren's contracture release | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| Fracture non-union - treatment of | not published | 9 surgeries | not published |
| Ganglion - excision of | not published | not published | not published |
| Hammer/claw/mallet toe - correction of | not published | not published | not published |
| Meniscectomy | not published | not published | not published |
| Nerve decompression | not published | not published | not published |
| Osteotomy | not published | not published | not published |
| Rotator cuff - repair of | not published | 6 surgeries | not published |
| Scar revision | not published | not published | not published |
| Trigger finger/thumb release | not published | 6 surgeries | not published |
| Not reported for this period | |||
| Acromioplasty/arthroscopy shoulder/sub acromial decompression last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Amputation of limb last reported 2020–21 | not reported | ||
| Arthroplasty - revision of last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Cervical discectomy and fusion last reported 2018–19 | not reported | ||
| Laminectomy last reported 2016–17 | not reported | ||
| Muscle or tendon length - change of last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Shoulder reconstruction last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Tenotomy of hip last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
Urgency categories
Urgency figures cover all planned surgery at the hospital, not one procedure. They are never combined with the procedure figures. Your treating specialist assigns your urgency category — it is not something you choose. What the categories mean, and how every hospital compares.
| Urgency category | Median wait | Treated within the recommended time | Surgeries |
|---|---|---|---|
| Urgent | 5 days | 100% | 102 surgeries |
| Semi-urgent | 16 days | 100% | 111 surgeries |
| Non-urgent | 57 days | 100% | 1505 surgeries |
Cite this page
In 2024–25, Royal Prince Alfred Institute of Rheumatology & Orthopaedics published median planned-surgery waits from 7 days for tendon release to 118 days for ACL reconstruction (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026).
Copy-ready citation
Surgery Waits, "Royal Prince Alfred Institute of Rheumatology &…", 2024–25 data released 28 May 2026, https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/royal-prince-alfred-institute-of-rheumatology-orthopaedics/, accessed 28 May 2026.
Attribution: Surgery Waits (https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/royal-prince-alfred-institute-of-rheumatology-orthopaedics/), from Australian Institute of Health and Welfare MyHospitals data, CC BY 3.0 AU. Reference period 2024–25, released 28 May 2026.
What is not here
Public hospitals only. Private hospitals do not report to this collection, so their waiting times cannot be compared here.
How these figures are put together · All surgery waits in New South Wales · All hospitals