Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre surgery waiting times
In 2024–25, this public hospital in the Carlton area of Victoria published median waits from 6 days for voice box scope surgery to 179 days for breast implant removal.
Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.
Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre is a public hospital in the Carlton area of Victoria. It is part of Peter MacCallum Cancer Institute. It reported 34 surgery types to the national planned-surgery collection for 2024–25. 15 surgery types were last reported in an earlier period; they are listed below, with the period the source last carried them.
Compare this near you → On the compare page, pick a surgery and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.
Waiting times by surgery
Shortest median wait first. A surgery the source did not publish a figure for is listed after those, and a surgery it did not report at all this period is listed last. Neither is ranked, and neither shows an older figure in place of a current one.
| Surgery | Median wait | Surgeries | Waited more than 365 days |
|---|---|---|---|
| Microlaryngoscopy | 6 days | 11 surgeries | not published |
| Tonsillectomy (with or without adenoidectomy) | 6 days | 12 surgeries | not published |
| Axillary node dissection | 7 days | 14 surgeries | not published |
| Orchidectomy | 7 days | 20 surgeries | not published |
| Hysterectomy (abdominal/vaginal/laparoscopic) | 8 days | 10 surgeries | not published |
| Radical neck dissection | 9 days | 48 surgeries | not published |
| Breast lump - excision and/or biopsy | 10 days | 267 surgeries | 1.5% |
| Laparoscopy | 11 days | 104 surgeries | 1.0% |
| Colectomy/anterior resection/large bowel resection | 13 days | 220 surgeries | 2.7% |
| Mastectomy | 14 days | 121 surgeries | 5.0% |
| Skin lesion - excision of | 15 days | 1529 surgeries | 0.7% |
| Ureteric stent - insertion of | 15 days | 74 surgeries | 0.0% |
| Prostate biopsy | 17 days | 92 surgeries | 0.0% |
| Parotidectomy/submandibular gland - excision of | 20 days | 43 surgeries | not published |
| Salpingo-oophorectomy/oophorectomy/ovarian cystectomy | 21 days | 11 surgeries | not published |
| Thyroidectomy/hemi-thyroidectomy | 25 days | 69 surgeries | 0.0% |
| Cystoscopy | 26 days | 65 surgeries | 0.0% |
| Herniorrhaphy | 62 days | 13 surgeries | not published |
| Nephrectomy | 68 days | 63 surgeries | 0.0% |
| Prostatectomy (transurethral or open) | 82 days | 114 surgeries | 0.0% |
| Breast reconstruction | 125 days | 66 surgeries | 40.9% |
| Breast prosthesis - removal of | 179 days | 10 surgeries | not published |
| Amputation of limb | not published | not published | not published |
| Breast reduction | not published | 9 surgeries | not published |
| Cholecystectomy (open/laparoscopic) | not published | not published | not published |
| Circumcision | not published | not published | not published |
| Cystectomy | not published | not published | not published |
| Ectropion - correction of | not published | not published | not published |
| Functional endoscopic sinus surgery | not published | not published | not published |
| Laryngectomy | not published | not published | not published |
| Parathyroidectomy | not published | not published | not published |
| Repair of obstructing hiatus hernia | not published | not published | not published |
| Scar revision | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| Ureteric - reimplantation | not published | not published | not published |
| Not reported for this period | |||
| Anal fissure - repair of last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Bladder neck incision last reported 2017–18 | not reported | ||
| Haemorrhoidectomy last reported 2019–20 | not reported | ||
| Inguinal herniotomy/herniorrhaphy last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Lingual or maxillary frenulum surgery last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Mastoidectomy last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Muscle biopsy/temporal artery biopsy last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Myringotomy last reported 2015–16 | not reported | ||
| Nasendoscopy last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Pilonidal sinus surgery last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Replacement of aortic aneurysm with bifurcation graft last reported 2019–20 | not reported | ||
| Rhinoplasty last reported 2018–19 | not reported | ||
| Septoplasty last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Sub-mucosal resection last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Thyroglossal remnant - removal of last reported 2016–17 | not reported | ||
Urgency categories
Urgency figures cover all planned surgery at the hospital, not one procedure. They are never combined with the procedure figures. Your treating specialist assigns your urgency category — it is not something you choose. What the categories mean, and how every hospital compares.
| Urgency category | Median wait | Treated within the recommended time | Surgeries |
|---|---|---|---|
| Urgent | 12 days | 100% | 2648 surgeries |
| Semi-urgent | 52 days | 74% | 932 surgeries |
| Non-urgent | 259 days | 58% | 170 surgeries |
Cite this page
In 2024–25, Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre published median planned-surgery waits from 6 days for voice box scope surgery to 179 days for breast implant removal (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026).
Copy-ready citation
Surgery Waits, "Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre waiting list", 2024–25 data released 28 May 2026, https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/peter-maccallum-cancer-centre/, accessed 28 May 2026.
Attribution: Surgery Waits (https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/peter-maccallum-cancer-centre/), from Australian Institute of Health and Welfare MyHospitals data, CC BY 3.0 AU. Reference period 2024–25, released 28 May 2026.
What is not here
Public hospitals only. Private hospitals do not report to this collection, so their waiting times cannot be compared here.
How these figures are put together · All surgery waits in Victoria · All hospitals