Cataract surgery waiting time at Perth Children's Hospital
Half of patients at Perth Children's Hospital waited 35 days or less for cataract surgery in 2024–25 (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026). The source publishes this surgery as "Cataract extraction (with or without intra-ocular lens insertion)". This public hospital is in the Crawley area of Western Australia.
Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.
These figures describe surgery that already happened, not your own wait.
- Median wait
- 35 days2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
- Surgeries completed
- 25 surgeries2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
- Waited more than 365 days
- not published2024–25 · released 28 May 2026 — Reported data did not meet the criteria to calculate this indicator.
Half the people who had this surgery here waited less than the median, and half waited longer. Of the 132 public hospitals that published a median wait for this surgery in 2024–25, this one sits at 15 when they are ordered from shortest median to longest. Hospitals with the same median share a rank.
The median wait here has fallen from 38 days in 2018–19 to 35 days in 2024–25 — down 8% — while the national median rose from 84 days to 106 days. The nearest public hospital with a shorter published wait is St John of God Midland Public Hospital, about 20 km away, at 23 days.
Compare this near you → On the compare page, pick "Cataract extraction (with or without intra-ocular lens insertion)" and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.
How this compares
| Where | Median wait | Waited more than 365 days | Surgeries |
|---|---|---|---|
| Perth Children's Hospital | 35 days | not published | 25 surgeries |
| Western Australia (all public hospitals) | 82 days | 5.1% | 12672 surgeries |
| Australia (all public hospitals) | 106 days | 11.5% | 87841 surgeries |
Where the wait is shorter nearby
Bars show the median wait in days. The vertical line at 106 days marks the national median.
Royal Perth Hospital Wellington Street Campus, WA · about 5 km away: 93 days
Bentley Health Service, WA · about 11 km away: 71 days
Fremantle Hospital and Health Service, WA · about 12 km away: 181 days
St John of God Midland Public Hospital, WA · about 20 km away: 23 days
Joondalup Health Campus (Public), WA · about 26 km away: 89 days
Peel Health Campus, WA · about 63 km away: 48 days
Northam Hospital, WA · about 87 km away: 27 days
Narrogin Hospital, WA · about 166 km away: 105 days
Distances are straight-line, measured between hospital locations, and are approximate. The search covered 250 km.
How the wait has changed
- Perth Children's Hospital
- WA
- Australia
View these numbers as a table
| Reference period | Perth Children's Hospital (days) | WA (days) | Australia (days) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2011–12 | not reported for this period | 38 | 89 |
| 2012–13 | not reported for this period | 45 | 89 |
| 2013–14 | not reported for this period | 43 | 79 |
| 2014–15 | not reported for this period | 41 | 83 |
| 2015–16 | not reported for this period | 37 | 93 |
| 2016–17 | not reported for this period | 51 | 85 |
| 2017–18 | not published | 63 | 87 |
| 2018–19 | 38 | 61 | 84 |
| 2019–20 | 28 | 59 | 98 |
| 2020–21 | 42 | 77 | 172 |
| 2021–22 | 31 | 108 | 158 |
| 2022–23 | 73 | 117 | 133 |
| 2023–24 | 42 | 98 | 119 |
| 2024–25 | 35 | 82 | 106 |
Public hospitals only — what these figures include and leave out.
All surgery at Perth Children's Hospital · Cataract surgery across Australia · Cataract surgery in Western Australia · All surgery waits in Western Australia