Mersey Community Hospital surgery waiting times
In 2024–25, this public hospital in the Latrobe area of Tasmania published median waits from 23 days for bladder scope (cystoscopy) to 176 days for inguinal hernia repair.
Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.
Mersey Community Hospital is a public hospital in the Latrobe area of Tasmania. It is part of Tasmanian Health Service. It reported 14 surgery types to the national planned-surgery collection for 2024–25. 16 surgery types were last reported in an earlier period; they are listed below, with the period the source last carried them.
Compare this near you → On the compare page, pick a surgery and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.
Waiting times by surgery
Shortest median wait first. A surgery the source did not publish a figure for is listed after those, and a surgery it did not report at all this period is listed last. Neither is ranked, and neither shows an older figure in place of a current one.
| Surgery | Median wait | Surgeries | Waited more than 365 days |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cystoscopy | 23 days | 151 surgeries | 2.0% |
| Prostate biopsy | 36 days | 38 surgeries | not published |
| Hysteroscopy, dilatation and curettage | 41 days | 108 surgeries | 0.0% |
| Carpal tunnel release | 48 days | 53 surgeries | 0.0% |
| Cholecystectomy (open/laparoscopic) | 98 days | 25 surgeries | not published |
| Cataract extraction (with or without intra-ocular lens insertion) | 176 days | 647 surgeries | 3.6% |
| Inguinal herniotomy/herniorrhaphy | 176 days | 52 surgeries | 23.1% |
| Arthroscopy | not published | not published | not published |
| Circumcision | not published | 7 surgeries | not published |
| Haemorrhoidectomy | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| Hydrocele - repair of | not published | not published | not published |
| Hysterectomy (abdominal/vaginal/laparoscopic) | not published | not published | not published |
| Laparoscopy | not published | 7 surgeries | not published |
| Varicose veins treatment | not published | not published | not published |
| Not reported for this period | |||
| Adenoidectomy last reported 2020–21 | not reported | ||
| Amputation of limb last reported 2018–19 | not reported | ||
| Breast lump - excision and/or biopsy last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Endometrial ablation last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Epididymal cyst - removal of last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Exostosis - excision of last reported 2017–18 | not reported | ||
| Mastectomy last reported 2019–20 | not reported | ||
| Mastoidectomy last reported 2016–17 | not reported | ||
| Myringoplasty/tympanoplasty last reported 2018–19 | not reported | ||
| Myringotomy last reported 2018–19 | not reported | ||
| Orchidectomy last reported 2020–21 | not reported | ||
| Orchidopexy last reported 2018–19 | not reported | ||
| Parathyroidectomy last reported 2017–18 | not reported | ||
| Pressure equalising tubes (grommets) - insertion of last reported 2018–19 | not reported | ||
| Septoplasty last reported 2020–21 | not reported | ||
| Tonsillectomy (with or without adenoidectomy) last reported 2019–20 | not reported | ||
Urgency categories
Urgency figures cover all planned surgery at the hospital, not one procedure. They are never combined with the procedure figures. Your treating specialist assigns your urgency category — it is not something you choose. What the categories mean, and how every hospital compares.
| Urgency category | Median wait | Treated within the recommended time | Surgeries |
|---|---|---|---|
| Urgent | 24 days | 63% | 536 surgeries |
| Semi-urgent | 76 days | 60% | 721 surgeries |
| Non-urgent | 247 days | 87% | 573 surgeries |
Cite this page
In 2024–25, Mersey Community Hospital published median planned-surgery waits from 23 days for bladder scope (cystoscopy) to 176 days for inguinal hernia repair (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026).
Copy-ready citation
Surgery Waits, "Mersey Community Hospital wait times and waiting list", 2024–25 data released 28 May 2026, https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/mersey-community-hospital/, accessed 28 May 2026.
Attribution: Surgery Waits (https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/mersey-community-hospital/), from Australian Institute of Health and Welfare MyHospitals data, CC BY 3.0 AU. Reference period 2024–25, released 28 May 2026.
What is not here
Public hospitals only. Private hospitals do not report to this collection, so their waiting times cannot be compared here.
How these figures are put together · All surgery waits in Tasmania · All hospitals