Retina surgery waiting time at Lismore Base Hospital
Half of patients at Lismore Base Hospital waited 70 days or less for retina surgery in 2024–25 (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026). The source publishes this surgery as "Vitrectomy (including buckling/cryotherapy)". This public hospital is in the Lismore area of New South Wales.
Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.
These figures describe surgery that already happened, not your own wait.
- Median wait
- 70 days2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
- Surgeries completed
- 96 surgeries2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
- Waited more than 365 days
- 6.3%2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
Half the people who had this surgery here waited less than the median, and half waited longer. Of the 25 public hospitals that published a median wait for this surgery in 2024–25, this one sits at 21 when they are ordered from shortest median to longest. Hospitals with the same median share a rank.
The median wait here has risen from 12 days in 2019–20 to 70 days in 2024–25 — up 483% — while the national median rose from 21 days to 26 days. The nearest public hospital with a shorter published wait is Kurri Kurri Hospital, about 479 km away, at 15 days. Here, 6.3% of people waited more than 365 days for this surgery; nationally it was 2.6%.
Compare this near you → On the compare page, pick "Vitrectomy (including buckling/cryotherapy)" and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.
How this compares
| Where | Median wait | Waited more than 365 days | Surgeries |
|---|---|---|---|
| Lismore Base Hospital | 70 days | 6.3% | 96 surgeries |
| New South Wales (all public hospitals) | 34 days | 3.6% | 1400 surgeries |
| Australia (all public hospitals) | 26 days | 2.6% | 3742 surgeries |
Where the wait is shorter nearby
Bars show the median wait in days. The vertical line at 26 days marks the national median.
Kurri Kurri Hospital, NSW · about 479 km away: 15 days
Royal North Shore Hospital, NSW · about 592 km away: 47 days
Sydney Hospital / Sydney Eye Hospital, NSW · about 596 km away: 80 days
The Children's Hospital at Westmead, NSW · about 597 km away: 20 days
Concord Repatriation Hospital, NSW · about 597 km away: 13 days
Westmead Hospital, NSW · about 597 km away: 19 days
Royal Prince Alfred Hospital, NSW · about 599 km away: 11 days
Liverpool Hospital, NSW · about 611 km away: 58 days
Distances are straight-line, measured between hospital locations, and are approximate. The search covered 1000 km — the radius was widened because fewer than four hospitals published a figure within 250 km.
How the wait has changed
- Lismore Base Hospital
- NSW
- Australia
View these numbers as a table
| Reference period | Lismore Base Hospital (days) | NSW (days) | Australia (days) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2016–17 | not reported for this period | 22 | 19 |
| 2017–18 | not reported for this period | 27 | 21 |
| 2018–19 | not published | 28 | 22 |
| 2019–20 | 12 | 42 | 21 |
| 2020–21 | 22 | 25 | 19 |
| 2021–22 | 28 | 22 | 18 |
| 2022–23 | 89 | 30 | 24 |
| 2023–24 | 75 | 26 | 22 |
| 2024–25 | 70 | 34 | 26 |
Public hospitals only — what these figures include and leave out.
All surgery at Lismore Base Hospital · Retina surgery across Australia · Retina surgery in New South Wales · All surgery waits in New South Wales