Pterygium (eye growth) removal waiting time at Karratha Health Campus
Half of patients at Karratha Health Campus waited 33 days or less for pterygium (eye growth) removal in 2024–25 (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026). The source publishes this surgery as "Pterygium - excision of". This public hospital is in the Pegs Creek area of Western Australia.
Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.
These figures describe surgery that already happened, not your own wait.
- Median wait
- 33 days2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
- Surgeries completed
- 21 surgeries2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
- Waited more than 365 days
- not published2024–25 · released 28 May 2026 — Reported data did not meet the criteria to calculate this indicator.
Half the people who had this surgery here waited less than the median, and half waited longer. Of the 65 public hospitals that published a median wait for this surgery in 2024–25, this one sits at 3 when they are ordered from shortest median to longest. Hospitals with the same median share a rank.
The median wait here has fallen from 182 days in 2018–19 to 33 days in 2024–25 — down 82% — while the national median rose from 125 days to 197 days. No public hospital nearby published a shorter median for this surgery in this period.
Compare this near you → On the compare page, pick "Pterygium - excision of" and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.
How this compares
| Where | Median wait | Waited more than 365 days | Surgeries |
|---|---|---|---|
| Karratha Health Campus | 33 days | not published | 21 surgeries |
| Western Australia (all public hospitals) | 140 days | 11.1% | 621 surgeries |
| Australia (all public hospitals) | 197 days | 15.7% | 2442 surgeries |
Where the wait is shorter nearby
Bars show the median wait in days. The vertical line at 197 days marks the national median.
Broome Hospital, WA · about 645 km away: 238 days
Geraldton Hospital, WA · about 923 km away: 119 days
Distances are straight-line, measured between hospital locations, and are approximate. The search covered 1000 km — the radius was widened because fewer than four hospitals published a figure within 250 km.
How the wait has changed
- Karratha Health Campus
- WA
- Australia
View these numbers as a table
| Reference period | Karratha Health Campus (days) | WA (days) | Australia (days) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2016–17 | not reported for this period | 62 | 128 |
| 2017–18 | not reported for this period | 78 | 152 |
| 2018–19 | 182 | 83 | 125 |
| 2019–20 | 168 | 98 | 155 |
| 2020–21 | 133 | 150 | 230 |
| 2021–22 | 182 | 154 | 238 |
| 2022–23 | 260 | 187 | 241 |
| 2023–24 | 63 | 124 | 191 |
| 2024–25 | 33 | 140 | 197 |
Public hospitals only — what these figures include and leave out.
All surgery at Karratha Health Campus · Pterygium (eye growth) removal across Australia · Pterygium (eye growth) removal in Western Australia · All surgery waits in Western Australia