Carotid artery plaque removal waiting time at John Hunter Hospital
Half of patients at John Hunter Hospital waited 31 days or less for carotid artery plaque removal in 2024–25 (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026). The source publishes this surgery as "Carotid endarterectomy". This public hospital is in the Rankin Park area of New South Wales.
Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.
These figures describe surgery that already happened, not your own wait.
- Median wait
- 31 days2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
- Surgeries completed
- 28 surgeries2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
- Waited more than 365 days
- not published2024–25 · released 28 May 2026 — Reported data did not meet the criteria to calculate this indicator.
Half the people who had this surgery here waited less than the median, and half waited longer. Of the 27 public hospitals that published a median wait for this surgery in 2024–25, this one sits at 23 when they are ordered from shortest median to longest. Hospitals with the same median share a rank.
The median wait here has risen from 17 days in 2018–19 to 31 days in 2024–25 — up 82% — while the national median rose from 19 days to 20 days. The nearest public hospital with a shorter published wait is Gosford Hospital, about 64 km away, at 22 days.
Compare this near you → On the compare page, pick "Carotid endarterectomy" and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.
How this compares
| Where | Median wait | Waited more than 365 days | Surgeries |
|---|---|---|---|
| John Hunter Hospital | 31 days | not published | 28 surgeries |
| New South Wales (all public hospitals) | 23 days | 0.3% | 355 surgeries |
| Australia (all public hospitals) | 20 days | 0.6% | 702 surgeries |
Where the wait is shorter nearby
Bars show the median wait in days. The vertical line at 20 days marks the national median.
Gosford Hospital, NSW · about 64 km away: 22 days
Concord Repatriation Hospital, NSW · about 116 km away: 50 days
Royal Prince Alfred Hospital, NSW · about 117 km away: 48 days
Westmead Hospital, NSW · about 118 km away: 16 days
Nepean Hospital, NSW · about 130 km away: 45 days
Wollongong Hospital, NSW · about 183 km away: 21 days
Port Macquarie Base Hospital, NSW · about 198 km away: 20 days
Distances are straight-line, measured between hospital locations, and are approximate. The search covered 250 km.
How the wait has changed
- John Hunter Hospital
- NSW
- Australia
View these numbers as a table
| Reference period | John Hunter Hospital (days) | NSW (days) | Australia (days) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2016–17 | not reported for this period | not reported for this period | 11 |
| 2017–18 | not reported for this period | not reported for this period | 13 |
| 2018–19 | 17 | 20 | 19 |
| 2019–20 | 15 | 21 | 17 |
| 2020–21 | 18 | 23 | 20 |
| 2021–22 | 22 | 21 | 16 |
| 2022–23 | 19 | 23 | 18 |
| 2023–24 | 13 | 21 | 18 |
| 2024–25 | 31 | 23 | 20 |
Public hospitals only — what these figures include and leave out.
All surgery at John Hunter Hospital · Carotid artery plaque removal across Australia · Carotid artery plaque removal in New South Wales · All surgery waits in New South Wales