Heart bypass surgery waiting time at Gold Coast University Hospital
Half of patients at Gold Coast University Hospital waited 41 days or less for heart bypass surgery in 2024–25 (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026). The source publishes this surgery as "Coronary artery bypass grafting". This public hospital is in the Parkwood area of Queensland.
Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.
These figures describe surgery that already happened, not your own wait.
- Median wait
- 41 days2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
- Surgeries completed
- 33 surgeries2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
- Waited more than 365 days
- not published2024–25 · released 28 May 2026 — Reported data did not meet the criteria to calculate this indicator.
Half the people who had this surgery here waited less than the median, and half waited longer. Of the 23 public hospitals that published a median wait for this surgery in 2024–25, this one sits at 19 when they are ordered from shortest median to longest. Hospitals with the same median share a rank.
The median wait here has risen from 6 days in 2013–14 to 41 days in 2024–25 — up 583% — while the national median rose from 18 days to 19 days. The nearest public hospital with a shorter published wait is Princess Alexandra Hospital, about 61 km away, at 9 days.
Compare this near you → On the compare page, pick "Coronary artery bypass grafting" and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.
How this compares
| Where | Median wait | Waited more than 365 days | Surgeries |
|---|---|---|---|
| Gold Coast University Hospital | 41 days | not published | 33 surgeries |
| New South Wales (all public hospitals) | 19 days | 0.0% | 923 surgeries |
| Queensland (all public hospitals) | 11 days | 0.0% | 544 surgeries |
| Australia (all public hospitals) | 19 days | 0.1% | 2719 surgeries |
Where the wait is shorter nearby
Bars show the median wait in days. The vertical line at 19 days marks the national median.
Princess Alexandra Hospital, QLD · about 61 km away: 9 days
The Prince Charles Hospital, QLD · about 72 km away: 47 days
John Hunter Hospital, NSW · about 575 km away: 35 days
Westmead Hospital, NSW · about 689 km away: 36 days
St Vincent's Hospital [Darlinghurst], NSW · about 690 km away: 9 days
Royal Prince Alfred Hospital, NSW · about 692 km away: 19 days
Prince of Wales Hospital, NSW · about 693 km away: 20 days
St George Hospital NSW, NSW · about 702 km away: 7 days
Distances are straight-line, measured between hospital locations, and are approximate. The search covered 1000 km — the radius was widened because fewer than four hospitals published a figure within 250 km.
Some of these hospitals are in another state — a public hospital referral can cross the border, so ask your GP what that would mean for you. See also where crossing a border cuts the wait most.
How the wait has changed
- Gold Coast University Hospital
- QLD
- Australia
View these numbers as a table
| Reference period | Gold Coast University Hospital (days) | QLD (days) | Australia (days) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2011–12 | not reported for this period | 8 | 16 |
| 2012–13 | not reported for this period | 8 | 16 |
| 2013–14 | 6 | 10 | 18 |
| 2014–15 | 7 | 8 | 14 |
| 2015–16 | 6 | 7 | 13 |
| 2016–17 | 6 | 6 | 13 |
| 2017–18 | 5 | 7 | 17 |
| 2018–19 | 5 | 8 | 17 |
| 2019–20 | 7 | 10 | 18 |
| 2020–21 | 14 | 11 | 18 |
| 2021–22 | 27 | 13 | 19 |
| 2022–23 | 23 | 14 | 19 |
| 2023–24 | 24 | 15 | 19 |
| 2024–25 | 41 | 11 | 19 |
Queensland's quarterly figures for cardio-thoracic surgery
These are not figures for coronary artery bypass grafting. Queensland reports by surgical specialty, not by procedure. A specialty covers many different operations, so a specialty figure is never a figure for any one of them.
Queensland Health publishes its own figures every three months. They count differently from the national figures above and are never combined with them. This quarter ends after the national reporting period, so it is the more recent of the two.
Covers July to September 2025, published by Queensland Health on 28 October 2025. Reported as Gold Coast University.
- Patients treated
- 63 patientsJuly to September 2025 · released 28 October 2025
- Treated within the recommended time
- 92.1%July to September 2025 · released 28 October 2025
- Still waiting at the end of the quarter
- 60 patientsJuly to September 2025 · released 28 October 2025
- Waiting longer than recommended
- 0 patientsJuly to September 2025 · released 28 October 2025
Public hospitals only — what these figures include and leave out.
All surgery at Gold Coast University Hospital · Heart bypass surgery across Australia · Heart bypass surgery in Queensland · All surgery waits in Queensland