Cataract surgery waiting time at Geraldton Hospital
Half of patients at Geraldton Hospital waited 105 days or less for cataract surgery in 2024–25 (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026). The source publishes this surgery as "Cataract extraction (with or without intra-ocular lens insertion)". This public hospital is in the Beachlands area of Western Australia.
Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.
These figures describe surgery that already happened, not your own wait.
- Median wait
- 105 days2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
- Surgeries completed
- 653 surgeries2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
- Waited more than 365 days
- 2.0%2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
Half the people who had this surgery here waited less than the median, and half waited longer. Of the 132 public hospitals that published a median wait for this surgery in 2024–25, this one sits at 63 when they are ordered from shortest median to longest. Hospitals with the same median share a rank.
The median wait here has risen from 59 days in 2011–12 to 105 days in 2024–25 — up 78% — while the national median rose from 89 days to 106 days. The nearest public hospital with a shorter published wait is Joondalup Health Campus (Public), about 347 km away, at 89 days. Here, 2.0% of people waited more than 365 days for this surgery; nationally it was 11.5%.
Compare this near you → On the compare page, pick "Cataract extraction (with or without intra-ocular lens insertion)" and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.
How this compares
| Where | Median wait | Waited more than 365 days | Surgeries |
|---|---|---|---|
| Geraldton Hospital | 105 days | 2.0% | 653 surgeries |
| Western Australia (all public hospitals) | 82 days | 5.1% | 12672 surgeries |
| Australia (all public hospitals) | 106 days | 11.5% | 87841 surgeries |
Where the wait is shorter nearby
Bars show the median wait in days. The vertical line at 106 days marks the national median.
Joondalup Health Campus (Public), WA · about 347 km away: 89 days
St John of God Midland Public Hospital, WA · about 371 km away: 23 days
Royal Perth Hospital Wellington Street Campus, WA · about 373 km away: 93 days
Perth Children's Hospital, WA · about 373 km away: 35 days
Northam Hospital, WA · about 375 km away: 27 days
Bentley Health Service, WA · about 380 km away: 71 days
Fremantle Hospital and Health Service, WA · about 380 km away: 181 days
Peel Health Campus, WA · about 431 km away: 48 days
Distances are straight-line, measured between hospital locations, and are approximate. The search covered 500 km — the radius was widened because fewer than four hospitals published a figure within 250 km.
How the wait has changed
- Geraldton Hospital
- WA
- Australia
View these numbers as a table
| Reference period | Geraldton Hospital (days) | WA (days) | Australia (days) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2011–12 | 59 | 38 | 89 |
| 2012–13 | 72 | 45 | 89 |
| 2013–14 | not reported for this period | 43 | 79 |
| 2014–15 | not reported for this period | 41 | 83 |
| 2015–16 | not reported for this period | 37 | 93 |
| 2016–17 | not reported for this period | 51 | 85 |
| 2017–18 | not reported for this period | 63 | 87 |
| 2018–19 | not reported for this period | 61 | 84 |
| 2019–20 | not reported for this period | 59 | 98 |
| 2020–21 | not published | 77 | 172 |
| 2021–22 | 171 | 108 | 158 |
| 2022–23 | 166 | 117 | 133 |
| 2023–24 | 118 | 98 | 119 |
| 2024–25 | 105 | 82 | 106 |
Public hospitals only — what these figures include and leave out.
All surgery at Geraldton Hospital · Cataract surgery across Australia · Cataract surgery in Western Australia · All surgery waits in Western Australia