Fiona Stanley Hospital surgery waiting times
In 2024–25, this public hospital in the Murdoch area of Western Australia published median waits from 1 day for dialysis access surgery to 585 days for adenoid removal.
Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.
Fiona Stanley Hospital is a public hospital in the Murdoch area of Western Australia. It is part of South Metropolitan Health Service. It reported 93 surgery types to the national planned-surgery collection for 2024–25. 36 surgery types were last reported in an earlier period; they are listed below, with the period the source last carried them.
Compare this near you → On the compare page, pick a surgery and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.
Waiting times by surgery
Shortest median wait first. A surgery the source did not publish a figure for is listed after those, and a surgery it did not report at all this period is listed last. Neither is ranked, and neither shows an older figure in place of a current one.
| Surgery | Median wait | Surgeries | Waited more than 365 days |
|---|---|---|---|
| Dialysis access surgery | 1 day | 169 surgeries | 0.0% |
| Orchidectomy | 7 days | 17 surgeries | not published |
| Laparoscopy | 10 days | 58 surgeries | 8.6% |
| Lobectomy/wedge resection/pneumonectomy | 11 days | 72 surgeries | 0.0% |
| Axillary node dissection | 20 days | 14 surgeries | not published |
| Breast lump - excision and/or biopsy | 20 days | 153 surgeries | 0.0% |
| Mastectomy | 21 days | 77 surgeries | 7.8% |
| Colectomy/anterior resection/large bowel resection | 22 days | 150 surgeries | 0.7% |
| Cystectomy | 26 days | 14 surgeries | not published |
| Prostate biopsy | 27 days | 278 surgeries | 0.0% |
| Femoro-popliteal bypass graft | 28 days | 11 surgeries | not published |
| Parotidectomy/submandibular gland - excision of | 30 days | 42 surgeries | not published |
| Coronary artery bypass grafting | 31 days | 136 surgeries | 0.7% |
| Curettage and evacuation of uterus | 31 days | 12 surgeries | not published |
| Skin lesion - excision of | 31 days | 1197 surgeries | 1.9% |
| Prostatectomy (transurethral or open) | 42 days | 167 surgeries | 0.0% |
| Nephrectomy | 43 days | 122 surgeries | 0.0% |
| Microlaryngoscopy | 48 days | 16 surgeries | not published |
| Cholecystectomy (open/laparoscopic) | 53 days | 59 surgeries | 5.1% |
| Thyroidectomy/hemi-thyroidectomy | 67 days | 146 surgeries | 6.8% |
| Pyeloplasty/correction of ureteropelvic junction | 71 days | 18 surgeries | not published |
| Heart valve replacement | 72 days | 224 surgeries | 0.9% |
| Abdominal or thoracic aortic aneurysm - repair/replacement | 73 days | 50 surgeries | 0.0% |
| Discectomy | 93 days | 30 surgeries | not published |
| Pressure equalising tubes (grommets) - insertion of | 108 days | 28 surgeries | not published |
| Hysterectomy (abdominal/vaginal/laparoscopic) | 109 days | 24 surgeries | not published |
| Myringotomy | 114 days | 37 surgeries | not published |
| Laminectomy | 119 days | 95 surgeries | 16.8% |
| Scar revision | 123 days | 24 surgeries | not published |
| Inguinal herniotomy/herniorrhaphy | 140 days | 17 surgeries | not published |
| Parathyroidectomy | 140 days | 42 surgeries | not published |
| Osteotomy | 150 days | 26 surgeries | not published |
| Tonsillectomy (with or without adenoidectomy) | 197 days | 178 surgeries | 43.8% |
| Circumcision | 200 days | 36 surgeries | not published |
| Herniorrhaphy | 201 days | 32 surgeries | not published |
| Mastoidectomy | 227 days | 13 surgeries | not published |
| Myringoplasty/tympanoplasty | 411 days | 31 surgeries | not published |
| Septoplasty | 440 days | 14 surgeries | not published |
| Functional endoscopic sinus surgery | 452 days | 13 surgeries | not published |
| Breast reconstruction | 541 days | 42 surgeries | not published |
| Adenoidectomy | 585 days | 17 surgeries | not published |
| Amputation of limb | not published | not published | not published |
| Anterior cruciate ligament reconstruction | not published | not published | not published |
| Arthroplasty - revision of | not published | not published | not published |
| Arthroscopy | not published | not published | not published |
| Bartholin's cyst - removal of | not published | not published | not published |
| Bladder neck incision | not published | not published | not published |
| Branchial apparatus remnant - removal of | not published | not published | not published |
| Breast prosthesis - removal of | not published | 7 surgeries | not published |
| Breast reduction | not published | 8 surgeries | not published |
| Carotid endarterectomy | not published | 9 surgeries | not published |
| Carpal tunnel release | not published | 9 surgeries | not published |
| Cervical discectomy and fusion | not published | 7 surgeries | not published |
| Cleft lip and palate - repair of | not published | not published | not published |
| Congenital cardiac defect/s - procedure for | not published | not published | not published |
| Dupytren's contracture release | not published | not published | not published |
| Epididymal cyst - removal of | not published | not published | not published |
| Exostosis - excision of | not published | 8 surgeries | not published |
| Female sterilisation | not published | not published | not published |
| Fundoplication | not published | 8 surgeries | not published |
| Ganglion - excision of | not published | not published | not published |
| Hydrocele - repair of | not published | not published | not published |
| Large loop excision of the transformation zone cervix (LLETZ) | not published | not published | not published |
| Laryngectomy | not published | not published | not published |
| Lithotripsy | not published | 7 surgeries | not published |
| Lymphangioma - surgery for | not published | not published | not published |
| Muscle biopsy/temporal artery biopsy | not published | not published | not published |
| Myomectomy | not published | not published | not published |
| Myringotomy (without insertion of grommets) | not published | 9 surgeries | not published |
| Nerve decompression | not published | not published | not published |
| Orchidopexy | not published | not published | not published |
| Pectus surgery | not published | not published | not published |
| Pilonidal sinus surgery | not published | not published | not published |
| Pleurodesis | not published | not published | not published |
| Ptosis - repair of | not published | not published | not published |
| Pyogenic granuloma - removal of | not published | not published | not published |
| Radical neck dissection | not published | 6 surgeries | not published |
| Rhinoplasty | not published | not published | not published |
| Salpingo-oophorectomy/oophorectomy/ovarian cystectomy | not published | 9 surgeries | not published |
| Shoulder joint replacement | not published | not published | not published |
| Stapedectomy | not published | 8 surgeries | not published |
| Sub-mucosal resection | not published | not published | not published |
| Tendon release | not published | not published | not published |
| Thyroglossal remnant - removal of | not published | not published | not published |
| Toenail surgery | not published | not published | not published |
| Total hip replacement | not published | not published | not published |
| Trigger finger/thumb release | not published | not published | not published |
| Turbinectomy | not published | 8 surgeries | not published |
| Ureteric - reimplantation | not published | not published | not published |
| Ureteric stent - insertion of | not published | 7 surgeries | not published |
| Urethra - dilatation of | not published | not published | not published |
| Vaginal repair - anterior/posterior | not published | not published | not published |
| Varicose veins treatment | not published | not published | not published |
| Not reported for this period | |||
| Anal fissure - repair of last reported 2017–18 | not reported | ||
| Arthrodesis last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Bartholin's abscess drainage last reported 2020–21 | not reported | ||
| Blepharoplasty last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Bunion (hallux valgus) - removal of last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Common peroneal nerve release last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Cone biopsy last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Cystoscopy last reported 2020–21 | not reported | ||
| Dermoid cyst - removal of last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Diathermy of wart/s last reported 2018–19 | not reported | ||
| Ectropion - correction of last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Endometrial ablation last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Ethmoidectomy last reported 2020–21 | not reported | ||
| Fracture non-union - treatment of last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Haemorrhoidectomy last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Hypospadias - repair of last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Hysteroscopy, dilatation and curettage last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Lingual or maxillary frenulum surgery last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Meatoplasty last reported 2017–18 | not reported | ||
| Meniscectomy last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Muscle or tendon length - change of last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Nasal polypectomy last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Nasendoscopy last reported 2018–19 | not reported | ||
| Nerve decompression of spinal cord last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Pharyngoplasty last reported 2017–18 | not reported | ||
| Pharynx - excision of last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Removal of intracranial lesion last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Repair of obstructing hiatus hernia last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Replacement of aortic aneurysm with bifurcation graft last reported 2021–22 | not reported | ||
| Rotator cuff - repair of last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Shoulder reconstruction last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Stone/s urinary tract - removal of last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Stress incontinence surgery last reported 2023–24 | not reported | ||
| Tenotomy of hip last reported 2018–19 | not reported | ||
| Total knee replacement last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
| Untethering of spinal cord last reported 2022–23 | not reported | ||
Urgency categories
Urgency figures cover all planned surgery at the hospital, not one procedure. They are never combined with the procedure figures. Your treating specialist assigns your urgency category — it is not something you choose. What the categories mean, and how every hospital compares.
| Urgency category | Median wait | Treated within the recommended time | Surgeries |
|---|---|---|---|
| Urgent | 16 days | 77% | 5354 surgeries |
| Semi-urgent | 78 days | 56% | 2298 surgeries |
| Non-urgent | 448 days | 38% | 643 surgeries |
Cite this page
In 2024–25, Fiona Stanley Hospital published median planned-surgery waits from 1 day for dialysis access surgery to 585 days for adenoid removal (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026).
Copy-ready citation
Surgery Waits, "Fiona Stanley Hospital wait times and waiting list", 2024–25 data released 28 May 2026, https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/fiona-stanley-hospital/, accessed 28 May 2026.
Attribution: Surgery Waits (https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/fiona-stanley-hospital/), from Australian Institute of Health and Welfare MyHospitals data, CC BY 3.0 AU. Reference period 2024–25, released 28 May 2026.
What is not here
Public hospitals only. Private hospitals do not report to this collection, so their waiting times cannot be compared here.
How these figures are put together · All surgery waits in Western Australia · All hospitals