Parathyroid gland removal waiting time at Coffs Harbour Hospital
Half of patients at Coffs Harbour Hospital waited 91 days or less for parathyroid gland removal in 2024–25 (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026). The source publishes this surgery as "Parathyroidectomy". This public hospital is in the North Boambee Valley area of New South Wales.
Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.
These figures describe surgery that already happened, not your own wait.
- Median wait
- 91 days2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
- Surgeries completed
- 10 surgeries2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
- Waited more than 365 days
- not published2024–25 · released 28 May 2026 — Reported data did not meet the criteria to calculate this indicator.
Half the people who had this surgery here waited less than the median, and half waited longer. Of the 47 public hospitals that published a median wait for this surgery in 2024–25, this one sits at 23 when they are ordered from shortest median to longest. Hospitals with the same median share a rank.
The median wait here has fallen from 444 days in 2022–23 to 91 days in 2024–25 — down 80% — while the national median fell from 84 days to 82 days. The nearest public hospital with a shorter published wait is Tweed Valley Hospital, about 242 km away, at 31 days.
Compare this near you → On the compare page, pick "Parathyroidectomy" and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.
How this compares
| Where | Median wait | Waited more than 365 days | Surgeries |
|---|---|---|---|
| Coffs Harbour Hospital | 91 days | not published | 10 surgeries |
| New South Wales (all public hospitals) | 98 days | 7.5% | 451 surgeries |
| Queensland (all public hospitals) | 70 days | 1.5% | 269 surgeries |
| Australia (all public hospitals) | 82 days | 4.0% | 1304 surgeries |
Where the wait is shorter nearby
Bars show the median wait in days. The vertical line at 82 days marks the national median.
Port Macquarie Base Hospital, NSW · about 128 km away: 261 days
Tweed Valley Hospital, NSW · about 242 km away: 31 days
Gold Coast University Hospital, QLD · about 264 km away: 70 days
Logan Hospital, QLD · about 294 km away: 89 days
Princess Alexandra Hospital, QLD · about 313 km away: 126 days
Mater Adult Hospital, QLD · about 315 km away: 55 days
John Hunter Hospital, NSW · about 319 km away: 151 days
Surgical Treatment and Rehabilitation Service, QLD · about 319 km away: 40 days
Distances are straight-line, measured between hospital locations, and are approximate. The search covered 500 km — the radius was widened because fewer than four hospitals published a figure within 250 km.
Some of these hospitals are in another state — a public hospital referral can cross the border, so ask your GP what that would mean for you. See also where crossing a border cuts the wait most.
How the wait has changed
- Coffs Harbour Hospital
- NSW
- Australia
View these numbers as a table
| Reference period | Coffs Harbour Hospital (days) | NSW (days) | Australia (days) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2016–17 | not reported for this period | not reported for this period | 56 |
| 2017–18 | not reported for this period | not reported for this period | 63 |
| 2018–19 | not reported for this period | not reported for this period | 57 |
| 2019–20 | not reported for this period | not reported for this period | 63 |
| 2020–21 | not reported for this period | not reported for this period | 69 |
| 2021–22 | not published | 70 | 73 |
| 2022–23 | 444 | 83 | 84 |
| 2023–24 | not published | 84 | 87 |
| 2024–25 | 91 | 98 | 82 |
Public hospitals only — what these figures include and leave out.
All surgery at Coffs Harbour Hospital · Parathyroid gland removal across Australia · Parathyroid gland removal in New South Wales · All surgery waits in New South Wales