Carotid artery plaque removal waiting time at Coffs Harbour Hospital
Half of patients at Coffs Harbour Hospital waited 22 days or less for carotid artery plaque removal in 2024–25 (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026). The source publishes this surgery as "Carotid endarterectomy". This public hospital is in the North Boambee Valley area of New South Wales.
Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.
These figures describe surgery that already happened, not your own wait.
- Median wait
- 22 days2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
- Surgeries completed
- 15 surgeries2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
- Waited more than 365 days
- not published2024–25 · released 28 May 2026 — Reported data did not meet the criteria to calculate this indicator.
Half the people who had this surgery here waited less than the median, and half waited longer. Of the 27 public hospitals that published a median wait for this surgery in 2024–25, this one sits at 14 when they are ordered from shortest median to longest. Hospitals with the same median share a rank.
The median wait here has fallen from 124 days in 2018–19 to 22 days in 2024–25 — down 82% — while the national median rose from 19 days to 20 days. The nearest public hospital with a shorter published wait is Port Macquarie Base Hospital, about 128 km away, at 20 days.
Compare this near you → On the compare page, pick "Carotid endarterectomy" and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.
How this compares
| Where | Median wait | Waited more than 365 days | Surgeries |
|---|---|---|---|
| Coffs Harbour Hospital | 22 days | not published | 15 surgeries |
| New South Wales (all public hospitals) | 23 days | 0.3% | 355 surgeries |
| Queensland (all public hospitals) | 13 days | 0.0% | 144 surgeries |
| Australia (all public hospitals) | 20 days | 0.6% | 702 surgeries |
Where the wait is shorter nearby
Bars show the median wait in days. The vertical line at 20 days marks the national median.
Port Macquarie Base Hospital, NSW · about 128 km away: 20 days
Lismore Base Hospital, NSW · about 169 km away: 22 days
Gold Coast University Hospital, QLD · about 264 km away: 29 days
Princess Alexandra Hospital, QLD · about 313 km away: 12 days
John Hunter Hospital, NSW · about 319 km away: 31 days
Royal Brisbane & Women's Hospital, QLD · about 319 km away: 26 days
Gosford Hospital, NSW · about 383 km away: 22 days
Sunshine Coast University Hospital, QLD · about 397 km away: 12 days
Distances are straight-line, measured between hospital locations, and are approximate. The search covered 500 km — the radius was widened because fewer than four hospitals published a figure within 250 km.
Some of these hospitals are in another state — a public hospital referral can cross the border, so ask your GP what that would mean for you. See also where crossing a border cuts the wait most.
How the wait has changed
- Coffs Harbour Hospital
- NSW
- Australia
View these numbers as a table
| Reference period | Coffs Harbour Hospital (days) | NSW (days) | Australia (days) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2016–17 | not reported for this period | not reported for this period | 11 |
| 2017–18 | not reported for this period | not reported for this period | 13 |
| 2018–19 | 124 | 20 | 19 |
| 2019–20 | 52 | 21 | 17 |
| 2020–21 | 118 | 23 | 20 |
| 2021–22 | 72 | 21 | 16 |
| 2022–23 | 52 | 23 | 18 |
| 2023–24 | 33 | 21 | 18 |
| 2024–25 | 22 | 23 | 20 |
Public hospitals only — what these figures include and leave out.
All surgery at Coffs Harbour Hospital · Carotid artery plaque removal across Australia · Carotid artery plaque removal in New South Wales · All surgery waits in New South Wales