Cataract surgery waiting time at Belmont Hospital
Half of patients at Belmont Hospital waited 111 days or less for cataract surgery in 2024–25 (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026). The source publishes this surgery as "Cataract extraction (with or without intra-ocular lens insertion)". This public hospital is in the Valentine area of New South Wales.
Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.
These figures describe surgery that already happened, not your own wait.
- Median wait
- 111 days2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
- Surgeries completed
- 213 surgeries2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
- Waited more than 365 days
- 10.8%2024–25 · released 28 May 2026
Half the people who had this surgery here waited less than the median, and half waited longer. Of the 132 public hospitals that published a median wait for this surgery in 2024–25, this one sits at 66 when they are ordered from shortest median to longest. Hospitals with the same median share a rank.
The nearest public hospital with a shorter published wait is Wyong Hospital, about 31 km away, at 93 days. Here, 10.8% of people waited more than 365 days for this surgery; nationally it was 11.5%.
Compare this near you → On the compare page, pick "Cataract extraction (with or without intra-ocular lens insertion)" and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.
How this compares
| Where | Median wait | Waited more than 365 days | Surgeries |
|---|---|---|---|
| Belmont Hospital | 111 days | 10.8% | 213 surgeries |
| New South Wales (all public hospitals) | 268 days | 22.0% | 32695 surgeries |
| Australia (all public hospitals) | 106 days | 11.5% | 87841 surgeries |
Where the wait is shorter nearby
Bars show the median wait in days. The vertical line at 106 days marks the national median.
Kurri Kurri Hospital, NSW · about 28 km away: 327 days
Wyong Hospital, NSW · about 31 km away: 93 days
Gosford Hospital, NSW · about 52 km away: 183 days
Royal North Shore Hospital, NSW · about 98 km away: 354 days
Hawkesbury Hospital, NSW · about 101 km away: 77 days
Sydney Hospital / Sydney Eye Hospital, NSW · about 102 km away: 353 days
Concord Repatriation Hospital, NSW · about 104 km away: 36 days
Royal Prince Alfred Hospital, NSW · about 105 km away: 44 days
Distances are straight-line, measured between hospital locations, and are approximate. The search covered 250 km.
How the wait has changed
- Belmont Hospital
- NSW
- Australia
View these numbers as a table
| Reference period | Belmont Hospital (days) | NSW (days) | Australia (days) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2011–12 | not published | 233 | 89 |
| 2012–13 | not published | 238 | 89 |
| 2013–14 | not reported for this period | 218 | 79 |
| 2014–15 | not reported for this period | 221 | 83 |
| 2015–16 | not published | 240 | 93 |
| 2016–17 | not reported for this period | 224 | 85 |
| 2017–18 | not reported for this period | 223 | 87 |
| 2018–19 | not reported for this period | 245 | 84 |
| 2019–20 | not reported for this period | 286 | 98 |
| 2020–21 | not reported for this period | 290 | 172 |
| 2021–22 | not reported for this period | 278 | 158 |
| 2022–23 | not published | 282 | 133 |
| 2023–24 | not reported for this period | 262 | 119 |
| 2024–25 | 111 | 268 | 106 |
Public hospitals only — what these figures include and leave out.
All surgery at Belmont Hospital · Cataract surgery across Australia · Cataract surgery in New South Wales · All surgery waits in New South Wales