---
title: "Tumut Hospital surgery waiting times"
description: "Planned surgery waiting times and waiting list at Tumut Hospital, a public hospital in the Tumut area of New South Wales, for 2024–25."
url: "https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/tumut-hospital/"
---

# Tumut Hospital surgery waiting times

In 2024–25, this public hospital in the Tumut area of New South Wales published median waits from **55 days** for skin lesion removal to **73 days** for inguinal hernia repair.

Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.

Tumut Hospital is a public hospital in the Tumut area of New South Wales. It is part of [Murrumbidgee](https://surgerywaits.au/health-service/murrumbidgee/). It reported 4 surgery types to the national planned-surgery collection for 2024–25. 12 surgery types were last reported in an earlier period; they are listed below, with the period the source last carried them.

**[Compare this near you →](https://surgerywaits.au/)** On the compare page, pick a surgery and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.

## Waiting times by surgery

Shortest median wait first. A surgery the source did not publish a figure for is listed after those, and a surgery it did not report at all this period is listed last. Neither is ranked, and neither shows an older figure in place of a current one.

Planned surgery at Tumut Hospital, 2024–25. Every figure was released on 2026-05-28.

| Surgery | Median wait | Surgeries | Waited more than 365 days |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [Skin lesion - excision of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/tumut-hospital/skin-lesion-removal/) | 55 days | 34 surgeries | not published |
| [Inguinal herniotomy/herniorrhaphy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/tumut-hospital/inguinal-hernia-repair/) | 73 days | 12 surgeries | not published |
| [Haemorrhoidectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/tumut-hospital/haemorrhoid-surgery/) | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| [Herniorrhaphy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/tumut-hospital/hernia-repair/) | not published | not published | not published |

**Not reported for this period**

| Surgery | Median wait | Surgeries | Waited more than 365 days |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Anal fissure - repair of last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Carpal tunnel release last reported 2020–21 | not reported |  |  |
| Cone biopsy last reported 2017–18 | not reported |  |  |
| Cystoscopy last reported 2015–16 | not reported |  |  |
| Hysterectomy (abdominal/vaginal/laparoscopic) last reported 2019–20 | not reported |  |  |
| Hysteroscopy, dilatation and curettage last reported 2019–20 | not reported |  |  |
| Large loop excision of the transformation zone cervix (LLETZ) last reported 2019–20 | not reported |  |  |
| Pilonidal sinus surgery last reported 2020–21 | not reported |  |  |
| Scar revision last reported 2020–21 | not reported |  |  |
| Toenail surgery last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Vaginal repair - anterior/posterior last reported 2019–20 | not reported |  |  |
| Varicose veins treatment last reported 2014–15 | not reported |  |  |

## Urgency categories

Urgency figures cover all planned surgery at the hospital, not one procedure. They are never combined with the procedure figures. Your treating specialist assigns your urgency category — it is not something you choose. [What the categories mean, and how every hospital compares.](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/)

All planned surgery at Tumut Hospital by urgency category, 2024–25.

| Urgency category | Median wait | Treated within the recommended time | Surgeries |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [Urgent](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/category-1/nsw/) | not published | not published | 8 surgeries |
| [Semi-urgent](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/category-2/nsw/) | 57 days | 98% | 40 surgeries |
| [Non-urgent](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/category-3/nsw/) | not published | not published | 7 surgeries |

**Cite this page**

> In 2024–25, Tumut Hospital published median planned-surgery waits from 55 days for skin lesion removal to 73 days for inguinal hernia repair (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026).

### Copy-ready citation

```
Surgery Waits, "Tumut Hospital surgery wait times and waiting list", 2024–25 data released 28 May 2026, https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/tumut-hospital/, accessed 28 May 2026.
```

Attribution: Surgery Waits ([https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/tumut-hospital/](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/tumut-hospital/)), from Australian Institute of Health and Welfare MyHospitals data, CC BY 3.0 AU. Reference period 2024–25, released 28 May 2026.

## What is not here

Public hospitals only. Private hospitals do not report to this collection, so their waiting times cannot be compared here.

[How these figures are put together](https://surgerywaits.au/methodology/) · [All surgery waits in New South Wales](https://surgerywaits.au/state/nsw/) · [All hospitals](https://surgerywaits.au/hospitals/)

## Before you use these figures

Surgery Waits is not medical advice. It republishes official statistics about waiting times that have already happened, and it does not recommend any hospital, doctor or treatment. Your general practitioner (GP) and your treating specialist are the right people to help you decide what is appropriate for you.

**In an emergency call 000.**

Waiting-time figures: Australian Institute of Health and Welfare MyHospitals, licensed under [CC BY 3.0 AU](https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/au/). Quarterly state figures: Queensland Health. Suburb and locality data: Australian Bureau of Statistics. Both licensed under [CC BY 4.0](https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/). Surgery Waits is not connected with any of these organisations.

Surgery Waits is published by [National Digital](https://nationaldigital.com.au/).

* * *

This is the Markdown copy of https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/tumut-hospital/.
