---
title: "The Canberra Hospital surgery waiting times"
description: "Planned surgery waiting times and waiting list at The Canberra Hospital, a public hospital in the Garran area of Australian Capital Territory, for 2024–25."
url: "https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/the-canberra-hospital/"
---

# The Canberra Hospital surgery waiting times

In 2024–25, this public hospital in the Garran area of Australian Capital Territory published median waits from **26 days** for salivary gland removal to **481 days** for deviated septum surgery.

Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.

The Canberra Hospital is a public hospital in the Garran area of Australian Capital Territory. It is part of [Australian Capital Territory](https://surgerywaits.au/health-service/australian-capital-territory/). It reported 44 surgery types to the national planned-surgery collection for 2024–25. 102 surgery types were last reported in an earlier period; they are listed below, with the period the source last carried them.

**[Compare this near you →](https://surgerywaits.au/)** On the compare page, pick a surgery and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.

## Waiting times by surgery

Shortest median wait first. A surgery the source did not publish a figure for is listed after those, and a surgery it did not report at all this period is listed last. Neither is ranked, and neither shows an older figure in place of a current one.

Planned surgery at The Canberra Hospital, 2024–25. Every figure was released on 2026-05-28.

| Surgery | Median wait | Surgeries | Waited more than 365 days |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [Parotidectomy/submandibular gland - excision of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/the-canberra-hospital/parotidectomy-submandibular-gland-excision-of/) | 26 days | 16 surgeries | not published |
| [Heart valve replacement](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/the-canberra-hospital/heart-valve-replacement/) | 30 days | 18 surgeries | not published |
| [Lobectomy/wedge resection/pneumonectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/the-canberra-hospital/lobectomy-wedge-resection-pneumonectomy/) | 30 days | 11 surgeries | not published |
| [Vitrectomy (including buckling/cryotherapy)](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/the-canberra-hospital/vitrectomy-including-buckling-cryotherapy/) | 41 days | 55 surgeries | 5.5% |
| [Toenail surgery](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/the-canberra-hospital/toenail-surgery/) | 84 days | 10 surgeries | not published |
| [Inguinal herniotomy/herniorrhaphy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/the-canberra-hospital/inguinal-hernia-repair/) | 90 days | 122 surgeries | 2.5% |
| [Parathyroidectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/the-canberra-hospital/parathyroidectomy/) | 97 days | 11 surgeries | not published |
| [Salpingo-oophorectomy/oophorectomy/ovarian cystectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/the-canberra-hospital/salpingo-oophorectomy-oophorectomy-ovarian-cystectomy/) | 97 days | 16 surgeries | not published |
| [Thyroidectomy/hemi-thyroidectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/the-canberra-hospital/thyroidectomy-hemi-thyroidectomy/) | 97 days | 37 surgeries | not published |
| [Arthroplasty - revision of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/the-canberra-hospital/arthroplasty-revision-of/) | 106 days | 13 surgeries | not published |
| [Herniorrhaphy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/the-canberra-hospital/hernia-repair/) | 127 days | 119 surgeries | 5.0% |
| [Repair of obstructing hiatus hernia](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/the-canberra-hospital/repair-of-obstructing-hiatus-hernia/) | 148 days | 10 surgeries | not published |
| [Hysterectomy (abdominal/vaginal/laparoscopic)](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/the-canberra-hospital/hysterectomy/) | 168 days | 36 surgeries | not published |
| [Total hip replacement](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/the-canberra-hospital/hip-replacement/) | 182 days | 127 surgeries | 18.9% |
| [Shoulder joint replacement](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/the-canberra-hospital/shoulder-joint-replacement/) | 238 days | 10 surgeries | not published |
| [Total knee replacement](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/the-canberra-hospital/knee-replacement/) | 253 days | 140 surgeries | 39.3% |
| [Tonsillectomy (with or without adenoidectomy)](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/the-canberra-hospital/tonsillectomy/) | 392 days | 191 surgeries | 50.8% |
| [Septoplasty](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/the-canberra-hospital/septoplasty/) | 481 days | 44 surgeries | not published |
| [Abdominal or thoracic aortic aneurysm - repair/replacement](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/the-canberra-hospital/abdominal-or-thoracic-aortic-aneurysm-repair-replacement/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Anal fissure - repair of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/the-canberra-hospital/anal-fissure-repair-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Anterior cruciate ligament reconstruction](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/the-canberra-hospital/acl-reconstruction/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Bartholin's cyst - removal of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/the-canberra-hospital/bartholins-cyst-removal-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Cleft lip and palate - repair of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/the-canberra-hospital/cleft-lip-and-palate-repair-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Colectomy/anterior resection/large bowel resection](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/the-canberra-hospital/colectomy-anterior-resection-large-bowel-resection/) | not published | 7 surgeries | not published |
| [Common peroneal nerve release](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/the-canberra-hospital/common-peroneal-nerve-release/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Craniotomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/the-canberra-hospital/craniotomy/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Dialysis access surgery](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/the-canberra-hospital/dialysis-access-surgery/) | not published | 9 surgeries | not published |
| [Dupytren's contracture release](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/the-canberra-hospital/dupuytrens-contracture-surgery/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Ectropion - correction of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/the-canberra-hospital/ectropion-correction-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Female sterilisation](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/the-canberra-hospital/female-sterilisation/) | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| [Haemorrhoidectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/the-canberra-hospital/haemorrhoid-surgery/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Insertion of ventricular peritoneal shunt](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/the-canberra-hospital/insertion-of-ventricular-peritoneal-shunt/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Laryngectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/the-canberra-hospital/laryngectomy/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Mastectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/the-canberra-hospital/mastectomy/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Removal of intracranial lesion](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/the-canberra-hospital/removal-of-intracranial-lesion/) | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| [Rhinoplasty](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/the-canberra-hospital/rhinoplasty/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Rotator cuff - repair of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/the-canberra-hospital/rotator-cuff-repair/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Scar revision](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/the-canberra-hospital/scar-revision/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Stapedectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/the-canberra-hospital/stapedectomy/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Stress incontinence surgery](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/the-canberra-hospital/stress-incontinence-surgery/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Sub-mucosal resection](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/the-canberra-hospital/sub-mucosal-resection/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Tendon release](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/the-canberra-hospital/tendon-release/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Turbinectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/the-canberra-hospital/turbinectomy/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Vaginal repair - anterior/posterior](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/the-canberra-hospital/prolapse-repair/) | not published | 8 surgeries | not published |

**Not reported for this period**

| Surgery | Median wait | Surgeries | Waited more than 365 days |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Acromioplasty/arthroscopy shoulder/sub acromial decompression last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Adenoidectomy last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Amputation of limb last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Arthrodesis last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Arthroscopy last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Axillary node dissection last reported 2018–19 | not reported |  |  |
| Bartholin's abscess drainage last reported 2019–20 | not reported |  |  |
| Bladder neck incision last reported 2016–17 | not reported |  |  |
| Blepharoplasty last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Branchial apparatus remnant - removal of last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Breast lump - excision and/or biopsy last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Breast prosthesis - removal of last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Breast reconstruction last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Breast reduction last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Bunion (hallux valgus) - removal of last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Carotid endarterectomy last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Carpal tunnel release last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Cataract extraction (with or without intra-ocular lens insertion) last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Cerebral haematoma - evacuation of last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Cervical discectomy and fusion last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Chalazion - excision of last reported 2018–19 | not reported |  |  |
| Chiari malformation decompression last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Cholecystectomy (open/laparoscopic) last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Circumcision last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Cone biopsy last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Congenital cardiac defect/s - procedure for last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Congenital pulmonary lesion - removal of last reported 2016–17 | not reported |  |  |
| Coronary artery bypass grafting last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Cranioplasty last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Curettage and evacuation of uterus last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Cystectomy last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Cystoscopy last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Dermoid cyst - removal of last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Diathermy of wart/s last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Discectomy last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Endometrial ablation last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Epididymal cyst - removal of last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Ethmoidectomy last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Examination of eye under anaesthesia last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Exostosis - excision of last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Femoro-popliteal bypass graft last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Fracture non-union - treatment of last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Functional endoscopic sinus surgery last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Fundoplication last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Ganglion - excision of last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Hammer/claw/mallet toe - correction of last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Hydrocele - repair of last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Hypospadias - repair of last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Hysteroscopy, dilatation and curettage last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Laminectomy last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Laparoscopy last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Large loop excision of the transformation zone cervix (LLETZ) last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Lingual or maxillary frenulum surgery last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Lithotripsy last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Lymphangioma - surgery for last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Mastoidectomy last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Meatoplasty last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Meniscectomy last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Microlaryngoscopy last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Muscle biopsy/temporal artery biopsy last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Muscle or tendon length - change of last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Myomectomy last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Myringoplasty/tympanoplasty last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Myringotomy last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Myringotomy (without insertion of grommets) last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Nasal polypectomy last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Nasendoscopy last reported 2020–21 | not reported |  |  |
| Neonatal surgery last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Nephrectomy last reported 2017–18 | not reported |  |  |
| Nerve decompression last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Nerve decompression of spinal cord last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Orchidectomy last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Orchidopexy last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Osteotomy last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Pectus surgery last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Pedicle screw fusion last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Pharyngoplasty last reported 2016–17 | not reported |  |  |
| Pharynx - excision of last reported 2017–18 | not reported |  |  |
| Pilonidal sinus surgery last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Pleurodesis last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Posterior fossa decompression last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Pressure equalising tubes (grommets) - insertion of last reported 2020–21 | not reported |  |  |
| Prostate biopsy last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Prostatectomy (transurethral or open) last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Pterygium - excision of last reported 2018–19 | not reported |  |  |
| Ptosis - repair of last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Pyeloplasty/correction of ureteropelvic junction last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Pyogenic granuloma - removal of last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Radical neck dissection last reported 2018–19 | not reported |  |  |
| Replacement of aortic aneurysm with bifurcation graft last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Shoulder reconstruction last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Skin lesion - excision of last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Stone/s urinary tract - removal of last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Tenotomy of hip last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Thyroglossal remnant - removal of last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Trabeculectomy last reported 2018–19 | not reported |  |  |
| Trigger finger/thumb release last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Untethering of spinal cord last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Ureteric - reimplantation last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Ureteric stent - insertion of last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Urethra - dilatation of last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Varicose veins treatment last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |

## Urgency categories

Urgency figures cover all planned surgery at the hospital, not one procedure. They are never combined with the procedure figures. Your treating specialist assigns your urgency category — it is not something you choose. [What the categories mean, and how every hospital compares.](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/)

All planned surgery at The Canberra Hospital by urgency category, 2024–25.

| Urgency category | Median wait | Treated within the recommended time | Surgeries |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [Urgent](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/category-1/act/) | 19 days | 82% | 4115 surgeries |
| [Semi-urgent](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/category-2/act/) | 114 days | 39% | 2973 surgeries |
| [Non-urgent](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/category-3/act/) | 286 days | 65% | 2230 surgeries |

**Cite this page**

> In 2024–25, The Canberra Hospital published median planned-surgery waits from 26 days for salivary gland removal to 481 days for deviated septum surgery (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026).

### Copy-ready citation

```
Surgery Waits, "The Canberra Hospital wait times and waiting list", 2024–25 data released 28 May 2026, https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/the-canberra-hospital/, accessed 28 May 2026.
```

Attribution: Surgery Waits ([https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/the-canberra-hospital/](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/the-canberra-hospital/)), from Australian Institute of Health and Welfare MyHospitals data, CC BY 3.0 AU. Reference period 2024–25, released 28 May 2026.

## What is not here

Public hospitals only. Private hospitals do not report to this collection, so their waiting times cannot be compared here.

[How these figures are put together](https://surgerywaits.au/methodology/) · [All surgery waits in Australian Capital Territory](https://surgerywaits.au/state/act/) · [All hospitals](https://surgerywaits.au/hospitals/)

## Before you use these figures

Surgery Waits is not medical advice. It republishes official statistics about waiting times that have already happened, and it does not recommend any hospital, doctor or treatment. Your general practitioner (GP) and your treating specialist are the right people to help you decide what is appropriate for you.

**In an emergency call 000.**

Waiting-time figures: Australian Institute of Health and Welfare MyHospitals, licensed under [CC BY 3.0 AU](https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/au/). Quarterly state figures: Queensland Health. Suburb and locality data: Australian Bureau of Statistics. Both licensed under [CC BY 4.0](https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/). Surgery Waits is not connected with any of these organisations.

Surgery Waits is published by [National Digital](https://nationaldigital.com.au/).

* * *

This is the Markdown copy of https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/the-canberra-hospital/.
