---
title: "Sydney Hospital / Sydney Eye Hospital surgery waiting times"
description: "Planned surgery waiting times and waiting list at Sydney Hospital / Sydney Eye Hospital, a public hospital in the Sydney area of New South Wales, for 2024–25."
url: "https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sydney-hospital-sydney-eye-hospital/"
---

# Sydney Hospital / Sydney Eye Hospital surgery waiting times

In 2024–25, this public hospital in the Sydney area of New South Wales published median waits from **6 days** for unhealed fracture repair to **387 days** for squint surgery.

Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.

Sydney Hospital / Sydney Eye Hospital is a public hospital in the Sydney area of New South Wales. It is part of [South Eastern Sydney](https://surgerywaits.au/health-service/south-eastern-sydney/). It reported 20 surgery types to the national planned-surgery collection for 2024–25. 18 surgery types were last reported in an earlier period; they are listed below, with the period the source last carried them.

**[Compare this near you →](https://surgerywaits.au/)** On the compare page, pick a surgery and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.

## Waiting times by surgery

Shortest median wait first. A surgery the source did not publish a figure for is listed after those, and a surgery it did not report at all this period is listed last. Neither is ranked, and neither shows an older figure in place of a current one.

Planned surgery at Sydney Hospital / Sydney Eye Hospital, 2024–25. Every figure was released on 2026-05-28.

| Surgery | Median wait | Surgeries | Waited more than 365 days |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [Fracture non-union - treatment of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sydney-hospital-sydney-eye-hospital/fracture-non-union-treatment-of/) | 6 days | 60 surgeries | 0.0% |
| [Trabeculectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sydney-hospital-sydney-eye-hospital/trabeculectomy/) | 75 days | 45 surgeries | not published |
| [Vitrectomy (including buckling/cryotherapy)](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sydney-hospital-sydney-eye-hospital/vitrectomy-including-buckling-cryotherapy/) | 80 days | 538 surgeries | 0.6% |
| [Carpal tunnel release](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sydney-hospital-sydney-eye-hospital/carpal-tunnel-surgery/) | 103 days | 202 surgeries | 14.4% |
| [Dacryocystorhinostomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sydney-hospital-sydney-eye-hospital/dacryocystorhinostomy/) | 323 days | 49 surgeries | not published |
| [Trigger finger/thumb release](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sydney-hospital-sydney-eye-hospital/trigger-finger-release/) | 347 days | 39 surgeries | not published |
| [Cataract extraction (with or without intra-ocular lens insertion)](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sydney-hospital-sydney-eye-hospital/cataract-surgery/) | 353 days | 4574 surgeries | 41.1% |
| [Ectropion - correction of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sydney-hospital-sydney-eye-hospital/ectropion-correction-of/) | 363 days | 17 surgeries | not published |
| [Pterygium - excision of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sydney-hospital-sydney-eye-hospital/pterygium-excision-of/) | 365 days | 83 surgeries | 49.4% |
| [Ptosis - repair of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sydney-hospital-sydney-eye-hospital/ptosis-repair-of/) | 369 days | 44 surgeries | not published |
| [Ganglion - excision of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sydney-hospital-sydney-eye-hospital/ganglion-excision-of/) | 371 days | 27 surgeries | not published |
| [Dupytren's contracture release](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sydney-hospital-sydney-eye-hospital/dupuytrens-contracture-surgery/) | 375 days | 64 surgeries | 59.4% |
| [Blepharoplasty](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sydney-hospital-sydney-eye-hospital/blepharoplasty/) | 378 days | 34 surgeries | not published |
| [Procedure for strabismus (squint repair)](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sydney-hospital-sydney-eye-hospital/squint-surgery/) | 387 days | 25 surgeries | not published |
| [Arthrodesis](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sydney-hospital-sydney-eye-hospital/arthrodesis/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Arthroscopy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sydney-hospital-sydney-eye-hospital/arthroscopy/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Examination of eye under anaesthesia](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sydney-hospital-sydney-eye-hospital/examination-of-eye-under-anaesthesia/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Nerve decompression](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sydney-hospital-sydney-eye-hospital/nerve-decompression/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Osteotomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sydney-hospital-sydney-eye-hospital/osteotomy/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Skin lesion - excision of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sydney-hospital-sydney-eye-hospital/skin-lesion-removal/) | not published | 8 surgeries | not published |

**Not reported for this period**

| Surgery | Median wait | Surgeries | Waited more than 365 days |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Adenoidectomy last reported 2019–20 | not reported |  |  |
| Amputation of limb last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Arthroplasty - revision of last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Exostosis - excision of last reported 2017–18 | not reported |  |  |
| Functional endoscopic sinus surgery last reported 2020–21 | not reported |  |  |
| Microlaryngoscopy last reported 2019–20 | not reported |  |  |
| Myringoplasty/tympanoplasty last reported 2020–21 | not reported |  |  |
| Myringotomy last reported 2020–21 | not reported |  |  |
| Nasal polypectomy last reported 2017–18 | not reported |  |  |
| Nasendoscopy last reported 2017–18 | not reported |  |  |
| Pressure equalising tubes (grommets) - insertion of last reported 2020–21 | not reported |  |  |
| Scar revision last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Septoplasty last reported 2020–21 | not reported |  |  |
| Shoulder joint replacement last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Sub-mucosal resection last reported 2020–21 | not reported |  |  |
| Tendon release last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Tonsillectomy (with or without adenoidectomy) last reported 2020–21 | not reported |  |  |
| Turbinectomy last reported 2016–17 | not reported |  |  |

## Urgency categories

Urgency figures cover all planned surgery at the hospital, not one procedure. They are never combined with the procedure figures. Your treating specialist assigns your urgency category — it is not something you choose. [What the categories mean, and how every hospital compares.](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/)

All planned surgery at Sydney Hospital / Sydney Eye Hospital by urgency category, 2024–25.

| Urgency category | Median wait | Treated within the recommended time | Surgeries |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [Urgent](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/category-1/nsw/) | 13 days | 100% | 580 surgeries |
| [Semi-urgent](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/category-2/nsw/) | 94 days | 46% | 3176 surgeries |
| [Non-urgent](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/category-3/nsw/) | 378 days | 35% | 3638 surgeries |

**Cite this page**

> In 2024–25, Sydney Hospital / Sydney Eye Hospital published median planned-surgery waits from 6 days for unhealed fracture repair to 387 days for squint surgery (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026).

### Copy-ready citation

```
Surgery Waits, "Sydney Hospital / Sydney Eye Hospital waiting list", 2024–25 data released 28 May 2026, https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sydney-hospital-sydney-eye-hospital/, accessed 28 May 2026.
```

Attribution: Surgery Waits ([https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sydney-hospital-sydney-eye-hospital/](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sydney-hospital-sydney-eye-hospital/)), from Australian Institute of Health and Welfare MyHospitals data, CC BY 3.0 AU. Reference period 2024–25, released 28 May 2026.

## What is not here

Public hospitals only. Private hospitals do not report to this collection, so their waiting times cannot be compared here.

[How these figures are put together](https://surgerywaits.au/methodology/) · [All surgery waits in New South Wales](https://surgerywaits.au/state/nsw/) · [All hospitals](https://surgerywaits.au/hospitals/)

## Before you use these figures

Surgery Waits is not medical advice. It republishes official statistics about waiting times that have already happened, and it does not recommend any hospital, doctor or treatment. Your general practitioner (GP) and your treating specialist are the right people to help you decide what is appropriate for you.

**In an emergency call 000.**

Waiting-time figures: Australian Institute of Health and Welfare MyHospitals, licensed under [CC BY 3.0 AU](https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/au/). Quarterly state figures: Queensland Health. Suburb and locality data: Australian Bureau of Statistics. Both licensed under [CC BY 4.0](https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/). Surgery Waits is not connected with any of these organisations.

Surgery Waits is published by [National Digital](https://nationaldigital.com.au/).

* * *

This is the Markdown copy of https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sydney-hospital-sydney-eye-hospital/.
