---
title: "Sydney Children's Hospital surgery waiting times"
description: "Planned surgery waiting times and waiting list at Sydney Children's Hospital, a public hospital in the Randwick area of New South Wales, for 2024–25."
url: "https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sydney-childrens-hospital/"
---

# Sydney Children's Hospital surgery waiting times

In 2024–25, this public hospital in the Randwick area of New South Wales published median waits from **2 days** for brain surgery through the skull (craniotomy) to **301 days** for adenoid removal.

Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.

Sydney Children's Hospital is a public hospital in the Randwick area of New South Wales. It is part of [Sydney Children's Hospitals Network](https://surgerywaits.au/health-service/sydney-childrens-hospitals-network/). It reported 54 surgery types to the national planned-surgery collection for 2024–25. 38 surgery types were last reported in an earlier period; they are listed below, with the period the source last carried them.

**[Compare this near you →](https://surgerywaits.au/)** On the compare page, pick a surgery and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.

## Waiting times by surgery

Shortest median wait first. A surgery the source did not publish a figure for is listed after those, and a surgery it did not report at all this period is listed last. Neither is ranked, and neither shows an older figure in place of a current one.

Planned surgery at Sydney Children's Hospital, 2024–25. Every figure was released on 2026-05-28.

| Surgery | Median wait | Surgeries | Waited more than 365 days |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [Craniotomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sydney-childrens-hospital/craniotomy/) | 2 days | 12 surgeries | not published |
| [Fracture non-union - treatment of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sydney-childrens-hospital/fracture-non-union-treatment-of/) | 2 days | 44 surgeries | not published |
| [Dialysis access surgery](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sydney-childrens-hospital/dialysis-access-surgery/) | 5 days | 170 surgeries | 0.0% |
| [Inguinal herniotomy/herniorrhaphy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sydney-childrens-hospital/inguinal-hernia-repair/) | 7 days | 95 surgeries | 1.1% |
| [Microlaryngoscopy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sydney-childrens-hospital/microlaryngoscopy/) | 11 days | 41 surgeries | not published |
| [Nasendoscopy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sydney-childrens-hospital/nasendoscopy/) | 13 days | 13 surgeries | not published |
| [Pyeloplasty/correction of ureteropelvic junction](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sydney-childrens-hospital/pyeloplasty-correction-of-ureteropelvic-junction/) | 21 days | 13 surgeries | not published |
| [Examination of eye under anaesthesia](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sydney-childrens-hospital/examination-of-eye-under-anaesthesia/) | 25 days | 18 surgeries | not published |
| [Laparoscopy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sydney-childrens-hospital/laparoscopy/) | 26 days | 12 surgeries | not published |
| [Cystoscopy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sydney-childrens-hospital/cystoscopy/) | 28 days | 146 surgeries | 1.4% |
| [Skin lesion - excision of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sydney-childrens-hospital/skin-lesion-removal/) | 38 days | 39 surgeries | not published |
| [Cholecystectomy (open/laparoscopic)](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sydney-childrens-hospital/gallbladder-removal/) | 43 days | 10 surgeries | not published |
| [Lingual or maxillary frenulum surgery](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sydney-childrens-hospital/lingual-or-maxillary-frenulum-surgery/) | 61 days | 13 surgeries | not published |
| [Circumcision](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sydney-childrens-hospital/circumcision/) | 70 days | 45 surgeries | not published |
| [Orchidopexy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sydney-childrens-hospital/orchidopexy/) | 79 days | 78 surgeries | 1.3% |
| [Cleft lip and palate - repair of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sydney-childrens-hospital/cleft-lip-and-palate-repair-of/) | 80 days | 66 surgeries | 0.0% |
| [Trigger finger/thumb release](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sydney-childrens-hospital/trigger-finger-release/) | 87 days | 20 surgeries | not published |
| [Hydrocele - repair of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sydney-childrens-hospital/hydrocele-repair-of/) | 120 days | 13 surgeries | not published |
| [Herniorrhaphy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sydney-childrens-hospital/hernia-repair/) | 133 days | 12 surgeries | not published |
| [Myringotomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sydney-childrens-hospital/myringotomy/) | 137 days | 89 surgeries | 14.6% |
| [Pressure equalising tubes (grommets) - insertion of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sydney-childrens-hospital/grommets/) | 137 days | 89 surgeries | 14.6% |
| [Dermoid cyst - removal of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sydney-childrens-hospital/dermoid-cyst-removal-of/) | 152 days | 12 surgeries | not published |
| [Osteotomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sydney-childrens-hospital/osteotomy/) | 155 days | 28 surgeries | not published |
| [Arthroscopy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sydney-childrens-hospital/arthroscopy/) | 188 days | 14 surgeries | not published |
| [Cervical discectomy and fusion](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sydney-childrens-hospital/cervical-discectomy-and-fusion/) | 219 days | 45 surgeries | not published |
| [Tonsillectomy (with or without adenoidectomy)](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sydney-childrens-hospital/tonsillectomy/) | 239 days | 310 surgeries | 25.8% |
| [Scar revision](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sydney-childrens-hospital/scar-revision/) | 268 days | 11 surgeries | not published |
| [Hypospadias - repair of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sydney-childrens-hospital/hypospadias-repair-of/) | 279 days | 38 surgeries | not published |
| [Adenoidectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sydney-childrens-hospital/adenoidectomy/) | 301 days | 123 surgeries | 41.5% |
| [Anterior cruciate ligament reconstruction](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sydney-childrens-hospital/acl-reconstruction/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Arthrodesis](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sydney-childrens-hospital/arthrodesis/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Breast reduction](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sydney-childrens-hospital/breast-reduction/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Cataract extraction (with or without intra-ocular lens insertion)](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sydney-childrens-hospital/cataract-surgery/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Cranioplasty](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sydney-childrens-hospital/cranioplasty/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Cystectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sydney-childrens-hospital/cystectomy/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Fundoplication](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sydney-childrens-hospital/fundoplication/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Ganglion - excision of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sydney-childrens-hospital/ganglion-excision-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Insertion of ventricular peritoneal shunt](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sydney-childrens-hospital/insertion-of-ventricular-peritoneal-shunt/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Laminectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sydney-childrens-hospital/laminectomy/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Lobectomy/wedge resection/pneumonectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sydney-childrens-hospital/lobectomy-wedge-resection-pneumonectomy/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Mastoidectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sydney-childrens-hospital/mastoidectomy/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Myringoplasty/tympanoplasty](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sydney-childrens-hospital/eardrum-repair/) | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| [Nephrectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sydney-childrens-hospital/nephrectomy/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Pharyngoplasty](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sydney-childrens-hospital/pharyngoplasty/) | not published | 6 surgeries | not published |
| [Procedure for strabismus (squint repair)](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sydney-childrens-hospital/squint-surgery/) | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| [Ptosis - repair of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sydney-childrens-hospital/ptosis-repair-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Septoplasty](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sydney-childrens-hospital/septoplasty/) | not published | 6 surgeries | not published |
| [Tendon release](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sydney-childrens-hospital/tendon-release/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Thyroidectomy/hemi-thyroidectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sydney-childrens-hospital/thyroidectomy-hemi-thyroidectomy/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Toenail surgery](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sydney-childrens-hospital/toenail-surgery/) | not published | 8 surgeries | not published |
| [Total hip replacement](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sydney-childrens-hospital/hip-replacement/) | not published | 6 surgeries | not published |
| [Ureteric - reimplantation](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sydney-childrens-hospital/ureteric-reimplantation/) | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| [Urethra - dilatation of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sydney-childrens-hospital/urethra-dilatation-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Vitrectomy (including buckling/cryotherapy)](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sydney-childrens-hospital/vitrectomy-including-buckling-cryotherapy/) | not published | not published | not published |

**Not reported for this period**

| Surgery | Median wait | Surgeries | Waited more than 365 days |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Anal fissure - repair of last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Bartholin's abscess drainage last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Breast lump - excision and/or biopsy last reported 2017–18 | not reported |  |  |
| Carpal tunnel release last reported 2017–18 | not reported |  |  |
| Chalazion - excision of last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Colectomy/anterior resection/large bowel resection last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Congenital cardiac defect/s - procedure for last reported 2018–19 | not reported |  |  |
| Curettage and evacuation of uterus last reported 2020–21 | not reported |  |  |
| Dacryocystorhinostomy last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Discectomy last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Functional endoscopic sinus surgery last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Heart valve replacement last reported 2018–19 | not reported |  |  |
| Hysteroscopy, dilatation and curettage last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Laryngectomy last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Lithotripsy last reported 2020–21 | not reported |  |  |
| Meatoplasty last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Meniscectomy last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Muscle or tendon length - change of last reported 2019–20 | not reported |  |  |
| Myringotomy (without insertion of grommets) last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Nasal cautery last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Nerve decompression last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Orchidectomy last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Parathyroidectomy last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Pilonidal sinus surgery last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Probing of naso-lacrimal duct last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Pterygium - excision of last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Radical neck dissection last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Repair of obstructing hiatus hernia last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Rhinoplasty last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Salpingo-oophorectomy/oophorectomy/ovarian cystectomy last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Stapedectomy last reported 2019–20 | not reported |  |  |
| Stone/s urinary tract - removal of last reported 2016–17 | not reported |  |  |
| Tenotomy of hip last reported 2018–19 | not reported |  |  |
| Thyroglossal remnant - removal of last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Trabeculectomy last reported 2020–21 | not reported |  |  |
| Turbinectomy last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Ureteric stent - insertion of last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Vaginal repair - anterior/posterior last reported 2020–21 | not reported |  |  |

## Urgency categories

Urgency figures cover all planned surgery at the hospital, not one procedure. They are never combined with the procedure figures. Your treating specialist assigns your urgency category — it is not something you choose. [What the categories mean, and how every hospital compares.](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/)

All planned surgery at Sydney Children's Hospital by urgency category, 2024–25.

| Urgency category | Median wait | Treated within the recommended time | Surgeries |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [Urgent](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/category-1/nsw/) | 6 days | 100% | 873 surgeries |
| [Semi-urgent](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/category-2/nsw/) | 42 days | 80% | 1186 surgeries |
| [Non-urgent](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/category-3/nsw/) | 268 days | 75% | 1155 surgeries |

**Cite this page**

> In 2024–25, Sydney Children's Hospital published median planned-surgery waits from 2 days for brain surgery through the skull (craniotomy) to 301 days for adenoid removal (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026).

### Copy-ready citation

```
Surgery Waits, "Sydney Children's Hospital wait times and waiting list", 2024–25 data released 28 May 2026, https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sydney-childrens-hospital/, accessed 28 May 2026.
```

Attribution: Surgery Waits ([https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sydney-childrens-hospital/](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sydney-childrens-hospital/)), from Australian Institute of Health and Welfare MyHospitals data, CC BY 3.0 AU. Reference period 2024–25, released 28 May 2026.

## What is not here

Public hospitals only. Private hospitals do not report to this collection, so their waiting times cannot be compared here.

[How these figures are put together](https://surgerywaits.au/methodology/) · [All surgery waits in New South Wales](https://surgerywaits.au/state/nsw/) · [All hospitals](https://surgerywaits.au/hospitals/)

## Before you use these figures

Surgery Waits is not medical advice. It republishes official statistics about waiting times that have already happened, and it does not recommend any hospital, doctor or treatment. Your general practitioner (GP) and your treating specialist are the right people to help you decide what is appropriate for you.

**In an emergency call 000.**

Waiting-time figures: Australian Institute of Health and Welfare MyHospitals, licensed under [CC BY 3.0 AU](https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/au/). Quarterly state figures: Queensland Health. Suburb and locality data: Australian Bureau of Statistics. Both licensed under [CC BY 4.0](https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/). Surgery Waits is not connected with any of these organisations.

Surgery Waits is published by [National Digital](https://nationaldigital.com.au/).

* * *

This is the Markdown copy of https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sydney-childrens-hospital/.
