---
title: "St George Hospital Qld surgery waiting times"
description: "Planned surgery waiting times and waiting list at St George Hospital Qld, a public hospital in the St George area of Queensland, for 2024–25."
url: "https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/st-george-hospital-qld/"
---

# St George Hospital Qld surgery waiting times

In 2024–25, this public hospital in the St George area of Queensland published median waits from **20 days** for dilatation and curettage to **22 days** for skin lesion removal.

Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.

St George Hospital Qld is a public hospital in the St George area of Queensland. It is part of [South West](https://surgerywaits.au/health-service/south-west/). It reported 14 surgery types to the national planned-surgery collection for 2024–25. 8 surgery types were last reported in an earlier period; they are listed below, with the period the source last carried them.

**[Compare this near you →](https://surgerywaits.au/)** On the compare page, pick a surgery and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.

## Waiting times by surgery

Shortest median wait first. A surgery the source did not publish a figure for is listed after those, and a surgery it did not report at all this period is listed last. Neither is ranked, and neither shows an older figure in place of a current one.

Planned surgery at St George Hospital Qld, 2024–25. Every figure was released on 2026-05-28.

| Surgery | Median wait | Surgeries | Waited more than 365 days |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [Hysteroscopy, dilatation and curettage](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/st-george-hospital-qld/dilatation-and-curettage/) | 20 days | 11 surgeries | not published |
| [Skin lesion - excision of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/st-george-hospital-qld/skin-lesion-removal/) | 22 days | 15 surgeries | not published |
| [Bartholin's cyst - removal of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/st-george-hospital-qld/bartholins-cyst-removal-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Curettage and evacuation of uterus](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/st-george-hospital-qld/curettage-and-evacuation-of-uterus/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Female sterilisation](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/st-george-hospital-qld/female-sterilisation/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Haemorrhoidectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/st-george-hospital-qld/haemorrhoid-surgery/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Herniorrhaphy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/st-george-hospital-qld/hernia-repair/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Hydrocele - repair of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/st-george-hospital-qld/hydrocele-repair-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Hysterectomy (abdominal/vaginal/laparoscopic)](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/st-george-hospital-qld/hysterectomy/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Inguinal herniotomy/herniorrhaphy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/st-george-hospital-qld/inguinal-hernia-repair/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Laparoscopy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/st-george-hospital-qld/laparoscopy/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Large loop excision of the transformation zone cervix (LLETZ)](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/st-george-hospital-qld/lletz-procedure/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Salpingo-oophorectomy/oophorectomy/ovarian cystectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/st-george-hospital-qld/salpingo-oophorectomy-oophorectomy-ovarian-cystectomy/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Vaginal repair - anterior/posterior](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/st-george-hospital-qld/prolapse-repair/) | not published | not published | not published |

**Not reported for this period**

| Surgery | Median wait | Surgeries | Waited more than 365 days |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Anal fissure - repair of last reported 2017–18 | not reported |  |  |
| Carpal tunnel release last reported 2017–18 | not reported |  |  |
| Circumcision last reported 2020–21 | not reported |  |  |
| Cone biopsy last reported 2020–21 | not reported |  |  |
| Diathermy of wart/s last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Ganglion - excision of last reported 2019–20 | not reported |  |  |
| Toenail surgery last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Trigger finger/thumb release last reported 2017–18 | not reported |  |  |

## Urgency categories

Urgency figures cover all planned surgery at the hospital, not one procedure. They are never combined with the procedure figures. Your treating specialist assigns your urgency category — it is not something you choose. [What the categories mean, and how every hospital compares.](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/)

All planned surgery at St George Hospital Qld by urgency category, 2024–25.

| Urgency category | Median wait | Treated within the recommended time | Surgeries |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [Urgent](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/category-1/qld/) | 20 days | 86% | 22 surgeries |
| [Semi-urgent](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/category-2/qld/) | 40 days | 96% | 22 surgeries |
| [Non-urgent](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/category-3/qld/) | 60 days | 94% | 17 surgeries |

## Queensland's own quarterly figures

Queensland Health publishes its own figures every three months. They count differently from the national figures above and are never combined with them. This quarter ends after the national reporting period, so it is the more recent of the two.

These figures count patients, not surgeries, and they are a snapshot of one quarter. The table above covers a whole financial year. Comparing a number from one table with a number from the other does not tell you anything.

Covers July to September 2025, published by Queensland Health on 28 October 2025. Reported as St George.

Planned surgery at St George Hospital Qld by urgency category, July to September 2025.

| Group | Patients treated | Treated within the recommended time | Still waiting at the end of the quarter | Waiting longer than recommended |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| All planned surgery at this hospital | 12 patients | 83.3% | 15 patients | 0 patients |
| Category 1 — urgent (recommended within 30 days) | 5 patients | 80.0% | 4 patients | 0 patients |
| Category 2 — semi-urgent (recommended within 90 days) | 5 patients | 80.0% | 5 patients | 0 patients |
| Category 3 — non-urgent (recommended within 365 days) | 2 patients | 100.0% | 6 patients | 0 patients |

### By surgical specialty

Queensland reports by surgical specialty, not by procedure. A specialty covers many different operations, so a specialty figure is never a figure for any one of them.

Planned surgery at St George Hospital Qld by surgical specialty, July to September 2025.

| Group | Patients treated | Treated within the recommended time | Still waiting at the end of the quarter | Waiting longer than recommended |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| General surgery | 6 patients | 83.3% | 10 patients | 0 patients |
| Gynaecology | 6 patients | 83.3% | 5 patients | 0 patients |

**Cite this page**

> In 2024–25, St George Hospital Qld published median planned-surgery waits from 20 days for dilatation and curettage to 22 days for skin lesion removal (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026).

### Copy-ready citation

```
Surgery Waits, "St George Hospital Qld wait times and waiting list", 2024–25 data released 28 May 2026, https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/st-george-hospital-qld/, accessed 28 May 2026.
```

Attribution: Surgery Waits ([https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/st-george-hospital-qld/](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/st-george-hospital-qld/)), from Australian Institute of Health and Welfare MyHospitals data, CC BY 3.0 AU. Reference period 2024–25, released 28 May 2026.

## What is not here

Public hospitals only. Private hospitals do not report to this collection, so their waiting times cannot be compared here.

[How these figures are put together](https://surgerywaits.au/methodology/) · [All surgery waits in Queensland](https://surgerywaits.au/state/qld/) · [All hospitals](https://surgerywaits.au/hospitals/)

## Before you use these figures

Surgery Waits is not medical advice. It republishes official statistics about waiting times that have already happened, and it does not recommend any hospital, doctor or treatment. Your general practitioner (GP) and your treating specialist are the right people to help you decide what is appropriate for you.

**In an emergency call 000.**

Waiting-time figures: Australian Institute of Health and Welfare MyHospitals, licensed under [CC BY 3.0 AU](https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/au/). Quarterly state figures: Queensland Health. Suburb and locality data: Australian Bureau of Statistics. Both licensed under [CC BY 4.0](https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/). Surgery Waits is not connected with any of these organisations.

Surgery Waits is published by [National Digital](https://nationaldigital.com.au/).

* * *

This is the Markdown copy of https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/st-george-hospital-qld/.
