---
title: "South East Regional Hospital surgery waiting times"
description: "Planned surgery waiting times and waiting list at South East Regional Hospital, a public hospital in the Tarraganda area of New South Wales, for 2024–25."
url: "https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/south-east-regional-hospital/"
---

# South East Regional Hospital surgery waiting times

In 2024–25, this public hospital in the Tarraganda area of New South Wales published median waits from **14 days** for dialysis access surgery to **330 days** for cataract surgery.

Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.

South East Regional Hospital is a public hospital in the Tarraganda area of New South Wales. It is part of [Southern NSW](https://surgerywaits.au/health-service/southern-nsw/). It reported 53 surgery types to the national planned-surgery collection for 2024–25. 33 surgery types were last reported in an earlier period; they are listed below, with the period the source last carried them.

**[Compare this near you →](https://surgerywaits.au/)** On the compare page, pick a surgery and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.

## Waiting times by surgery

Shortest median wait first. A surgery the source did not publish a figure for is listed after those, and a surgery it did not report at all this period is listed last. Neither is ranked, and neither shows an older figure in place of a current one.

Planned surgery at South East Regional Hospital, 2024–25. Every figure was released on 2026-05-28.

| Surgery | Median wait | Surgeries | Waited more than 365 days |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [Dialysis access surgery](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/south-east-regional-hospital/dialysis-access-surgery/) | 14 days | 30 surgeries | not published |
| [Breast lump - excision and/or biopsy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/south-east-regional-hospital/breast-lump-removal/) | 20 days | 47 surgeries | not published |
| [Mastectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/south-east-regional-hospital/mastectomy/) | 26 days | 30 surgeries | not published |
| [Cystoscopy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/south-east-regional-hospital/cystoscopy/) | 29 days | 96 surgeries | 0.0% |
| [Hysteroscopy, dilatation and curettage](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/south-east-regional-hospital/dilatation-and-curettage/) | 29 days | 39 surgeries | not published |
| [Cholecystectomy (open/laparoscopic)](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/south-east-regional-hospital/gallbladder-removal/) | 42 days | 59 surgeries | 0.0% |
| [Skin lesion - excision of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/south-east-regional-hospital/skin-lesion-removal/) | 42 days | 89 surgeries | 0.0% |
| [Hysterectomy (abdominal/vaginal/laparoscopic)](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/south-east-regional-hospital/hysterectomy/) | 53 days | 12 surgeries | not published |
| [Prostatectomy (transurethral or open)](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/south-east-regional-hospital/prostate-surgery/) | 58 days | 18 surgeries | not published |
| [Haemorrhoidectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/south-east-regional-hospital/haemorrhoid-surgery/) | 71 days | 29 surgeries | not published |
| [Thyroidectomy/hemi-thyroidectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/south-east-regional-hospital/thyroidectomy-hemi-thyroidectomy/) | 84 days | 51 surgeries | 0.0% |
| [Carpal tunnel release](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/south-east-regional-hospital/carpal-tunnel-surgery/) | 103 days | 11 surgeries | not published |
| [Arthroscopy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/south-east-regional-hospital/arthroscopy/) | 202 days | 26 surgeries | not published |
| [Total hip replacement](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/south-east-regional-hospital/hip-replacement/) | 206 days | 128 surgeries | 0.0% |
| [Breast reduction](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/south-east-regional-hospital/breast-reduction/) | 209 days | 10 surgeries | not published |
| [Herniorrhaphy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/south-east-regional-hospital/hernia-repair/) | 222 days | 47 surgeries | not published |
| [Inguinal herniotomy/herniorrhaphy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/south-east-regional-hospital/inguinal-hernia-repair/) | 256 days | 53 surgeries | 0.0% |
| [Total knee replacement](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/south-east-regional-hospital/knee-replacement/) | 258 days | 164 surgeries | 0.0% |
| [Shoulder joint replacement](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/south-east-regional-hospital/shoulder-joint-replacement/) | 300 days | 24 surgeries | not published |
| [Cataract extraction (with or without intra-ocular lens insertion)](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/south-east-regional-hospital/cataract-surgery/) | 330 days | 343 surgeries | 1.2% |
| [Amputation of limb](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/south-east-regional-hospital/amputation-of-limb/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Anal fissure - repair of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/south-east-regional-hospital/anal-fissure-repair-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Anterior cruciate ligament reconstruction](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/south-east-regional-hospital/acl-reconstruction/) | not published | 6 surgeries | not published |
| [Arthroplasty - revision of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/south-east-regional-hospital/arthroplasty-revision-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Axillary node dissection](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/south-east-regional-hospital/axillary-node-dissection/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Bladder neck incision](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/south-east-regional-hospital/bladder-neck-incision/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Breast prosthesis - removal of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/south-east-regional-hospital/breast-prosthesis-removal-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Breast reconstruction](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/south-east-regional-hospital/breast-reconstruction/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Circumcision](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/south-east-regional-hospital/circumcision/) | not published | 6 surgeries | not published |
| [Colectomy/anterior resection/large bowel resection](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/south-east-regional-hospital/colectomy-anterior-resection-large-bowel-resection/) | not published | 8 surgeries | not published |
| [Curettage and evacuation of uterus](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/south-east-regional-hospital/curettage-and-evacuation-of-uterus/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Dermoid cyst - removal of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/south-east-regional-hospital/dermoid-cyst-removal-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Dupytren's contracture release](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/south-east-regional-hospital/dupuytrens-contracture-surgery/) | not published | 6 surgeries | not published |
| [Ectropion - correction of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/south-east-regional-hospital/ectropion-correction-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Epididymal cyst - removal of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/south-east-regional-hospital/epididymal-cyst-removal-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Fracture non-union - treatment of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/south-east-regional-hospital/fracture-non-union-treatment-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Ganglion - excision of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/south-east-regional-hospital/ganglion-excision-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Hydrocele - repair of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/south-east-regional-hospital/hydrocele-repair-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Laparoscopy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/south-east-regional-hospital/laparoscopy/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Large loop excision of the transformation zone cervix (LLETZ)](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/south-east-regional-hospital/lletz-procedure/) | not published | 9 surgeries | not published |
| [Nerve decompression](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/south-east-regional-hospital/nerve-decompression/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Parotidectomy/submandibular gland - excision of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/south-east-regional-hospital/parotidectomy-submandibular-gland-excision-of/) | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| [Pilonidal sinus surgery](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/south-east-regional-hospital/pilonidal-sinus-surgery/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Pterygium - excision of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/south-east-regional-hospital/pterygium-excision-of/) | not published | 8 surgeries | not published |
| [Rotator cuff - repair of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/south-east-regional-hospital/rotator-cuff-repair/) | not published | 6 surgeries | not published |
| [Salpingo-oophorectomy/oophorectomy/ovarian cystectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/south-east-regional-hospital/salpingo-oophorectomy-oophorectomy-ovarian-cystectomy/) | not published | 6 surgeries | not published |
| [Shoulder reconstruction](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/south-east-regional-hospital/shoulder-reconstruction/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Tendon release](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/south-east-regional-hospital/tendon-release/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Toenail surgery](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/south-east-regional-hospital/toenail-surgery/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Trigger finger/thumb release](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/south-east-regional-hospital/trigger-finger-release/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Ureteric stent - insertion of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/south-east-regional-hospital/ureteric-stent-insertion-of/) | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| [Urethra - dilatation of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/south-east-regional-hospital/urethra-dilatation-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Vaginal repair - anterior/posterior](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/south-east-regional-hospital/prolapse-repair/) | not published | not published | not published |

**Not reported for this period**

| Surgery | Median wait | Surgeries | Waited more than 365 days |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Acromioplasty/arthroscopy shoulder/sub acromial decompression last reported 2017–18 | not reported |  |  |
| Adenoidectomy last reported 2020–21 | not reported |  |  |
| Arthrodesis last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Bartholin's abscess drainage last reported 2016–17 | not reported |  |  |
| Blepharoplasty last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Bunion (hallux valgus) - removal of last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Cerebral haematoma - evacuation of last reported 2018–19 | not reported |  |  |
| Cone biopsy last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Cystectomy last reported 2017–18 | not reported |  |  |
| Endometrial ablation last reported 2016–17 | not reported |  |  |
| Examination of eye under anaesthesia last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Female sterilisation last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Hammer/claw/mallet toe - correction of last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Lingual or maxillary frenulum surgery last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Lobectomy/wedge resection/pneumonectomy last reported 2017–18 | not reported |  |  |
| Meniscectomy last reported 2020–21 | not reported |  |  |
| Muscle or tendon length - change of last reported 2018–19 | not reported |  |  |
| Myringotomy last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Myringotomy (without insertion of grommets) last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Nasendoscopy last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Orchidectomy last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Orchidopexy last reported 2020–21 | not reported |  |  |
| Osteotomy last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Parathyroidectomy last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Pleurodesis last reported 2019–20 | not reported |  |  |
| Pressure equalising tubes (grommets) - insertion of last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Prostate biopsy last reported 2016–17 | not reported |  |  |
| Radical neck dissection last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Repair of obstructing hiatus hernia last reported 2016–17 | not reported |  |  |
| Scar revision last reported 2016–17 | not reported |  |  |
| Tonsillectomy (with or without adenoidectomy) last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Varicose veins treatment last reported 2015–16 | not reported |  |  |
| Vitrectomy (including buckling/cryotherapy) last reported 2018–19 | not reported |  |  |

## Urgency categories

Urgency figures cover all planned surgery at the hospital, not one procedure. They are never combined with the procedure figures. Your treating specialist assigns your urgency category — it is not something you choose. [What the categories mean, and how every hospital compares.](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/)

All planned surgery at South East Regional Hospital by urgency category, 2024–25.

| Urgency category | Median wait | Treated within the recommended time | Surgeries |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [Urgent](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/category-1/nsw/) | 16 days | 100% | 259 surgeries |
| [Semi-urgent](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/category-2/nsw/) | 55 days | 99% | 433 surgeries |
| [Non-urgent](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/category-3/nsw/) | 286 days | 99% | 887 surgeries |

**Cite this page**

> In 2024–25, South East Regional Hospital published median planned-surgery waits from 14 days for dialysis access surgery to 330 days for cataract surgery (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026).

### Copy-ready citation

```
Surgery Waits, "South East Regional Hospital waiting list", 2024–25 data released 28 May 2026, https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/south-east-regional-hospital/, accessed 28 May 2026.
```

Attribution: Surgery Waits ([https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/south-east-regional-hospital/](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/south-east-regional-hospital/)), from Australian Institute of Health and Welfare MyHospitals data, CC BY 3.0 AU. Reference period 2024–25, released 28 May 2026.

## What is not here

Public hospitals only. Private hospitals do not report to this collection, so their waiting times cannot be compared here.

[How these figures are put together](https://surgerywaits.au/methodology/) · [All surgery waits in New South Wales](https://surgerywaits.au/state/nsw/) · [All hospitals](https://surgerywaits.au/hospitals/)

## Before you use these figures

Surgery Waits is not medical advice. It republishes official statistics about waiting times that have already happened, and it does not recommend any hospital, doctor or treatment. Your general practitioner (GP) and your treating specialist are the right people to help you decide what is appropriate for you.

**In an emergency call 000.**

Waiting-time figures: Australian Institute of Health and Welfare MyHospitals, licensed under [CC BY 3.0 AU](https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/au/). Quarterly state figures: Queensland Health. Suburb and locality data: Australian Bureau of Statistics. Both licensed under [CC BY 4.0](https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/). Surgery Waits is not connected with any of these organisations.

Surgery Waits is published by [National Digital](https://nationaldigital.com.au/).

* * *

This is the Markdown copy of https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/south-east-regional-hospital/.
