---
title: "Sandringham Hospital surgery waiting times"
description: "Planned surgery waiting times and waiting list at Sandringham Hospital, a public hospital in the Sandringham area of Victoria, for 2024–25."
url: "https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sandringham-hospital/"
---

# Sandringham Hospital surgery waiting times

In 2024–25, this public hospital in the Sandringham area of Victoria published median waits from **9 days** for gallbladder removal to **296 days** for joint fusion surgery.

Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.

Sandringham Hospital is a public hospital in the Sandringham area of Victoria. It is part of [Alfred Health](https://surgerywaits.au/health-service/alfred-health/). It reported 37 surgery types to the national planned-surgery collection for 2024–25. 18 surgery types were last reported in an earlier period; they are listed below, with the period the source last carried them.

**[Compare this near you →](https://surgerywaits.au/)** On the compare page, pick a surgery and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.

## Waiting times by surgery

Shortest median wait first. A surgery the source did not publish a figure for is listed after those, and a surgery it did not report at all this period is listed last. Neither is ranked, and neither shows an older figure in place of a current one.

Planned surgery at Sandringham Hospital, 2024–25. Every figure was released on 2026-05-28.

| Surgery | Median wait | Surgeries | Waited more than 365 days |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [Cholecystectomy (open/laparoscopic)](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sandringham-hospital/gallbladder-removal/) | 9 days | 87 surgeries | 0.0% |
| [Pilonidal sinus surgery](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sandringham-hospital/pilonidal-sinus-surgery/) | 13 days | 15 surgeries | not published |
| [Haemorrhoidectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sandringham-hospital/haemorrhoid-surgery/) | 15 days | 34 surgeries | not published |
| [Herniorrhaphy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sandringham-hospital/hernia-repair/) | 18 days | 87 surgeries | 0.0% |
| [Inguinal herniotomy/herniorrhaphy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sandringham-hospital/inguinal-hernia-repair/) | 21 days | 138 surgeries | 0.0% |
| [Repair of obstructing hiatus hernia](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sandringham-hospital/repair-of-obstructing-hiatus-hernia/) | 23 days | 34 surgeries | not published |
| [Carpal tunnel release](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sandringham-hospital/carpal-tunnel-surgery/) | 28 days | 40 surgeries | not published |
| [Skin lesion - excision of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sandringham-hospital/skin-lesion-removal/) | 29 days | 96 surgeries | 0.0% |
| [Rotator cuff - repair of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sandringham-hospital/rotator-cuff-repair/) | 55 days | 11 surgeries | not published |
| [Arthroscopy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sandringham-hospital/arthroscopy/) | 57 days | 58 surgeries | 0.0% |
| [Acromioplasty/arthroscopy shoulder/sub acromial decompression](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sandringham-hospital/acromioplasty-arthroscopy-shoulder-sub-acromial-decompression/) | 82 days | 12 surgeries | not published |
| [Shoulder joint replacement](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sandringham-hospital/shoulder-joint-replacement/) | 104 days | 16 surgeries | not published |
| [Osteotomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sandringham-hospital/osteotomy/) | 224 days | 13 surgeries | not published |
| [Anterior cruciate ligament reconstruction](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sandringham-hospital/acl-reconstruction/) | 240 days | 33 surgeries | not published |
| [Total hip replacement](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sandringham-hospital/hip-replacement/) | 261 days | 71 surgeries | 4.2% |
| [Total knee replacement](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sandringham-hospital/knee-replacement/) | 291 days | 84 surgeries | 10.7% |
| [Arthrodesis](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sandringham-hospital/arthrodesis/) | 296 days | 11 surgeries | not published |
| [Amputation of limb](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sandringham-hospital/amputation-of-limb/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Anal fissure - repair of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sandringham-hospital/anal-fissure-repair-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Arthroplasty - revision of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sandringham-hospital/arthroplasty-revision-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Bunion (hallux valgus) - removal of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sandringham-hospital/bunion-surgery/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Cataract extraction (with or without intra-ocular lens insertion)](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sandringham-hospital/cataract-surgery/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Colectomy/anterior resection/large bowel resection](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sandringham-hospital/colectomy-anterior-resection-large-bowel-resection/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Cystoscopy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sandringham-hospital/cystoscopy/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Dermoid cyst - removal of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sandringham-hospital/dermoid-cyst-removal-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Dupytren's contracture release](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sandringham-hospital/dupuytrens-contracture-surgery/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Ganglion - excision of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sandringham-hospital/ganglion-excision-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Hammer/claw/mallet toe - correction of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sandringham-hospital/hammer-claw-mallet-toe-correction-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Laparoscopy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sandringham-hospital/laparoscopy/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Meniscectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sandringham-hospital/meniscectomy/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Muscle or tendon length - change of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sandringham-hospital/muscle-or-tendon-length-change-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Prostate biopsy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sandringham-hospital/prostate-biopsy/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Scar revision](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sandringham-hospital/scar-revision/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Shoulder reconstruction](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sandringham-hospital/shoulder-reconstruction/) | not published | 6 surgeries | not published |
| [Toenail surgery](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sandringham-hospital/toenail-surgery/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Trigger finger/thumb release](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sandringham-hospital/trigger-finger-release/) | not published | 6 surgeries | not published |
| [Varicose veins treatment](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sandringham-hospital/varicose-vein-surgery/) | not published | not published | not published |

**Not reported for this period**

| Surgery | Median wait | Surgeries | Waited more than 365 days |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Breast lump - excision and/or biopsy last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Circumcision last reported 2017–18 | not reported |  |  |
| Coronary artery bypass grafting last reported 2017–18 | not reported |  |  |
| Craniotomy last reported 2018–19 | not reported |  |  |
| Exostosis - excision of last reported 2020–21 | not reported |  |  |
| Fracture non-union - treatment of last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Hydrocele - repair of last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Hysterectomy (abdominal/vaginal/laparoscopic) last reported 2013–14 | not reported |  |  |
| Mastectomy last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Muscle biopsy/temporal artery biopsy last reported 2017–18 | not reported |  |  |
| Nerve decompression last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Parathyroidectomy last reported 2017–18 | not reported |  |  |
| Posterior fossa decompression last reported 2020–21 | not reported |  |  |
| Prostatectomy (transurethral or open) last reported 2017–18 | not reported |  |  |
| Tendon release last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Tenotomy of hip last reported 2018–19 | not reported |  |  |
| Thyroidectomy/hemi-thyroidectomy last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Turbinectomy last reported 2020–21 | not reported |  |  |

## Urgency categories

Urgency figures cover all planned surgery at the hospital, not one procedure. They are never combined with the procedure figures. Your treating specialist assigns your urgency category — it is not something you choose. [What the categories mean, and how every hospital compares.](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/)

All planned surgery at Sandringham Hospital by urgency category, 2024–25.

| Urgency category | Median wait | Treated within the recommended time | Surgeries |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [Urgent](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/category-1/vic/) | 4 days | 100% | 174 surgeries |
| [Semi-urgent](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/category-2/vic/) | 25 days | 99% | 494 surgeries |
| [Non-urgent](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/category-3/vic/) | 99 days | 96% | 465 surgeries |

**Cite this page**

> In 2024–25, Sandringham Hospital published median planned-surgery waits from 9 days for gallbladder removal to 296 days for joint fusion surgery (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026).

### Copy-ready citation

```
Surgery Waits, "Sandringham Hospital wait times and waiting list", 2024–25 data released 28 May 2026, https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sandringham-hospital/, accessed 28 May 2026.
```

Attribution: Surgery Waits ([https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sandringham-hospital/](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sandringham-hospital/)), from Australian Institute of Health and Welfare MyHospitals data, CC BY 3.0 AU. Reference period 2024–25, released 28 May 2026.

## What is not here

Public hospitals only. Private hospitals do not report to this collection, so their waiting times cannot be compared here.

[How these figures are put together](https://surgerywaits.au/methodology/) · [All surgery waits in Victoria](https://surgerywaits.au/state/vic/) · [All hospitals](https://surgerywaits.au/hospitals/)

## Before you use these figures

Surgery Waits is not medical advice. It republishes official statistics about waiting times that have already happened, and it does not recommend any hospital, doctor or treatment. Your general practitioner (GP) and your treating specialist are the right people to help you decide what is appropriate for you.

**In an emergency call 000.**

Waiting-time figures: Australian Institute of Health and Welfare MyHospitals, licensed under [CC BY 3.0 AU](https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/au/). Quarterly state figures: Queensland Health. Suburb and locality data: Australian Bureau of Statistics. Both licensed under [CC BY 4.0](https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/). Surgery Waits is not connected with any of these organisations.

Surgery Waits is published by [National Digital](https://nationaldigital.com.au/).

* * *

This is the Markdown copy of https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/sandringham-hospital/.
