---
title: "Royal Women's Hospital [Parkville] surgery waiting times"
description: "Planned surgery waiting times and waiting list at Royal Women's Hospital [Parkville], a public hospital in the North Melbourne area of Victoria, for 2024–25."
url: "https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/royal-womens-hospital-parkville/"
---

# Royal Women's Hospital \[Parkville\] surgery waiting times

In 2024–25, this public hospital in the North Melbourne area of Victoria published median waits from **14 days** for breast removal to **321 days** for breast reduction.

Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.

Royal Women's Hospital \[Parkville\] is a public hospital in the North Melbourne area of Victoria. It is part of [Royal Women's Hospital](https://surgerywaits.au/health-service/royal-womens-hospital/). It reported 22 surgery types to the national planned-surgery collection for 2024–25. 10 surgery types were last reported in an earlier period; they are listed below, with the period the source last carried them.

**[Compare this near you →](https://surgerywaits.au/)** On the compare page, pick a surgery and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.

## Waiting times by surgery

Shortest median wait first. A surgery the source did not publish a figure for is listed after those, and a surgery it did not report at all this period is listed last. Neither is ranked, and neither shows an older figure in place of a current one.

Planned surgery at Royal Women's Hospital \[Parkville\], 2024–25. Every figure was released on 2026-05-28.

| Surgery | Median wait | Surgeries | Waited more than 365 days |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [Mastectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/royal-womens-hospital-parkville/mastectomy/) | 14 days | 36 surgeries | not published |
| [Breast lump - excision and/or biopsy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/royal-womens-hospital-parkville/breast-lump-removal/) | 17 days | 157 surgeries | 0.6% |
| [Hysteroscopy, dilatation and curettage](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/royal-womens-hospital-parkville/dilatation-and-curettage/) | 21 days | 1121 surgeries | 0.0% |
| [Hysterectomy (abdominal/vaginal/laparoscopic)](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/royal-womens-hospital-parkville/hysterectomy/) | 28 days | 424 surgeries | 1.4% |
| [Large loop excision of the transformation zone cervix (LLETZ)](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/royal-womens-hospital-parkville/lletz-procedure/) | 28 days | 288 surgeries | 0.0% |
| [Salpingo-oophorectomy/oophorectomy/ovarian cystectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/royal-womens-hospital-parkville/salpingo-oophorectomy-oophorectomy-ovarian-cystectomy/) | 37 days | 290 surgeries | 0.3% |
| [Myomectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/royal-womens-hospital-parkville/myomectomy/) | 49 days | 62 surgeries | 0.0% |
| [Laparoscopy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/royal-womens-hospital-parkville/laparoscopy/) | 51 days | 550 surgeries | 0.7% |
| [Cystectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/royal-womens-hospital-parkville/cystectomy/) | 53 days | 15 surgeries | not published |
| [Cystoscopy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/royal-womens-hospital-parkville/cystoscopy/) | 54 days | 163 surgeries | 1.8% |
| [Endometrial ablation](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/royal-womens-hospital-parkville/endometrial-ablation/) | 84 days | 28 surgeries | not published |
| [Vaginal repair - anterior/posterior](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/royal-womens-hospital-parkville/prolapse-repair/) | 91 days | 98 surgeries | 10.2% |
| [Female sterilisation](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/royal-womens-hospital-parkville/female-sterilisation/) | 114 days | 25 surgeries | not published |
| [Breast prosthesis - removal of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/royal-womens-hospital-parkville/breast-prosthesis-removal-of/) | 119 days | 18 surgeries | not published |
| [Breast reduction](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/royal-womens-hospital-parkville/breast-reduction/) | 321 days | 32 surgeries | not published |
| [Axillary node dissection](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/royal-womens-hospital-parkville/axillary-node-dissection/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Bartholin's abscess drainage](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/royal-womens-hospital-parkville/bartholins-abscess-drainage/) | not published | 6 surgeries | not published |
| [Breast reconstruction](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/royal-womens-hospital-parkville/breast-reconstruction/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Cone biopsy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/royal-womens-hospital-parkville/cone-biopsy/) | not published | 7 surgeries | not published |
| [Scar revision](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/royal-womens-hospital-parkville/scar-revision/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Skin lesion - excision of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/royal-womens-hospital-parkville/skin-lesion-removal/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Stress incontinence surgery](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/royal-womens-hospital-parkville/stress-incontinence-surgery/) | not published | 7 surgeries | not published |

**Not reported for this period**

| Surgery | Median wait | Surgeries | Waited more than 365 days |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Anal fissure - repair of last reported 2018–19 | not reported |  |  |
| Colectomy/anterior resection/large bowel resection last reported 2018–19 | not reported |  |  |
| Corneal graft last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Curettage and evacuation of uterus last reported 2016–17 | not reported |  |  |
| Dermoid cyst - removal of last reported 2018–19 | not reported |  |  |
| Diathermy of wart/s last reported 2018–19 | not reported |  |  |
| Haemorrhoidectomy last reported 2017–18 | not reported |  |  |
| Herniorrhaphy last reported 2018–19 | not reported |  |  |
| Inguinal herniotomy/herniorrhaphy last reported 2018–19 | not reported |  |  |
| Muscle biopsy/temporal artery biopsy last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |

## Urgency categories

Urgency figures cover all planned surgery at the hospital, not one procedure. They are never combined with the procedure figures. Your treating specialist assigns your urgency category — it is not something you choose. [What the categories mean, and how every hospital compares.](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/)

All planned surgery at Royal Women's Hospital \[Parkville\] by urgency category, 2024–25.

| Urgency category | Median wait | Treated within the recommended time | Surgeries |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [Urgent](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/category-1/vic/) | 15 days | 100% | 1596 surgeries |
| [Semi-urgent](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/category-2/vic/) | 49 days | 81% | 2147 surgeries |
| [Non-urgent](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/category-3/vic/) | 131 days | 81% | 511 surgeries |

**Cite this page**

> In 2024–25, Royal Women's Hospital \[Parkville\] published median planned-surgery waits from 14 days for breast removal to 321 days for breast reduction (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026).

### Copy-ready citation

```
Surgery Waits, "Royal Women's Hospital [Parkville] waiting list", 2024–25 data released 28 May 2026, https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/royal-womens-hospital-parkville/, accessed 28 May 2026.
```

Attribution: Surgery Waits ([https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/royal-womens-hospital-parkville/](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/royal-womens-hospital-parkville/)), from Australian Institute of Health and Welfare MyHospitals data, CC BY 3.0 AU. Reference period 2024–25, released 28 May 2026.

## What is not here

Public hospitals only. Private hospitals do not report to this collection, so their waiting times cannot be compared here.

[How these figures are put together](https://surgerywaits.au/methodology/) · [All surgery waits in Victoria](https://surgerywaits.au/state/vic/) · [All hospitals](https://surgerywaits.au/hospitals/)

## Before you use these figures

Surgery Waits is not medical advice. It republishes official statistics about waiting times that have already happened, and it does not recommend any hospital, doctor or treatment. Your general practitioner (GP) and your treating specialist are the right people to help you decide what is appropriate for you.

**In an emergency call 000.**

Waiting-time figures: Australian Institute of Health and Welfare MyHospitals, licensed under [CC BY 3.0 AU](https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/au/). Quarterly state figures: Queensland Health. Suburb and locality data: Australian Bureau of Statistics. Both licensed under [CC BY 4.0](https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/). Surgery Waits is not connected with any of these organisations.

Surgery Waits is published by [National Digital](https://nationaldigital.com.au/).

* * *

This is the Markdown copy of https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/royal-womens-hospital-parkville/.
