---
title: "Port Augusta Hospital and Regional Health Services surgery waiting times"
description: "Planned surgery waiting times and waiting list at Port Augusta Hospital and Regional Health Services, a public hospital in the Port Augusta area of South Australia, for 2024–25."
url: "https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/port-augusta-hospital-and-regional-health-services/"
---

# Port Augusta Hospital and Regional Health Services surgery waiting times

In 2024–25, this public hospital in the Port Augusta area of South Australia published median waits from **18 days** for skin lesion removal to **203 days** for keyhole sinus surgery.

Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.

Port Augusta Hospital and Regional Health Services is a public hospital in the Port Augusta area of South Australia. It is part of [Flinders and Upper North](https://surgerywaits.au/health-service/flinders-and-upper-north/). It reported 38 surgery types to the national planned-surgery collection for 2024–25. 41 surgery types were last reported in an earlier period; they are listed below, with the period the source last carried them.

**[Compare this near you →](https://surgerywaits.au/)** On the compare page, pick a surgery and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.

## Waiting times by surgery

Shortest median wait first. A surgery the source did not publish a figure for is listed after those, and a surgery it did not report at all this period is listed last. Neither is ranked, and neither shows an older figure in place of a current one.

Planned surgery at Port Augusta Hospital and Regional Health Services, 2024–25. Every figure was released on 2026-05-28.

| Surgery | Median wait | Surgeries | Waited more than 365 days |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [Skin lesion - excision of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/port-augusta-hospital-and-regional-health-services/skin-lesion-removal/) | 18 days | 23 surgeries | not published |
| [Carpal tunnel release](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/port-augusta-hospital-and-regional-health-services/carpal-tunnel-surgery/) | 20 days | 13 surgeries | not published |
| [Hysteroscopy, dilatation and curettage](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/port-augusta-hospital-and-regional-health-services/dilatation-and-curettage/) | 21 days | 66 surgeries | 0.0% |
| [Arthroscopy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/port-augusta-hospital-and-regional-health-services/arthroscopy/) | 26 days | 25 surgeries | not published |
| [Inguinal herniotomy/herniorrhaphy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/port-augusta-hospital-and-regional-health-services/inguinal-hernia-repair/) | 32 days | 29 surgeries | not published |
| [Cholecystectomy (open/laparoscopic)](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/port-augusta-hospital-and-regional-health-services/gallbladder-removal/) | 34 days | 19 surgeries | not published |
| [Total knee replacement](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/port-augusta-hospital-and-regional-health-services/knee-replacement/) | 88 days | 32 surgeries | not published |
| [Cataract extraction (with or without intra-ocular lens insertion)](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/port-augusta-hospital-and-regional-health-services/cataract-surgery/) | 119 days | 191 surgeries | 1.0% |
| [Adenoidectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/port-augusta-hospital-and-regional-health-services/adenoidectomy/) | 145 days | 19 surgeries | not published |
| [Tonsillectomy (with or without adenoidectomy)](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/port-augusta-hospital-and-regional-health-services/tonsillectomy/) | 167 days | 33 surgeries | not published |
| [Septoplasty](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/port-augusta-hospital-and-regional-health-services/septoplasty/) | 194 days | 12 surgeries | not published |
| [Functional endoscopic sinus surgery](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/port-augusta-hospital-and-regional-health-services/functional-endoscopic-sinus-surgery/) | 203 days | 10 surgeries | not published |
| [Bartholin's abscess drainage](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/port-augusta-hospital-and-regional-health-services/bartholins-abscess-drainage/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Blepharoplasty](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/port-augusta-hospital-and-regional-health-services/blepharoplasty/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Circumcision](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/port-augusta-hospital-and-regional-health-services/circumcision/) | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| [Curettage and evacuation of uterus](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/port-augusta-hospital-and-regional-health-services/curettage-and-evacuation-of-uterus/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Diathermy of wart/s](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/port-augusta-hospital-and-regional-health-services/diathermy-of-wart-s/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Ectropion - correction of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/port-augusta-hospital-and-regional-health-services/ectropion-correction-of/) | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| [Epididymal cyst - removal of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/port-augusta-hospital-and-regional-health-services/epididymal-cyst-removal-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Female sterilisation](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/port-augusta-hospital-and-regional-health-services/female-sterilisation/) | not published | 6 surgeries | not published |
| [Fundoplication](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/port-augusta-hospital-and-regional-health-services/fundoplication/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Ganglion - excision of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/port-augusta-hospital-and-regional-health-services/ganglion-excision-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Herniorrhaphy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/port-augusta-hospital-and-regional-health-services/hernia-repair/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Hydrocele - repair of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/port-augusta-hospital-and-regional-health-services/hydrocele-repair-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Hysterectomy (abdominal/vaginal/laparoscopic)](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/port-augusta-hospital-and-regional-health-services/hysterectomy/) | not published | 7 surgeries | not published |
| [Laparoscopy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/port-augusta-hospital-and-regional-health-services/laparoscopy/) | not published | 7 surgeries | not published |
| [Large loop excision of the transformation zone cervix (LLETZ)](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/port-augusta-hospital-and-regional-health-services/lletz-procedure/) | not published | 7 surgeries | not published |
| [Myringoplasty/tympanoplasty](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/port-augusta-hospital-and-regional-health-services/eardrum-repair/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Myringotomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/port-augusta-hospital-and-regional-health-services/myringotomy/) | not published | 9 surgeries | not published |
| [Nasal cautery](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/port-augusta-hospital-and-regional-health-services/nasal-cautery/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Pilonidal sinus surgery](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/port-augusta-hospital-and-regional-health-services/pilonidal-sinus-surgery/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Pressure equalising tubes (grommets) - insertion of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/port-augusta-hospital-and-regional-health-services/grommets/) | not published | 9 surgeries | not published |
| [Pterygium - excision of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/port-augusta-hospital-and-regional-health-services/pterygium-excision-of/) | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| [Tendon release](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/port-augusta-hospital-and-regional-health-services/tendon-release/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Toenail surgery](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/port-augusta-hospital-and-regional-health-services/toenail-surgery/) | not published | 8 surgeries | not published |
| [Total hip replacement](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/port-augusta-hospital-and-regional-health-services/hip-replacement/) | not published | 9 surgeries | not published |
| [Trigger finger/thumb release](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/port-augusta-hospital-and-regional-health-services/trigger-finger-release/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Vaginal repair - anterior/posterior](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/port-augusta-hospital-and-regional-health-services/prolapse-repair/) | not published | not published | not published |

**Not reported for this period**

| Surgery | Median wait | Surgeries | Waited more than 365 days |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Acromioplasty/arthroscopy shoulder/sub acromial decompression last reported 2018–19 | not reported |  |  |
| Anal fissure - repair of last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Bartholin's cyst - removal of last reported 2018–19 | not reported |  |  |
| Breast lump - excision and/or biopsy last reported 2020–21 | not reported |  |  |
| Colectomy/anterior resection/large bowel resection last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Cone biopsy last reported 2017–18 | not reported |  |  |
| Corneal graft last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Cystectomy last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Cystoscopy last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Dermoid cyst - removal of last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Dialysis access surgery last reported 2020–21 | not reported |  |  |
| Dupytren's contracture release last reported 2017–18 | not reported |  |  |
| Endometrial ablation last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Examination of eye under anaesthesia last reported 2020–21 | not reported |  |  |
| Haemorrhoidectomy last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Mastectomy last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Meatoplasty last reported 2019–20 | not reported |  |  |
| Myringotomy (without insertion of grommets) last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Nasendoscopy last reported 2020–21 | not reported |  |  |
| Neonatal surgery last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Nerve decompression last reported 2016–17 | not reported |  |  |
| Osteotomy last reported 2017–18 | not reported |  |  |
| Parotidectomy/submandibular gland - excision of last reported 2017–18 | not reported |  |  |
| Procedure for strabismus (squint repair) last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Prostate biopsy last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Prostatectomy (transurethral or open) last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Ptosis - repair of last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Pyogenic granuloma - removal of last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Repair of obstructing hiatus hernia last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Rotator cuff - repair of last reported 2020–21 | not reported |  |  |
| Salpingo-oophorectomy/oophorectomy/ovarian cystectomy last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Scar revision last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Stress incontinence surgery last reported 2016–17 | not reported |  |  |
| Sub-mucosal resection last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Tenotomy of hip last reported 2020–21 | not reported |  |  |
| Thyroidectomy/hemi-thyroidectomy last reported 2020–21 | not reported |  |  |
| Trabeculectomy last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Turbinectomy last reported 2020–21 | not reported |  |  |
| Ureteric stent - insertion of last reported 2019–20 | not reported |  |  |
| Urethra - dilatation of last reported 2019–20 | not reported |  |  |
| Varicose veins treatment last reported 2015–16 | not reported |  |  |

## Urgency categories

Urgency figures cover all planned surgery at the hospital, not one procedure. They are never combined with the procedure figures. Your treating specialist assigns your urgency category — it is not something you choose. [What the categories mean, and how every hospital compares.](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/)

All planned surgery at Port Augusta Hospital and Regional Health Services by urgency category, 2024–25.

| Urgency category | Median wait | Treated within the recommended time | Surgeries |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [Urgent](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/category-1/sa/) | 9 days | 96% | 128 surgeries |
| [Semi-urgent](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/category-2/sa/) | 29 days | 99% | 172 surgeries |
| [Non-urgent](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/category-3/sa/) | 121 days | 100% | 370 surgeries |

**Cite this page**

> In 2024–25, Port Augusta Hospital and Regional Health Services published median planned-surgery waits from 18 days for skin lesion removal to 203 days for keyhole sinus surgery (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026).

### Copy-ready citation

```
Surgery Waits, "Port Augusta Hospital and Regional Health Services", 2024–25 data released 28 May 2026, https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/port-augusta-hospital-and-regional-health-services/, accessed 28 May 2026.
```

Attribution: Surgery Waits ([https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/port-augusta-hospital-and-regional-health-services/](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/port-augusta-hospital-and-regional-health-services/)), from Australian Institute of Health and Welfare MyHospitals data, CC BY 3.0 AU. Reference period 2024–25, released 28 May 2026.

## What is not here

Public hospitals only. Private hospitals do not report to this collection, so their waiting times cannot be compared here.

[How these figures are put together](https://surgerywaits.au/methodology/) · [All surgery waits in South Australia](https://surgerywaits.au/state/sa/) · [All hospitals](https://surgerywaits.au/hospitals/)

## Before you use these figures

Surgery Waits is not medical advice. It republishes official statistics about waiting times that have already happened, and it does not recommend any hospital, doctor or treatment. Your general practitioner (GP) and your treating specialist are the right people to help you decide what is appropriate for you.

**In an emergency call 000.**

Waiting-time figures: Australian Institute of Health and Welfare MyHospitals, licensed under [CC BY 3.0 AU](https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/au/). Quarterly state figures: Queensland Health. Suburb and locality data: Australian Bureau of Statistics. Both licensed under [CC BY 4.0](https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/). Surgery Waits is not connected with any of these organisations.

Surgery Waits is published by [National Digital](https://nationaldigital.com.au/).

* * *

This is the Markdown copy of https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/port-augusta-hospital-and-regional-health-services/.
