---
title: "Muswellbrook Hospital surgery waiting times"
description: "Planned surgery waiting times and waiting list at Muswellbrook Hospital, a public hospital in the Muswellbrook area of New South Wales, for 2024–25."
url: "https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/muswellbrook-hospital/"
---

# Muswellbrook Hospital surgery waiting times

In 2024–25, this public hospital in the Muswellbrook area of New South Wales published median waits from **17 days** for dilatation and curettage to **75 days** for hernia repair.

Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.

Muswellbrook Hospital is a public hospital in the Muswellbrook area of New South Wales. It is part of [Hunter New England](https://surgerywaits.au/health-service/hunter-new-england/). It reported 16 surgery types to the national planned-surgery collection for 2024–25. 22 surgery types were last reported in an earlier period; they are listed below, with the period the source last carried them.

**[Compare this near you →](https://surgerywaits.au/)** On the compare page, pick a surgery and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.

## Waiting times by surgery

Shortest median wait first. A surgery the source did not publish a figure for is listed after those, and a surgery it did not report at all this period is listed last. Neither is ranked, and neither shows an older figure in place of a current one.

Planned surgery at Muswellbrook Hospital, 2024–25. Every figure was released on 2026-05-28.

| Surgery | Median wait | Surgeries | Waited more than 365 days |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [Hysteroscopy, dilatation and curettage](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/muswellbrook-hospital/dilatation-and-curettage/) | 17 days | 13 surgeries | not published |
| [Skin lesion - excision of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/muswellbrook-hospital/skin-lesion-removal/) | 20 days | 127 surgeries | 0.0% |
| [Cholecystectomy (open/laparoscopic)](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/muswellbrook-hospital/gallbladder-removal/) | 53 days | 11 surgeries | not published |
| [Inguinal herniotomy/herniorrhaphy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/muswellbrook-hospital/inguinal-hernia-repair/) | 57 days | 18 surgeries | not published |
| [Cataract extraction (with or without intra-ocular lens insertion)](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/muswellbrook-hospital/cataract-surgery/) | 62 days | 261 surgeries | 0.0% |
| [Herniorrhaphy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/muswellbrook-hospital/hernia-repair/) | 75 days | 18 surgeries | not published |
| [Carpal tunnel release](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/muswellbrook-hospital/carpal-tunnel-surgery/) | not published | 8 surgeries | not published |
| [Cerebral haematoma - evacuation of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/muswellbrook-hospital/cerebral-haematoma-evacuation-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Circumcision](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/muswellbrook-hospital/circumcision/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Cystoscopy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/muswellbrook-hospital/cystoscopy/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Dermoid cyst - removal of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/muswellbrook-hospital/dermoid-cyst-removal-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Diathermy of wart/s](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/muswellbrook-hospital/diathermy-of-wart-s/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Haemorrhoidectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/muswellbrook-hospital/haemorrhoid-surgery/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Laparoscopy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/muswellbrook-hospital/laparoscopy/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Pilonidal sinus surgery](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/muswellbrook-hospital/pilonidal-sinus-surgery/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Toenail surgery](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/muswellbrook-hospital/toenail-surgery/) | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |

**Not reported for this period**

| Surgery | Median wait | Surgeries | Waited more than 365 days |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Bartholin's abscess drainage last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Breast lump - excision and/or biopsy last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Cone biopsy last reported 2017–18 | not reported |  |  |
| Coronary artery bypass grafting last reported 2020–21 | not reported |  |  |
| Curettage and evacuation of uterus last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Dialysis access surgery last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Endometrial ablation last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Epididymal cyst - removal of last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Examination of eye under anaesthesia last reported 2018–19 | not reported |  |  |
| Female sterilisation last reported 2020–21 | not reported |  |  |
| Functional endoscopic sinus surgery last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Ganglion - excision of last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Hydrocele - repair of last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Hysterectomy (abdominal/vaginal/laparoscopic) last reported 2016–17 | not reported |  |  |
| Large loop excision of the transformation zone cervix (LLETZ) last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Mastectomy last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Salpingo-oophorectomy/oophorectomy/ovarian cystectomy last reported 2020–21 | not reported |  |  |
| Tendon release last reported 2018–19 | not reported |  |  |
| Trigger finger/thumb release last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Vaginal repair - anterior/posterior last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Varicose veins treatment last reported 2018–19 | not reported |  |  |
| Vitrectomy (including buckling/cryotherapy) last reported 2017–18 | not reported |  |  |

## Urgency categories

Urgency figures cover all planned surgery at the hospital, not one procedure. They are never combined with the procedure figures. Your treating specialist assigns your urgency category — it is not something you choose. [What the categories mean, and how every hospital compares.](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/)

All planned surgery at Muswellbrook Hospital by urgency category, 2024–25.

| Urgency category | Median wait | Treated within the recommended time | Surgeries |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [Urgent](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/category-1/nsw/) | 13 days | 99% | 97 surgeries |
| [Semi-urgent](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/category-2/nsw/) | 54 days | 100% | 236 surgeries |
| [Non-urgent](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/category-3/nsw/) | 74 days | 100% | 167 surgeries |

**Cite this page**

> In 2024–25, Muswellbrook Hospital published median planned-surgery waits from 17 days for dilatation and curettage to 75 days for hernia repair (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026).

### Copy-ready citation

```
Surgery Waits, "Muswellbrook Hospital wait times and waiting list", 2024–25 data released 28 May 2026, https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/muswellbrook-hospital/, accessed 28 May 2026.
```

Attribution: Surgery Waits ([https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/muswellbrook-hospital/](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/muswellbrook-hospital/)), from Australian Institute of Health and Welfare MyHospitals data, CC BY 3.0 AU. Reference period 2024–25, released 28 May 2026.

## What is not here

Public hospitals only. Private hospitals do not report to this collection, so their waiting times cannot be compared here.

[How these figures are put together](https://surgerywaits.au/methodology/) · [All surgery waits in New South Wales](https://surgerywaits.au/state/nsw/) · [All hospitals](https://surgerywaits.au/hospitals/)

## Before you use these figures

Surgery Waits is not medical advice. It republishes official statistics about waiting times that have already happened, and it does not recommend any hospital, doctor or treatment. Your general practitioner (GP) and your treating specialist are the right people to help you decide what is appropriate for you.

**In an emergency call 000.**

Waiting-time figures: Australian Institute of Health and Welfare MyHospitals, licensed under [CC BY 3.0 AU](https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/au/). Quarterly state figures: Queensland Health. Suburb and locality data: Australian Bureau of Statistics. Both licensed under [CC BY 4.0](https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/). Surgery Waits is not connected with any of these organisations.

Surgery Waits is published by [National Digital](https://nationaldigital.com.au/).

* * *

This is the Markdown copy of https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/muswellbrook-hospital/.
