---
title: "Murwillumbah District Hospital surgery waiting times"
description: "Planned surgery waiting times and waiting list at Murwillumbah District Hospital, a public hospital in the South Murwillumbah area of New South Wales, for 2024–25."
url: "https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/murwillumbah-district-hospital/"
---

# Murwillumbah District Hospital surgery waiting times

In 2024–25, this public hospital in the South Murwillumbah area of New South Wales published median waits from **27 days** for bladder scope (cystoscopy) to **275 days** for pterygium (eye growth) removal.

Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.

Murwillumbah District Hospital is a public hospital in the South Murwillumbah area of New South Wales. It is part of [Northern NSW](https://surgerywaits.au/health-service/northern-nsw/). It reported 28 surgery types to the national planned-surgery collection for 2024–25. 58 surgery types were last reported in an earlier period; they are listed below, with the period the source last carried them.

**[Compare this near you →](https://surgerywaits.au/)** On the compare page, pick a surgery and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.

## Waiting times by surgery

Shortest median wait first. A surgery the source did not publish a figure for is listed after those, and a surgery it did not report at all this period is listed last. Neither is ranked, and neither shows an older figure in place of a current one.

Planned surgery at Murwillumbah District Hospital, 2024–25. Every figure was released on 2026-05-28.

| Surgery | Median wait | Surgeries | Waited more than 365 days |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [Cystoscopy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/murwillumbah-district-hospital/cystoscopy/) | 27 days | 142 surgeries | 1.4% |
| [Prostate biopsy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/murwillumbah-district-hospital/prostate-biopsy/) | 35 days | 67 surgeries | 0.0% |
| [Skin lesion - excision of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/murwillumbah-district-hospital/skin-lesion-removal/) | 40 days | 118 surgeries | 0.8% |
| [Lithotripsy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/murwillumbah-district-hospital/lithotripsy/) | 45 days | 18 surgeries | not published |
| [Herniorrhaphy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/murwillumbah-district-hospital/hernia-repair/) | 52 days | 13 surgeries | not published |
| [Inguinal herniotomy/herniorrhaphy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/murwillumbah-district-hospital/inguinal-hernia-repair/) | 85 days | 12 surgeries | not published |
| [Tonsillectomy (with or without adenoidectomy)](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/murwillumbah-district-hospital/tonsillectomy/) | 99 days | 27 surgeries | not published |
| [Functional endoscopic sinus surgery](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/murwillumbah-district-hospital/functional-endoscopic-sinus-surgery/) | 111 days | 11 surgeries | not published |
| [Cataract extraction (with or without intra-ocular lens insertion)](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/murwillumbah-district-hospital/cataract-surgery/) | 138 days | 642 surgeries | 11.8% |
| [Septoplasty](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/murwillumbah-district-hospital/septoplasty/) | 179 days | 29 surgeries | not published |
| [Pterygium - excision of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/murwillumbah-district-hospital/pterygium-excision-of/) | 275 days | 16 surgeries | not published |
| [Adenoidectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/murwillumbah-district-hospital/adenoidectomy/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Anal fissure - repair of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/murwillumbah-district-hospital/anal-fissure-repair-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Breast lump - excision and/or biopsy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/murwillumbah-district-hospital/breast-lump-removal/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Circumcision](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/murwillumbah-district-hospital/circumcision/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Epididymal cyst - removal of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/murwillumbah-district-hospital/epididymal-cyst-removal-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Exostosis - excision of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/murwillumbah-district-hospital/exostosis-excision-of/) | not published | 8 surgeries | not published |
| [Haemorrhoidectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/murwillumbah-district-hospital/haemorrhoid-surgery/) | not published | 7 surgeries | not published |
| [Hydrocele - repair of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/murwillumbah-district-hospital/hydrocele-repair-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Lingual or maxillary frenulum surgery](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/murwillumbah-district-hospital/lingual-or-maxillary-frenulum-surgery/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Myringoplasty/tympanoplasty](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/murwillumbah-district-hospital/eardrum-repair/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Myringotomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/murwillumbah-district-hospital/myringotomy/) | not published | 9 surgeries | not published |
| [Pressure equalising tubes (grommets) - insertion of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/murwillumbah-district-hospital/grommets/) | not published | 9 surgeries | not published |
| [Scar revision](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/murwillumbah-district-hospital/scar-revision/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Stone/s urinary tract - removal of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/murwillumbah-district-hospital/stone-s-urinary-tract-removal-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Turbinectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/murwillumbah-district-hospital/turbinectomy/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Ureteric stent - insertion of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/murwillumbah-district-hospital/ureteric-stent-insertion-of/) | not published | 7 surgeries | not published |
| [Urethra - dilatation of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/murwillumbah-district-hospital/urethra-dilatation-of/) | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |

**Not reported for this period**

| Surgery | Median wait | Surgeries | Waited more than 365 days |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Acromioplasty/arthroscopy shoulder/sub acromial decompression last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Anterior cruciate ligament reconstruction last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Arthrodesis last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Arthroscopy last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Bartholin's abscess drainage last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Bladder neck incision last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Blepharoplasty last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Bunion (hallux valgus) - removal of last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Carpal tunnel release last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Cholecystectomy (open/laparoscopic) last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Colectomy/anterior resection/large bowel resection last reported 2016–17 | not reported |  |  |
| Cone biopsy last reported 2017–18 | not reported |  |  |
| Curettage and evacuation of uterus last reported 2018–19 | not reported |  |  |
| Cystectomy last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Diathermy of wart/s last reported 2020–21 | not reported |  |  |
| Dupytren's contracture release last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Ectropion - correction of last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Endometrial ablation last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Examination of eye under anaesthesia last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Female sterilisation last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Fracture non-union - treatment of last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Ganglion - excision of last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Hammer/claw/mallet toe - correction of last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Hysterectomy (abdominal/vaginal/laparoscopic) last reported 2018–19 | not reported |  |  |
| Hysteroscopy, dilatation and curettage last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Laparoscopy last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Large loop excision of the transformation zone cervix (LLETZ) last reported 2020–21 | not reported |  |  |
| Mastectomy last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Meniscectomy last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Microlaryngoscopy last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Myringotomy (without insertion of grommets) last reported 2016–17 | not reported |  |  |
| Nasal cautery last reported 2020–21 | not reported |  |  |
| Nasal polypectomy last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Nasendoscopy last reported 2017–18 | not reported |  |  |
| Nerve decompression last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Orchidectomy last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Orchidopexy last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Osteotomy last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Parotidectomy/submandibular gland - excision of last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Pharynx - excision of last reported 2016–17 | not reported |  |  |
| Pilonidal sinus surgery last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Prostatectomy (transurethral or open) last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Ptosis - repair of last reported 2020–21 | not reported |  |  |
| Rotator cuff - repair of last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Salpingo-oophorectomy/oophorectomy/ovarian cystectomy last reported 2019–20 | not reported |  |  |
| Shoulder joint replacement last reported 2019–20 | not reported |  |  |
| Shoulder reconstruction last reported 2016–17 | not reported |  |  |
| Stapedectomy last reported 2020–21 | not reported |  |  |
| Stress incontinence surgery last reported 2017–18 | not reported |  |  |
| Tendon release last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Toenail surgery last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Total hip replacement last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Total knee replacement last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Trabeculectomy last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Trigger finger/thumb release last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Vaginal repair - anterior/posterior last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Varicose veins treatment last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Vitrectomy (including buckling/cryotherapy) last reported 2019–20 | not reported |  |  |

## Urgency categories

Urgency figures cover all planned surgery at the hospital, not one procedure. They are never combined with the procedure figures. Your treating specialist assigns your urgency category — it is not something you choose. [What the categories mean, and how every hospital compares.](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/)

All planned surgery at Murwillumbah District Hospital by urgency category, 2024–25.

| Urgency category | Median wait | Treated within the recommended time | Surgeries |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [Urgent](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/category-1/nsw/) | 17 days | 95% | 63 surgeries |
| [Semi-urgent](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/category-2/nsw/) | 52 days | 88% | 661 surgeries |
| [Non-urgent](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/category-3/nsw/) | 307 days | 82% | 502 surgeries |

**Cite this page**

> In 2024–25, Murwillumbah District Hospital published median planned-surgery waits from 27 days for bladder scope (cystoscopy) to 275 days for pterygium (eye growth) removal (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026).

### Copy-ready citation

```
Surgery Waits, "Murwillumbah District Hospital waiting list", 2024–25 data released 28 May 2026, https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/murwillumbah-district-hospital/, accessed 28 May 2026.
```

Attribution: Surgery Waits ([https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/murwillumbah-district-hospital/](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/murwillumbah-district-hospital/)), from Australian Institute of Health and Welfare MyHospitals data, CC BY 3.0 AU. Reference period 2024–25, released 28 May 2026.

## What is not here

Public hospitals only. Private hospitals do not report to this collection, so their waiting times cannot be compared here.

[How these figures are put together](https://surgerywaits.au/methodology/) · [All surgery waits in New South Wales](https://surgerywaits.au/state/nsw/) · [All hospitals](https://surgerywaits.au/hospitals/)

## Before you use these figures

Surgery Waits is not medical advice. It republishes official statistics about waiting times that have already happened, and it does not recommend any hospital, doctor or treatment. Your general practitioner (GP) and your treating specialist are the right people to help you decide what is appropriate for you.

**In an emergency call 000.**

Waiting-time figures: Australian Institute of Health and Welfare MyHospitals, licensed under [CC BY 3.0 AU](https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/au/). Quarterly state figures: Queensland Health. Suburb and locality data: Australian Bureau of Statistics. Both licensed under [CC BY 4.0](https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/). Surgery Waits is not connected with any of these organisations.

Surgery Waits is published by [National Digital](https://nationaldigital.com.au/).

* * *

This is the Markdown copy of https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/murwillumbah-district-hospital/.
