---
title: "Mount Gambier and Districts Health Service surgery waiting times"
description: "Planned surgery waiting times and waiting list at Mount Gambier and Districts Health Service, a public hospital in the Mount Gambier area of South Australia, for 2024–25."
url: "https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/mount-gambier-and-districts-health-service/"
---

# Mount Gambier and Districts Health Service surgery waiting times

In 2024–25, this public hospital in the Mount Gambier area of South Australia published median waits from **12 days** for large bowel surgery (colectomy) to **240 days** for pterygium (eye growth) removal.

Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.

Mount Gambier and Districts Health Service is a public hospital in the Mount Gambier area of South Australia. It is part of [Limestone Coast](https://surgerywaits.au/health-service/limestone-coast/). It reported 42 surgery types to the national planned-surgery collection for 2024–25. 49 surgery types were last reported in an earlier period; they are listed below, with the period the source last carried them.

**[Compare this near you →](https://surgerywaits.au/)** On the compare page, pick a surgery and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.

## Waiting times by surgery

Shortest median wait first. A surgery the source did not publish a figure for is listed after those, and a surgery it did not report at all this period is listed last. Neither is ranked, and neither shows an older figure in place of a current one.

Planned surgery at Mount Gambier and Districts Health Service, 2024–25. Every figure was released on 2026-05-28.

| Surgery | Median wait | Surgeries | Waited more than 365 days |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [Colectomy/anterior resection/large bowel resection](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/mount-gambier-and-districts-health-service/colectomy-anterior-resection-large-bowel-resection/) | 12 days | 22 surgeries | not published |
| [Cholecystectomy (open/laparoscopic)](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/mount-gambier-and-districts-health-service/gallbladder-removal/) | 25 days | 61 surgeries | 0.0% |
| [Large loop excision of the transformation zone cervix (LLETZ)](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/mount-gambier-and-districts-health-service/lletz-procedure/) | 25 days | 10 surgeries | not published |
| [Hysteroscopy, dilatation and curettage](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/mount-gambier-and-districts-health-service/dilatation-and-curettage/) | 27 days | 133 surgeries | 0.0% |
| [Carpal tunnel release](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/mount-gambier-and-districts-health-service/carpal-tunnel-surgery/) | 28 days | 26 surgeries | not published |
| [Hydrocele - repair of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/mount-gambier-and-districts-health-service/hydrocele-repair-of/) | 29 days | 19 surgeries | not published |
| [Myringotomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/mount-gambier-and-districts-health-service/myringotomy/) | 29 days | 18 surgeries | not published |
| [Pressure equalising tubes (grommets) - insertion of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/mount-gambier-and-districts-health-service/grommets/) | 29 days | 18 surgeries | not published |
| [Tonsillectomy (with or without adenoidectomy)](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/mount-gambier-and-districts-health-service/tonsillectomy/) | 29 days | 28 surgeries | not published |
| [Arthroscopy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/mount-gambier-and-districts-health-service/arthroscopy/) | 36 days | 54 surgeries | 0.0% |
| [Acromioplasty/arthroscopy shoulder/sub acromial decompression](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/mount-gambier-and-districts-health-service/acromioplasty-arthroscopy-shoulder-sub-acromial-decompression/) | 40 days | 25 surgeries | not published |
| [Inguinal herniotomy/herniorrhaphy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/mount-gambier-and-districts-health-service/inguinal-hernia-repair/) | 41 days | 34 surgeries | not published |
| [Anterior cruciate ligament reconstruction](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/mount-gambier-and-districts-health-service/acl-reconstruction/) | 42 days | 23 surgeries | not published |
| [Septoplasty](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/mount-gambier-and-districts-health-service/septoplasty/) | 44 days | 10 surgeries | not published |
| [Hysterectomy (abdominal/vaginal/laparoscopic)](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/mount-gambier-and-districts-health-service/hysterectomy/) | 48 days | 42 surgeries | not published |
| [Shoulder joint replacement](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/mount-gambier-and-districts-health-service/shoulder-joint-replacement/) | 54 days | 24 surgeries | not published |
| [Laparoscopy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/mount-gambier-and-districts-health-service/laparoscopy/) | 60 days | 57 surgeries | 0.0% |
| [Herniorrhaphy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/mount-gambier-and-districts-health-service/hernia-repair/) | 71 days | 19 surgeries | not published |
| [Total hip replacement](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/mount-gambier-and-districts-health-service/hip-replacement/) | 105 days | 64 surgeries | 1.6% |
| [Cataract extraction (with or without intra-ocular lens insertion)](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/mount-gambier-and-districts-health-service/cataract-surgery/) | 173 days | 810 surgeries | 2.5% |
| [Total knee replacement](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/mount-gambier-and-districts-health-service/knee-replacement/) | 233 days | 72 surgeries | 2.8% |
| [Pterygium - excision of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/mount-gambier-and-districts-health-service/pterygium-excision-of/) | 240 days | 17 surgeries | not published |
| [Adenoidectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/mount-gambier-and-districts-health-service/adenoidectomy/) | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| [Bartholin's cyst - removal of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/mount-gambier-and-districts-health-service/bartholins-cyst-removal-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Circumcision](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/mount-gambier-and-districts-health-service/circumcision/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Cystoscopy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/mount-gambier-and-districts-health-service/cystoscopy/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Diathermy of wart/s](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/mount-gambier-and-districts-health-service/diathermy-of-wart-s/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Dupytren's contracture release](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/mount-gambier-and-districts-health-service/dupuytrens-contracture-surgery/) | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| [Female sterilisation](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/mount-gambier-and-districts-health-service/female-sterilisation/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Functional endoscopic sinus surgery](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/mount-gambier-and-districts-health-service/functional-endoscopic-sinus-surgery/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Fundoplication](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/mount-gambier-and-districts-health-service/fundoplication/) | not published | 6 surgeries | not published |
| [Haemorrhoidectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/mount-gambier-and-districts-health-service/haemorrhoid-surgery/) | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| [Meniscectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/mount-gambier-and-districts-health-service/meniscectomy/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Osteotomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/mount-gambier-and-districts-health-service/osteotomy/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Rotator cuff - repair of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/mount-gambier-and-districts-health-service/rotator-cuff-repair/) | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| [Salpingo-oophorectomy/oophorectomy/ovarian cystectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/mount-gambier-and-districts-health-service/salpingo-oophorectomy-oophorectomy-ovarian-cystectomy/) | not published | 8 surgeries | not published |
| [Shoulder reconstruction](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/mount-gambier-and-districts-health-service/shoulder-reconstruction/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Tendon release](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/mount-gambier-and-districts-health-service/tendon-release/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Toenail surgery](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/mount-gambier-and-districts-health-service/toenail-surgery/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Trabeculectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/mount-gambier-and-districts-health-service/trabeculectomy/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Trigger finger/thumb release](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/mount-gambier-and-districts-health-service/trigger-finger-release/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Vaginal repair - anterior/posterior](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/mount-gambier-and-districts-health-service/prolapse-repair/) | not published | 9 surgeries | not published |

**Not reported for this period**

| Surgery | Median wait | Surgeries | Waited more than 365 days |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Amputation of limb last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Anal fissure - repair of last reported 2020–21 | not reported |  |  |
| Arthrodesis last reported 2017–18 | not reported |  |  |
| Arthroplasty - revision of last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Bartholin's abscess drainage last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Bladder neck incision last reported 2020–21 | not reported |  |  |
| Blepharoplasty last reported 2016–17 | not reported |  |  |
| Breast lump - excision and/or biopsy last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Bunion (hallux valgus) - removal of last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Chalazion - excision of last reported 2018–19 | not reported |  |  |
| Cleft lip and palate - repair of last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Cone biopsy last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Curettage and evacuation of uterus last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Cystectomy last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Dermoid cyst - removal of last reported 2018–19 | not reported |  |  |
| Ectropion - correction of last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Endometrial ablation last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Epididymal cyst - removal of last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Examination of eye under anaesthesia last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Exostosis - excision of last reported 2018–19 | not reported |  |  |
| Fracture non-union - treatment of last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Ganglion - excision of last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Hammer/claw/mallet toe - correction of last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Microlaryngoscopy last reported 2019–20 | not reported |  |  |
| Muscle or tendon length - change of last reported 2019–20 | not reported |  |  |
| Myomectomy last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Myringoplasty/tympanoplasty last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Myringotomy (without insertion of grommets) last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Nasal cautery last reported 2020–21 | not reported |  |  |
| Nasal polypectomy last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Nasendoscopy last reported 2019–20 | not reported |  |  |
| Nerve decompression last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Orchidectomy last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Orchidopexy last reported 2017–18 | not reported |  |  |
| Pilonidal sinus surgery last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Probing of naso-lacrimal duct last reported 2019–20 | not reported |  |  |
| Procedure for strabismus (squint repair) last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Prostate biopsy last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Prostatectomy (transurethral or open) last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Pyeloplasty/correction of ureteropelvic junction last reported 2020–21 | not reported |  |  |
| Scar revision last reported 2017–18 | not reported |  |  |
| Skin lesion - excision of last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Stapedectomy last reported 2020–21 | not reported |  |  |
| Stress incontinence surgery last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Thyroidectomy/hemi-thyroidectomy last reported 2018–19 | not reported |  |  |
| Turbinectomy last reported 2019–20 | not reported |  |  |
| Ureteric stent - insertion of last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Urethra - dilatation of last reported 2019–20 | not reported |  |  |
| Varicose veins treatment last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |

## Urgency categories

Urgency figures cover all planned surgery at the hospital, not one procedure. They are never combined with the procedure figures. Your treating specialist assigns your urgency category — it is not something you choose. [What the categories mean, and how every hospital compares.](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/)

All planned surgery at Mount Gambier and Districts Health Service by urgency category, 2024–25.

| Urgency category | Median wait | Treated within the recommended time | Surgeries |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [Urgent](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/category-1/sa/) | 9 days | 92% | 396 surgeries |
| [Semi-urgent](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/category-2/sa/) | 38 days | 86% | 811 surgeries |
| [Non-urgent](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/category-3/sa/) | 216 days | 97% | 996 surgeries |

**Cite this page**

> In 2024–25, Mount Gambier and Districts Health Service published median planned-surgery waits from 12 days for large bowel surgery (colectomy) to 240 days for pterygium (eye growth) removal (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026).

### Copy-ready citation

```
Surgery Waits, "Mount Gambier and Districts Health Service waiting list", 2024–25 data released 28 May 2026, https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/mount-gambier-and-districts-health-service/, accessed 28 May 2026.
```

Attribution: Surgery Waits ([https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/mount-gambier-and-districts-health-service/](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/mount-gambier-and-districts-health-service/)), from Australian Institute of Health and Welfare MyHospitals data, CC BY 3.0 AU. Reference period 2024–25, released 28 May 2026.

## What is not here

Public hospitals only. Private hospitals do not report to this collection, so their waiting times cannot be compared here.

[How these figures are put together](https://surgerywaits.au/methodology/) · [All surgery waits in South Australia](https://surgerywaits.au/state/sa/) · [All hospitals](https://surgerywaits.au/hospitals/)

## Before you use these figures

Surgery Waits is not medical advice. It republishes official statistics about waiting times that have already happened, and it does not recommend any hospital, doctor or treatment. Your general practitioner (GP) and your treating specialist are the right people to help you decide what is appropriate for you.

**In an emergency call 000.**

Waiting-time figures: Australian Institute of Health and Welfare MyHospitals, licensed under [CC BY 3.0 AU](https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/au/). Quarterly state figures: Queensland Health. Suburb and locality data: Australian Bureau of Statistics. Both licensed under [CC BY 4.0](https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/). Surgery Waits is not connected with any of these organisations.

Surgery Waits is published by [National Digital](https://nationaldigital.com.au/).

* * *

This is the Markdown copy of https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/mount-gambier-and-districts-health-service/.
