---
title: "Merredin Hospital surgery waiting times"
description: "Planned surgery waiting times and waiting list at Merredin Hospital, a public hospital in the Merredin area of Western Australia, for 2024–25."
url: "https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/merredin-hospital/"
---

# Merredin Hospital surgery waiting times

Public hospital in the Merredin area of Western Australia.

Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.

Merredin Hospital is a public hospital in the Merredin area of Western Australia. It is part of [WA Country Health Service](https://surgerywaits.au/health-service/wa-country-health-service/). It reported 13 surgery types to the national planned-surgery collection for 2024–25. 10 surgery types were last reported in an earlier period; they are listed below, with the period the source last carried them.

**[Compare this near you →](https://surgerywaits.au/)** On the compare page, pick a surgery and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.

## Waiting times by surgery

Shortest median wait first. A surgery the source did not publish a figure for is listed after those, and a surgery it did not report at all this period is listed last. Neither is ranked, and neither shows an older figure in place of a current one.

Planned surgery at Merredin Hospital, 2024–25. Every figure was released on 2026-05-28.

| Surgery | Median wait | Surgeries | Waited more than 365 days |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [Skin lesion - excision of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/merredin-hospital/skin-lesion-removal/) | 43 days | 32 surgeries | not published |
| [Arthroscopy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/merredin-hospital/arthroscopy/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Breast lump - excision and/or biopsy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/merredin-hospital/breast-lump-removal/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Carpal tunnel release](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/merredin-hospital/carpal-tunnel-surgery/) | not published | 7 surgeries | not published |
| [Curettage and evacuation of uterus](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/merredin-hospital/curettage-and-evacuation-of-uterus/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Diathermy of wart/s](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/merredin-hospital/diathermy-of-wart-s/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Dupytren's contracture release](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/merredin-hospital/dupuytrens-contracture-surgery/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Ganglion - excision of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/merredin-hospital/ganglion-excision-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Meniscectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/merredin-hospital/meniscectomy/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Nerve decompression](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/merredin-hospital/nerve-decompression/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Scar revision](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/merredin-hospital/scar-revision/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Toenail surgery](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/merredin-hospital/toenail-surgery/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Trigger finger/thumb release](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/merredin-hospital/trigger-finger-release/) | not published | not published | not published |

**Not reported for this period**

| Surgery | Median wait | Surgeries | Waited more than 365 days |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Cataract extraction (with or without intra-ocular lens insertion) last reported 2017–18 | not reported |  |  |
| Common peroneal nerve release last reported 2016–17 | not reported |  |  |
| Ectropion - correction of last reported 2016–17 | not reported |  |  |
| Haemorrhoidectomy last reported 2016–17 | not reported |  |  |
| Hammer/claw/mallet toe - correction of last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Herniorrhaphy last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Inguinal herniotomy/herniorrhaphy last reported 2016–17 | not reported |  |  |
| Large loop excision of the transformation zone cervix (LLETZ) last reported 2016–17 | not reported |  |  |
| Muscle biopsy/temporal artery biopsy last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Pterygium - excision of last reported 2017–18 | not reported |  |  |

## Urgency categories

Urgency figures cover all planned surgery at the hospital, not one procedure. They are never combined with the procedure figures. Your treating specialist assigns your urgency category — it is not something you choose. [What the categories mean, and how every hospital compares.](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/)

All planned surgery at Merredin Hospital by urgency category, 2024–25.

| Urgency category | Median wait | Treated within the recommended time | Surgeries |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [Urgent](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/category-1/wa/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Semi-urgent](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/category-2/wa/) | 37 days | 81% | 37 surgeries |
| [Non-urgent](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/category-3/wa/) | 108 days | 96% | 28 surgeries |

**Cite this page**

> In 2024–25, Merredin Hospital published one median planned-surgery wait: 43 days for skin lesion removal (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026).

### Copy-ready citation

```
Surgery Waits, "Merredin Hospital surgery wait times and waiting list", 2024–25 data released 28 May 2026, https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/merredin-hospital/, accessed 28 May 2026.
```

Attribution: Surgery Waits ([https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/merredin-hospital/](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/merredin-hospital/)), from Australian Institute of Health and Welfare MyHospitals data, CC BY 3.0 AU. Reference period 2024–25, released 28 May 2026.

## What is not here

Public hospitals only. Private hospitals do not report to this collection, so their waiting times cannot be compared here.

[How these figures are put together](https://surgerywaits.au/methodology/) · [All surgery waits in Western Australia](https://surgerywaits.au/state/wa/) · [All hospitals](https://surgerywaits.au/hospitals/)

## Before you use these figures

Surgery Waits is not medical advice. It republishes official statistics about waiting times that have already happened, and it does not recommend any hospital, doctor or treatment. Your general practitioner (GP) and your treating specialist are the right people to help you decide what is appropriate for you.

**In an emergency call 000.**

Waiting-time figures: Australian Institute of Health and Welfare MyHospitals, licensed under [CC BY 3.0 AU](https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/au/). Quarterly state figures: Queensland Health. Suburb and locality data: Australian Bureau of Statistics. Both licensed under [CC BY 4.0](https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/). Surgery Waits is not connected with any of these organisations.

Surgery Waits is published by [National Digital](https://nationaldigital.com.au/).

* * *

This is the Markdown copy of https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/merredin-hospital/.
