---
title: "Mater Mothers' Hospital surgery waiting times"
description: "Planned surgery waiting times and waiting list at Mater Mothers' Hospital, a public hospital in the Dutton Park area of Queensland, for 2024–25."
url: "https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/mater-mothers-hospital/"
---

# Mater Mothers' Hospital surgery waiting times

In 2024–25, this public hospital in the Dutton Park area of Queensland published median waits from **2 days** for curettage and evacuation of uterus to **189 days** for keyhole belly surgery (laparoscopy).

Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.

Mater Mothers' Hospital is a public hospital in the Dutton Park area of Queensland. It reported 13 surgery types to the national planned-surgery collection for 2024–25. 38 surgery types were last reported in an earlier period; they are listed below, with the period the source last carried them.

**[Compare this near you →](https://surgerywaits.au/)** On the compare page, pick a surgery and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.

## Waiting times by surgery

Shortest median wait first. A surgery the source did not publish a figure for is listed after those, and a surgery it did not report at all this period is listed last. Neither is ranked, and neither shows an older figure in place of a current one.

Planned surgery at Mater Mothers' Hospital, 2024–25. Every figure was released on 2026-05-28.

| Surgery | Median wait | Surgeries | Waited more than 365 days |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [Curettage and evacuation of uterus](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/mater-mothers-hospital/curettage-and-evacuation-of-uterus/) | 2 days | 72 surgeries | 0.0% |
| [Hysteroscopy, dilatation and curettage](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/mater-mothers-hospital/dilatation-and-curettage/) | 26 days | 553 surgeries | 0.2% |
| [Large loop excision of the transformation zone cervix (LLETZ)](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/mater-mothers-hospital/lletz-procedure/) | 28 days | 92 surgeries | 0.0% |
| [Salpingo-oophorectomy/oophorectomy/ovarian cystectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/mater-mothers-hospital/salpingo-oophorectomy-oophorectomy-ovarian-cystectomy/) | 54 days | 69 surgeries | 0.0% |
| [Myomectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/mater-mothers-hospital/myomectomy/) | 76 days | 11 surgeries | not published |
| [Hysterectomy (abdominal/vaginal/laparoscopic)](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/mater-mothers-hospital/hysterectomy/) | 125 days | 27 surgeries | not published |
| [Laparoscopy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/mater-mothers-hospital/laparoscopy/) | 189 days | 92 surgeries | 2.2% |
| [Bartholin's cyst - removal of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/mater-mothers-hospital/bartholins-cyst-removal-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Cholecystectomy (open/laparoscopic)](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/mater-mothers-hospital/gallbladder-removal/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Cone biopsy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/mater-mothers-hospital/cone-biopsy/) | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| [Female sterilisation](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/mater-mothers-hospital/female-sterilisation/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Skin lesion - excision of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/mater-mothers-hospital/skin-lesion-removal/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Vaginal repair - anterior/posterior](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/mater-mothers-hospital/prolapse-repair/) | not published | not published | not published |

**Not reported for this period**

| Surgery | Median wait | Surgeries | Waited more than 365 days |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Arthrodesis last reported 2016–17 | not reported |  |  |
| Axillary node dissection last reported 2016–17 | not reported |  |  |
| Bartholin's abscess drainage last reported 2017–18 | not reported |  |  |
| Breast lump - excision and/or biopsy last reported 2016–17 | not reported |  |  |
| Breast prosthesis - removal of last reported 2016–17 | not reported |  |  |
| Breast reconstruction last reported 2016–17 | not reported |  |  |
| Breast reduction last reported 2016–17 | not reported |  |  |
| Cataract extraction (with or without intra-ocular lens insertion) last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Cervical discectomy and fusion last reported 2016–17 | not reported |  |  |
| Circumcision last reported 2016–17 | not reported |  |  |
| Cystoscopy last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Dialysis access surgery last reported 2016–17 | not reported |  |  |
| Diathermy of wart/s last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Discectomy last reported 2016–17 | not reported |  |  |
| Ectropion - correction of last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Endometrial ablation last reported 2018–19 | not reported |  |  |
| Exostosis - excision of last reported 2016–17 | not reported |  |  |
| Fracture non-union - treatment of last reported 2016–17 | not reported |  |  |
| Functional endoscopic sinus surgery last reported 2016–17 | not reported |  |  |
| Herniorrhaphy last reported 2016–17 | not reported |  |  |
| Inguinal herniotomy/herniorrhaphy last reported 2016–17 | not reported |  |  |
| Lingual or maxillary frenulum surgery last reported 2019–20 | not reported |  |  |
| Nephrectomy last reported 2016–17 | not reported |  |  |
| Orchidectomy last reported 2017–18 | not reported |  |  |
| Osteotomy last reported 2016–17 | not reported |  |  |
| Pedicle screw fusion last reported 2016–17 | not reported |  |  |
| Prostatectomy (transurethral or open) last reported 2016–17 | not reported |  |  |
| Pyeloplasty/correction of ureteropelvic junction last reported 2016–17 | not reported |  |  |
| Pyogenic granuloma - removal of last reported 2016–17 | not reported |  |  |
| Scar revision last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Septoplasty last reported 2016–17 | not reported |  |  |
| Stress incontinence surgery last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Thyroidectomy/hemi-thyroidectomy last reported 2016–17 | not reported |  |  |
| Tonsillectomy (with or without adenoidectomy) last reported 2016–17 | not reported |  |  |
| Total hip replacement last reported 2016–17 | not reported |  |  |
| Total knee replacement last reported 2016–17 | not reported |  |  |
| Trigger finger/thumb release last reported 2016–17 | not reported |  |  |
| Vitrectomy (including buckling/cryotherapy) last reported 2019–20 | not reported |  |  |

## Urgency categories

Urgency figures cover all planned surgery at the hospital, not one procedure. They are never combined with the procedure figures. Your treating specialist assigns your urgency category — it is not something you choose. [What the categories mean, and how every hospital compares.](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/)

All planned surgery at Mater Mothers' Hospital by urgency category, 2024–25.

| Urgency category | Median wait | Treated within the recommended time | Surgeries |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [Urgent](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/category-1/qld/) | 9 days | 99% | 345 surgeries |
| [Semi-urgent](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/category-2/qld/) | 40 days | 100% | 608 surgeries |
| [Non-urgent](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/category-3/qld/) | 204 days | 97% | 382 surgeries |

## Queensland's own quarterly figures

Queensland Health publishes its own figures every three months. They count differently from the national figures above and are never combined with them. This quarter ends after the national reporting period, so it is the more recent of the two.

These figures count patients, not surgeries, and they are a snapshot of one quarter. The table above covers a whole financial year. Comparing a number from one table with a number from the other does not tell you anything.

Covers July to September 2025, published by Queensland Health on 28 October 2025. Reported as Mater Mothers'.

Planned surgery at Mater Mothers' Hospital by urgency category, July to September 2025.

| Group | Patients treated | Treated within the recommended time | Still waiting at the end of the quarter | Waiting longer than recommended |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| All planned surgery at this hospital | 381 patients | 97.6% | 0 patients | 0 patients |
| Category 1 — urgent (recommended within 30 days) | 88 patients | 100.0% | 0 patients | 0 patients |
| Category 2 — semi-urgent (recommended within 90 days) | 180 patients | 99.4% | 0 patients | 0 patients |
| Category 3 — non-urgent (recommended within 365 days) | 113 patients | 92.9% | 0 patients | 0 patients |

### By surgical specialty

Queensland reports by surgical specialty, not by procedure. A specialty covers many different operations, so a specialty figure is never a figure for any one of them.

Planned surgery at Mater Mothers' Hospital by surgical specialty, July to September 2025.

| Group | Patients treated | Treated within the recommended time | Still waiting at the end of the quarter | Waiting longer than recommended |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Gynaecology | 381 patients | 97.6% | 0 patients | 0 patients |

**Cite this page**

> In 2024–25, Mater Mothers' Hospital published median planned-surgery waits from 2 days for curettage and evacuation of uterus to 189 days for keyhole belly surgery (laparoscopy) (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026).

### Copy-ready citation

```
Surgery Waits, "Mater Mothers' Hospital wait times and waiting list", 2024–25 data released 28 May 2026, https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/mater-mothers-hospital/, accessed 28 May 2026.
```

Attribution: Surgery Waits ([https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/mater-mothers-hospital/](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/mater-mothers-hospital/)), from Australian Institute of Health and Welfare MyHospitals data, CC BY 3.0 AU. Reference period 2024–25, released 28 May 2026.

## What is not here

Public hospitals only. Private hospitals do not report to this collection, so their waiting times cannot be compared here.

[How these figures are put together](https://surgerywaits.au/methodology/) · [All surgery waits in Queensland](https://surgerywaits.au/state/qld/) · [All hospitals](https://surgerywaits.au/hospitals/)

## Before you use these figures

Surgery Waits is not medical advice. It republishes official statistics about waiting times that have already happened, and it does not recommend any hospital, doctor or treatment. Your general practitioner (GP) and your treating specialist are the right people to help you decide what is appropriate for you.

**In an emergency call 000.**

Waiting-time figures: Australian Institute of Health and Welfare MyHospitals, licensed under [CC BY 3.0 AU](https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/au/). Quarterly state figures: Queensland Health. Suburb and locality data: Australian Bureau of Statistics. Both licensed under [CC BY 4.0](https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/). Surgery Waits is not connected with any of these organisations.

Surgery Waits is published by [National Digital](https://nationaldigital.com.au/).

* * *

This is the Markdown copy of https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/mater-mothers-hospital/.
