---
title: "Maryborough Hospital surgery waiting times"
description: "Planned surgery waiting times and waiting list at Maryborough Hospital, a public hospital in the Maryborough area of Queensland, for 2024–25."
url: "https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/maryborough-hospital/"
---

# Maryborough Hospital surgery waiting times

In 2024–25, this public hospital in the Maryborough area of Queensland published median waits from **25 days** for skin lesion removal to **331 days** for hernia repair.

Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.

Maryborough Hospital is a public hospital in the Maryborough area of Queensland. It is part of [Wide Bay](https://surgerywaits.au/health-service/wide-bay/). It reported 35 surgery types to the national planned-surgery collection for 2024–25. 24 surgery types were last reported in an earlier period; they are listed below, with the period the source last carried them.

**[Compare this near you →](https://surgerywaits.au/)** On the compare page, pick a surgery and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.

## Waiting times by surgery

Shortest median wait first. A surgery the source did not publish a figure for is listed after those, and a surgery it did not report at all this period is listed last. Neither is ranked, and neither shows an older figure in place of a current one.

Planned surgery at Maryborough Hospital, 2024–25. Every figure was released on 2026-05-28.

| Surgery | Median wait | Surgeries | Waited more than 365 days |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [Skin lesion - excision of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/maryborough-hospital/skin-lesion-removal/) | 25 days | 393 surgeries | 0.5% |
| [Hysteroscopy, dilatation and curettage](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/maryborough-hospital/dilatation-and-curettage/) | 27 days | 147 surgeries | 0.0% |
| [Carpal tunnel release](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/maryborough-hospital/carpal-tunnel-surgery/) | 35 days | 62 surgeries | 0.0% |
| [Arthroscopy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/maryborough-hospital/arthroscopy/) | 39 days | 12 surgeries | not published |
| [Circumcision](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/maryborough-hospital/circumcision/) | 41 days | 11 surgeries | not published |
| [Large loop excision of the transformation zone cervix (LLETZ)](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/maryborough-hospital/lletz-procedure/) | 41 days | 28 surgeries | not published |
| [Laparoscopy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/maryborough-hospital/laparoscopy/) | 58 days | 27 surgeries | not published |
| [Inguinal herniotomy/herniorrhaphy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/maryborough-hospital/inguinal-hernia-repair/) | 77 days | 51 surgeries | 5.9% |
| [Cholecystectomy (open/laparoscopic)](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/maryborough-hospital/gallbladder-removal/) | 94 days | 21 surgeries | not published |
| [Total hip replacement](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/maryborough-hospital/hip-replacement/) | 97 days | 15 surgeries | not published |
| [Female sterilisation](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/maryborough-hospital/female-sterilisation/) | 119 days | 24 surgeries | not published |
| [Total knee replacement](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/maryborough-hospital/knee-replacement/) | 158 days | 12 surgeries | not published |
| [Herniorrhaphy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/maryborough-hospital/hernia-repair/) | 331 days | 37 surgeries | not published |
| [Acromioplasty/arthroscopy shoulder/sub acromial decompression](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/maryborough-hospital/acromioplasty-arthroscopy-shoulder-sub-acromial-decompression/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Arthrodesis](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/maryborough-hospital/arthrodesis/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Bartholin's cyst - removal of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/maryborough-hospital/bartholins-cyst-removal-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Breast lump - excision and/or biopsy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/maryborough-hospital/breast-lump-removal/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Common peroneal nerve release](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/maryborough-hospital/common-peroneal-nerve-release/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Cone biopsy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/maryborough-hospital/cone-biopsy/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Dialysis access surgery](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/maryborough-hospital/dialysis-access-surgery/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Dupytren's contracture release](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/maryborough-hospital/dupuytrens-contracture-surgery/) | not published | 8 surgeries | not published |
| [Epididymal cyst - removal of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/maryborough-hospital/epididymal-cyst-removal-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Exostosis - excision of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/maryborough-hospital/exostosis-excision-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Ganglion - excision of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/maryborough-hospital/ganglion-excision-of/) | not published | 6 surgeries | not published |
| [Haemorrhoidectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/maryborough-hospital/haemorrhoid-surgery/) | not published | 6 surgeries | not published |
| [Hydrocele - repair of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/maryborough-hospital/hydrocele-repair-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Mastectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/maryborough-hospital/mastectomy/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Muscle biopsy/temporal artery biopsy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/maryborough-hospital/muscle-biopsy-temporal-artery-biopsy/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Orchidectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/maryborough-hospital/orchidectomy/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Orchidopexy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/maryborough-hospital/orchidopexy/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Rotator cuff - repair of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/maryborough-hospital/rotator-cuff-repair/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Salpingo-oophorectomy/oophorectomy/ovarian cystectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/maryborough-hospital/salpingo-oophorectomy-oophorectomy-ovarian-cystectomy/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Shoulder reconstruction](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/maryborough-hospital/shoulder-reconstruction/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Toenail surgery](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/maryborough-hospital/toenail-surgery/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Trigger finger/thumb release](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/maryborough-hospital/trigger-finger-release/) | not published | not published | not published |

**Not reported for this period**

| Surgery | Median wait | Surgeries | Waited more than 365 days |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Anal fissure - repair of last reported 2019–20 | not reported |  |  |
| Anterior cruciate ligament reconstruction last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Arthroplasty - revision of last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Axillary node dissection last reported 2016–17 | not reported |  |  |
| Bartholin's abscess drainage last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Bunion (hallux valgus) - removal of last reported 2020–21 | not reported |  |  |
| Cystoscopy last reported 2020–21 | not reported |  |  |
| Diathermy of wart/s last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Endometrial ablation last reported 2018–19 | not reported |  |  |
| Fracture non-union - treatment of last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Hammer/claw/mallet toe - correction of last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Lingual or maxillary frenulum surgery last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Meniscectomy last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Muscle or tendon length - change of last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Nerve decompression last reported 2019–20 | not reported |  |  |
| Osteotomy last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Parotidectomy/submandibular gland - excision of last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Pilonidal sinus surgery last reported 2019–20 | not reported |  |  |
| Prostate biopsy last reported 2018–19 | not reported |  |  |
| Scar revision last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Shoulder joint replacement last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Tendon release last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Tonsillectomy (with or without adenoidectomy) last reported 2016–17 | not reported |  |  |
| Varicose veins treatment last reported 2016–17 | not reported |  |  |

## Urgency categories

Urgency figures cover all planned surgery at the hospital, not one procedure. They are never combined with the procedure figures. Your treating specialist assigns your urgency category — it is not something you choose. [What the categories mean, and how every hospital compares.](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/)

All planned surgery at Maryborough Hospital by urgency category, 2024–25.

| Urgency category | Median wait | Treated within the recommended time | Surgeries |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [Urgent](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/category-1/qld/) | 21 days | 93% | 472 surgeries |
| [Semi-urgent](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/category-2/qld/) | 50 days | 95% | 412 surgeries |
| [Non-urgent](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/category-3/qld/) | 227 days | 93% | 162 surgeries |

## Queensland's own quarterly figures

Queensland Health publishes its own figures every three months. They count differently from the national figures above and are never combined with them. This quarter ends after the national reporting period, so it is the more recent of the two.

These figures count patients, not surgeries, and they are a snapshot of one quarter. The table above covers a whole financial year. Comparing a number from one table with a number from the other does not tell you anything.

Covers July to September 2025, published by Queensland Health on 28 October 2025. Reported as Maryborough.

Planned surgery at Maryborough Hospital by urgency category, July to September 2025.

| Group | Patients treated | Treated within the recommended time | Still waiting at the end of the quarter | Waiting longer than recommended |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| All planned surgery at this hospital | 207 patients | 97.1% | 208 patients | 2 patients |
| Category 1 — urgent (recommended within 30 days) | 81 patients | 95.1% | 25 patients | 0 patients |
| Category 2 — semi-urgent (recommended within 90 days) | 78 patients | 98.7% | 61 patients | 1 patient |
| Category 3 — non-urgent (recommended within 365 days) | 48 patients | 97.9% | 122 patients | 1 patient |

### By surgical specialty

Queensland reports by surgical specialty, not by procedure. A specialty covers many different operations, so a specialty figure is never a figure for any one of them.

Planned surgery at Maryborough Hospital by surgical specialty, July to September 2025.

| Group | Patients treated | Treated within the recommended time | Still waiting at the end of the quarter | Waiting longer than recommended |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| General surgery | 103 patients | 95.1% | 72 patients | 0 patients |
| Gynaecology | 59 patients | 100.0% | 79 patients | 2 patients |
| Orthopaedic surgery | 45 patients | 97.8% | 57 patients | 0 patients |

**Cite this page**

> In 2024–25, Maryborough Hospital published median planned-surgery waits from 25 days for skin lesion removal to 331 days for hernia repair (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026).

### Copy-ready citation

```
Surgery Waits, "Maryborough Hospital wait times and waiting list", 2024–25 data released 28 May 2026, https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/maryborough-hospital/, accessed 28 May 2026.
```

Attribution: Surgery Waits ([https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/maryborough-hospital/](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/maryborough-hospital/)), from Australian Institute of Health and Welfare MyHospitals data, CC BY 3.0 AU. Reference period 2024–25, released 28 May 2026.

## What is not here

Public hospitals only. Private hospitals do not report to this collection, so their waiting times cannot be compared here.

[How these figures are put together](https://surgerywaits.au/methodology/) · [All surgery waits in Queensland](https://surgerywaits.au/state/qld/) · [All hospitals](https://surgerywaits.au/hospitals/)

## Before you use these figures

Surgery Waits is not medical advice. It republishes official statistics about waiting times that have already happened, and it does not recommend any hospital, doctor or treatment. Your general practitioner (GP) and your treating specialist are the right people to help you decide what is appropriate for you.

**In an emergency call 000.**

Waiting-time figures: Australian Institute of Health and Welfare MyHospitals, licensed under [CC BY 3.0 AU](https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/au/). Quarterly state figures: Queensland Health. Suburb and locality data: Australian Bureau of Statistics. Both licensed under [CC BY 4.0](https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/). Surgery Waits is not connected with any of these organisations.

Surgery Waits is published by [National Digital](https://nationaldigital.com.au/).

* * *

This is the Markdown copy of https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/maryborough-hospital/.
