---
title: "Macksville District Hospital surgery waiting times"
description: "Planned surgery waiting times and waiting list at Macksville District Hospital, a public hospital in the Macksville area of New South Wales, for 2024–25."
url: "https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/macksville-district-hospital/"
---

# Macksville District Hospital surgery waiting times

In 2024–25, this public hospital in the Macksville area of New South Wales published median waits from **54 days** for dilatation and curettage to **367 days** for out-turned eyelid repair.

Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.

Macksville District Hospital is a public hospital in the Macksville area of New South Wales. It is part of [Mid North Coast](https://surgerywaits.au/health-service/mid-north-coast/). It reported 17 surgery types to the national planned-surgery collection for 2024–25. 32 surgery types were last reported in an earlier period; they are listed below, with the period the source last carried them.

**[Compare this near you →](https://surgerywaits.au/)** On the compare page, pick a surgery and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.

## Waiting times by surgery

Shortest median wait first. A surgery the source did not publish a figure for is listed after those, and a surgery it did not report at all this period is listed last. Neither is ranked, and neither shows an older figure in place of a current one.

Planned surgery at Macksville District Hospital, 2024–25. Every figure was released on 2026-05-28.

| Surgery | Median wait | Surgeries | Waited more than 365 days |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [Hysteroscopy, dilatation and curettage](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/macksville-district-hospital/dilatation-and-curettage/) | 54 days | 26 surgeries | not published |
| [Skin lesion - excision of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/macksville-district-hospital/skin-lesion-removal/) | 62 days | 55 surgeries | 10.9% |
| [Cholecystectomy (open/laparoscopic)](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/macksville-district-hospital/gallbladder-removal/) | 80 days | 33 surgeries | not published |
| [Haemorrhoidectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/macksville-district-hospital/haemorrhoid-surgery/) | 83 days | 13 surgeries | not published |
| [Herniorrhaphy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/macksville-district-hospital/hernia-repair/) | 328 days | 27 surgeries | not published |
| [Ptosis - repair of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/macksville-district-hospital/ptosis-repair-of/) | 333 days | 12 surgeries | not published |
| [Inguinal herniotomy/herniorrhaphy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/macksville-district-hospital/inguinal-hernia-repair/) | 335 days | 43 surgeries | not published |
| [Pterygium - excision of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/macksville-district-hospital/pterygium-excision-of/) | 350 days | 52 surgeries | 36.5% |
| [Cataract extraction (with or without intra-ocular lens insertion)](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/macksville-district-hospital/cataract-surgery/) | 366 days | 1443 surgeries | 50.1% |
| [Ectropion - correction of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/macksville-district-hospital/ectropion-correction-of/) | 367 days | 19 surgeries | not published |
| [Cystectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/macksville-district-hospital/cystectomy/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Endometrial ablation](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/macksville-district-hospital/endometrial-ablation/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Female sterilisation](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/macksville-district-hospital/female-sterilisation/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Hydrocele - repair of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/macksville-district-hospital/hydrocele-repair-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Laparoscopy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/macksville-district-hospital/laparoscopy/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Salpingo-oophorectomy/oophorectomy/ovarian cystectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/macksville-district-hospital/salpingo-oophorectomy-oophorectomy-ovarian-cystectomy/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Trabeculectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/macksville-district-hospital/trabeculectomy/) | not published | not published | not published |

**Not reported for this period**

| Surgery | Median wait | Surgeries | Waited more than 365 days |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Anal fissure - repair of last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Arthrodesis last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Arthroscopy last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Bartholin's abscess drainage last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Blepharoplasty last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Breast lump - excision and/or biopsy last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Carpal tunnel release last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Circumcision last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Colectomy/anterior resection/large bowel resection last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Cone biopsy last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Curettage and evacuation of uterus last reported 2020–21 | not reported |  |  |
| Cystoscopy last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Diathermy of wart/s last reported 2020–21 | not reported |  |  |
| Dupytren's contracture release last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Epididymal cyst - removal of last reported 2018–19 | not reported |  |  |
| Examination of eye under anaesthesia last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Fracture non-union - treatment of last reported 2018–19 | not reported |  |  |
| Ganglion - excision of last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Hammer/claw/mallet toe - correction of last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Hysterectomy (abdominal/vaginal/laparoscopic) last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Large loop excision of the transformation zone cervix (LLETZ) last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Lingual or maxillary frenulum surgery last reported 2017–18 | not reported |  |  |
| Orchidectomy last reported 2018–19 | not reported |  |  |
| Osteotomy last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Pilonidal sinus surgery last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Scar revision last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Toenail surgery last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Total knee replacement last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Trigger finger/thumb release last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Vaginal repair - anterior/posterior last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Varicose veins treatment last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Vitrectomy (including buckling/cryotherapy) last reported 2016–17 | not reported |  |  |

## Urgency categories

Urgency figures cover all planned surgery at the hospital, not one procedure. They are never combined with the procedure figures. Your treating specialist assigns your urgency category — it is not something you choose. [What the categories mean, and how every hospital compares.](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/)

All planned surgery at Macksville District Hospital by urgency category, 2024–25.

| Urgency category | Median wait | Treated within the recommended time | Surgeries |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [Urgent](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/category-1/nsw/) | 21 days | 93% | 14 surgeries |
| [Semi-urgent](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/category-2/nsw/) | 113 days | 33% | 473 surgeries |
| [Non-urgent](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/category-3/nsw/) | 375 days | 37% | 1256 surgeries |

**Cite this page**

> In 2024–25, Macksville District Hospital published median planned-surgery waits from 54 days for dilatation and curettage to 367 days for out-turned eyelid repair (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026).

### Copy-ready citation

```
Surgery Waits, "Macksville District Hospital waiting list", 2024–25 data released 28 May 2026, https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/macksville-district-hospital/, accessed 28 May 2026.
```

Attribution: Surgery Waits ([https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/macksville-district-hospital/](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/macksville-district-hospital/)), from Australian Institute of Health and Welfare MyHospitals data, CC BY 3.0 AU. Reference period 2024–25, released 28 May 2026.

## What is not here

Public hospitals only. Private hospitals do not report to this collection, so their waiting times cannot be compared here.

[How these figures are put together](https://surgerywaits.au/methodology/) · [All surgery waits in New South Wales](https://surgerywaits.au/state/nsw/) · [All hospitals](https://surgerywaits.au/hospitals/)

## Before you use these figures

Surgery Waits is not medical advice. It republishes official statistics about waiting times that have already happened, and it does not recommend any hospital, doctor or treatment. Your general practitioner (GP) and your treating specialist are the right people to help you decide what is appropriate for you.

**In an emergency call 000.**

Waiting-time figures: Australian Institute of Health and Welfare MyHospitals, licensed under [CC BY 3.0 AU](https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/au/). Quarterly state figures: Queensland Health. Suburb and locality data: Australian Bureau of Statistics. Both licensed under [CC BY 4.0](https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/). Surgery Waits is not connected with any of these organisations.

Surgery Waits is published by [National Digital](https://nationaldigital.com.au/).

* * *

This is the Markdown copy of https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/macksville-district-hospital/.
