---
title: "King Edward Memorial Hospital surgery waiting times"
description: "Planned surgery waiting times and waiting list at King Edward Memorial Hospital, a public hospital in the Subiaco area of Western Australia, for 2024–25."
url: "https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/king-edward-memorial-hospital/"
---

# King Edward Memorial Hospital surgery waiting times

In 2024–25, this public hospital in the Subiaco area of Western Australia published median waits from **2 days** for Bartholin's cyst - removal of to **108 days** for prolapse repair.

Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.

King Edward Memorial Hospital is a public hospital in the Subiaco area of Western Australia. It is part of [North Metropolitan Health Service](https://surgerywaits.au/health-service/north-metropolitan-health-service/). It reported 13 surgery types to the national planned-surgery collection for 2024–25. 7 surgery types were last reported in an earlier period; they are listed below, with the period the source last carried them.

**[Compare this near you →](https://surgerywaits.au/)** On the compare page, pick a surgery and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.

## Waiting times by surgery

Shortest median wait first. A surgery the source did not publish a figure for is listed after those, and a surgery it did not report at all this period is listed last. Neither is ranked, and neither shows an older figure in place of a current one.

Planned surgery at King Edward Memorial Hospital, 2024–25. Every figure was released on 2026-05-28.

| Surgery | Median wait | Surgeries | Waited more than 365 days |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [Bartholin's cyst - removal of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/king-edward-memorial-hospital/bartholins-cyst-removal-of/) | 2 days | 60 surgeries | 0.0% |
| [Curettage and evacuation of uterus](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/king-edward-memorial-hospital/curettage-and-evacuation-of-uterus/) | 4 days | 1382 surgeries | 0.1% |
| [Cone biopsy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/king-edward-memorial-hospital/cone-biopsy/) | 25 days | 20 surgeries | not published |
| [Large loop excision of the transformation zone cervix (LLETZ)](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/king-edward-memorial-hospital/lletz-procedure/) | 27 days | 100 surgeries | 0.0% |
| [Hysterectomy (abdominal/vaginal/laparoscopic)](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/king-edward-memorial-hospital/hysterectomy/) | 38 days | 377 surgeries | 1.1% |
| [Laparoscopy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/king-edward-memorial-hospital/laparoscopy/) | 51 days | 112 surgeries | 3.6% |
| [Salpingo-oophorectomy/oophorectomy/ovarian cystectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/king-edward-memorial-hospital/salpingo-oophorectomy-oophorectomy-ovarian-cystectomy/) | 57 days | 163 surgeries | 0.0% |
| [Female sterilisation](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/king-edward-memorial-hospital/female-sterilisation/) | 63 days | 50 surgeries | 2.0% |
| [Stress incontinence surgery](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/king-edward-memorial-hospital/stress-incontinence-surgery/) | 88 days | 24 surgeries | not published |
| [Myomectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/king-edward-memorial-hospital/myomectomy/) | 103 days | 10 surgeries | not published |
| [Vaginal repair - anterior/posterior](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/king-edward-memorial-hospital/prolapse-repair/) | 108 days | 45 surgeries | not published |
| [Bartholin's abscess drainage](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/king-edward-memorial-hospital/bartholins-abscess-drainage/) | not published | 7 surgeries | not published |
| [Endometrial ablation](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/king-edward-memorial-hospital/endometrial-ablation/) | not published | 6 surgeries | not published |

**Not reported for this period**

| Surgery | Median wait | Surgeries | Waited more than 365 days |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Cystoscopy last reported 2020–21 | not reported |  |  |
| Herniorrhaphy last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Hysteroscopy, dilatation and curettage last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Lingual or maxillary frenulum surgery last reported 2018–19 | not reported |  |  |
| Scar revision last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Skin lesion - excision of last reported 2020–21 | not reported |  |  |
| Ureteric stent - insertion of last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |

## Urgency categories

Urgency figures cover all planned surgery at the hospital, not one procedure. They are never combined with the procedure figures. Your treating specialist assigns your urgency category — it is not something you choose. [What the categories mean, and how every hospital compares.](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/)

All planned surgery at King Edward Memorial Hospital by urgency category, 2024–25.

| Urgency category | Median wait | Treated within the recommended time | Surgeries |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [Urgent](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/category-1/wa/) | 4 days | 93% | 1599 surgeries |
| [Semi-urgent](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/category-2/wa/) | 48 days | 87% | 750 surgeries |
| [Non-urgent](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/category-3/wa/) | 115 days | 97% | 525 surgeries |

**Cite this page**

> In 2024–25, King Edward Memorial Hospital published median planned-surgery waits from 2 days for Bartholin's cyst - removal of to 108 days for prolapse repair (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026).

### Copy-ready citation

```
Surgery Waits, "King Edward Memorial Hospital waiting list", 2024–25 data released 28 May 2026, https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/king-edward-memorial-hospital/, accessed 28 May 2026.
```

Attribution: Surgery Waits ([https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/king-edward-memorial-hospital/](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/king-edward-memorial-hospital/)), from Australian Institute of Health and Welfare MyHospitals data, CC BY 3.0 AU. Reference period 2024–25, released 28 May 2026.

## What is not here

Public hospitals only. Private hospitals do not report to this collection, so their waiting times cannot be compared here.

[How these figures are put together](https://surgerywaits.au/methodology/) · [All surgery waits in Western Australia](https://surgerywaits.au/state/wa/) · [All hospitals](https://surgerywaits.au/hospitals/)

## Before you use these figures

Surgery Waits is not medical advice. It republishes official statistics about waiting times that have already happened, and it does not recommend any hospital, doctor or treatment. Your general practitioner (GP) and your treating specialist are the right people to help you decide what is appropriate for you.

**In an emergency call 000.**

Waiting-time figures: Australian Institute of Health and Welfare MyHospitals, licensed under [CC BY 3.0 AU](https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/au/). Quarterly state figures: Queensland Health. Suburb and locality data: Australian Bureau of Statistics. Both licensed under [CC BY 4.0](https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/). Surgery Waits is not connected with any of these organisations.

Surgery Waits is published by [National Digital](https://nationaldigital.com.au/).

* * *

This is the Markdown copy of https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/king-edward-memorial-hospital/.
