---
title: "Kangaroo Island Health Service surgery waiting times"
description: "Planned surgery waiting times and waiting list at Kangaroo Island Health Service, a public hospital in the Kingscote area of South Australia, for 2024–25."
url: "https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/kangaroo-island-health-service/"
---

# Kangaroo Island Health Service surgery waiting times

In 2024–25, this public hospital in the Kingscote area of South Australia published median waits from **15 days** for inguinal hernia repair to **16 days** for bladder scope (cystoscopy).

Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.

Kangaroo Island Health Service is a public hospital in the Kingscote area of South Australia. It is part of [Barossa Hills Fleurieu](https://surgerywaits.au/health-service/barossa-hills-fleurieu/). It reported 14 surgery types to the national planned-surgery collection for 2024–25. 21 surgery types were last reported in an earlier period; they are listed below, with the period the source last carried them.

**[Compare this near you →](https://surgerywaits.au/)** On the compare page, pick a surgery and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.

## Waiting times by surgery

Shortest median wait first. A surgery the source did not publish a figure for is listed after those, and a surgery it did not report at all this period is listed last. Neither is ranked, and neither shows an older figure in place of a current one.

Planned surgery at Kangaroo Island Health Service, 2024–25. Every figure was released on 2026-05-28.

| Surgery | Median wait | Surgeries | Waited more than 365 days |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [Inguinal herniotomy/herniorrhaphy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/kangaroo-island-health-service/inguinal-hernia-repair/) | 15 days | 10 surgeries | not published |
| [Cystoscopy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/kangaroo-island-health-service/cystoscopy/) | 16 days | 17 surgeries | not published |
| [Amputation of limb](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/kangaroo-island-health-service/amputation-of-limb/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Arthroscopy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/kangaroo-island-health-service/arthroscopy/) | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| [Carpal tunnel release](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/kangaroo-island-health-service/carpal-tunnel-surgery/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Cholecystectomy (open/laparoscopic)](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/kangaroo-island-health-service/gallbladder-removal/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Circumcision](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/kangaroo-island-health-service/circumcision/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Female sterilisation](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/kangaroo-island-health-service/female-sterilisation/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Hysteroscopy, dilatation and curettage](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/kangaroo-island-health-service/dilatation-and-curettage/) | not published | 8 surgeries | not published |
| [Large loop excision of the transformation zone cervix (LLETZ)](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/kangaroo-island-health-service/lletz-procedure/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Pilonidal sinus surgery](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/kangaroo-island-health-service/pilonidal-sinus-surgery/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Skin lesion - excision of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/kangaroo-island-health-service/skin-lesion-removal/) | not published | 7 surgeries | not published |
| [Toenail surgery](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/kangaroo-island-health-service/toenail-surgery/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Trigger finger/thumb release](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/kangaroo-island-health-service/trigger-finger-release/) | not published | not published | not published |

**Not reported for this period**

| Surgery | Median wait | Surgeries | Waited more than 365 days |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Acromioplasty/arthroscopy shoulder/sub acromial decompression last reported 2017–18 | not reported |  |  |
| Anal fissure - repair of last reported 2017–18 | not reported |  |  |
| Anterior cruciate ligament reconstruction last reported 2018–19 | not reported |  |  |
| Breast lump - excision and/or biopsy last reported 2016–17 | not reported |  |  |
| Chalazion - excision of last reported 2019–20 | not reported |  |  |
| Curettage and evacuation of uterus last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Cystectomy last reported 2017–18 | not reported |  |  |
| Epididymal cyst - removal of last reported 2017–18 | not reported |  |  |
| Functional endoscopic sinus surgery last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Ganglion - excision of last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Haemorrhoidectomy last reported 2018–19 | not reported |  |  |
| Herniorrhaphy last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Hydrocele - repair of last reported 2019–20 | not reported |  |  |
| Hysterectomy (abdominal/vaginal/laparoscopic) last reported 2020–21 | not reported |  |  |
| Laparoscopy last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Meniscectomy last reported 2016–17 | not reported |  |  |
| Prostatectomy (transurethral or open) last reported 2014–15 | not reported |  |  |
| Repair of obstructing hiatus hernia last reported 2017–18 | not reported |  |  |
| Salpingo-oophorectomy/oophorectomy/ovarian cystectomy last reported 2017–18 | not reported |  |  |
| Tendon release last reported 2020–21 | not reported |  |  |
| Vaginal repair - anterior/posterior last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |

## Urgency categories

Urgency figures cover all planned surgery at the hospital, not one procedure. They are never combined with the procedure figures. Your treating specialist assigns your urgency category — it is not something you choose. [What the categories mean, and how every hospital compares.](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/)

All planned surgery at Kangaroo Island Health Service by urgency category, 2024–25.

| Urgency category | Median wait | Treated within the recommended time | Surgeries |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [Urgent](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/category-1/sa/) | 6 days | 100% | 19 surgeries |
| [Semi-urgent](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/category-2/sa/) | 11 days | 100% | 42 surgeries |
| [Non-urgent](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/category-3/sa/) | 11 days | 100% | 19 surgeries |

**Cite this page**

> In 2024–25, Kangaroo Island Health Service published median planned-surgery waits from 15 days for inguinal hernia repair to 16 days for bladder scope (cystoscopy) (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026).

### Copy-ready citation

```
Surgery Waits, "Kangaroo Island Health Service waiting list", 2024–25 data released 28 May 2026, https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/kangaroo-island-health-service/, accessed 28 May 2026.
```

Attribution: Surgery Waits ([https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/kangaroo-island-health-service/](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/kangaroo-island-health-service/)), from Australian Institute of Health and Welfare MyHospitals data, CC BY 3.0 AU. Reference period 2024–25, released 28 May 2026.

## What is not here

Public hospitals only. Private hospitals do not report to this collection, so their waiting times cannot be compared here.

[How these figures are put together](https://surgerywaits.au/methodology/) · [All surgery waits in South Australia](https://surgerywaits.au/state/sa/) · [All hospitals](https://surgerywaits.au/hospitals/)

## Before you use these figures

Surgery Waits is not medical advice. It republishes official statistics about waiting times that have already happened, and it does not recommend any hospital, doctor or treatment. Your general practitioner (GP) and your treating specialist are the right people to help you decide what is appropriate for you.

**In an emergency call 000.**

Waiting-time figures: Australian Institute of Health and Welfare MyHospitals, licensed under [CC BY 3.0 AU](https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/au/). Quarterly state figures: Queensland Health. Suburb and locality data: Australian Bureau of Statistics. Both licensed under [CC BY 4.0](https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/). Surgery Waits is not connected with any of these organisations.

Surgery Waits is published by [National Digital](https://nationaldigital.com.au/).

* * *

This is the Markdown copy of https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/kangaroo-island-health-service/.
