---
title: "Goulburn Base Hospital surgery waiting times"
description: "Planned surgery waiting times and waiting list at Goulburn Base Hospital, a public hospital in the Goulburn area of New South Wales, for 2024–25."
url: "https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/goulburn-base-hospital/"
---

# Goulburn Base Hospital surgery waiting times

In 2024–25, this public hospital in the Goulburn area of New South Wales published median waits from **2 days** for curettage and evacuation of uterus to **332 days** for knee replacement.

Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.

Goulburn Base Hospital is a public hospital in the Goulburn area of New South Wales. It is part of [Southern NSW](https://surgerywaits.au/health-service/southern-nsw/). It reported 48 surgery types to the national planned-surgery collection for 2024–25. 31 surgery types were last reported in an earlier period; they are listed below, with the period the source last carried them.

**[Compare this near you →](https://surgerywaits.au/)** On the compare page, pick a surgery and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.

## Waiting times by surgery

Shortest median wait first. A surgery the source did not publish a figure for is listed after those, and a surgery it did not report at all this period is listed last. Neither is ranked, and neither shows an older figure in place of a current one.

Planned surgery at Goulburn Base Hospital, 2024–25. Every figure was released on 2026-05-28.

| Surgery | Median wait | Surgeries | Waited more than 365 days |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [Curettage and evacuation of uterus](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/goulburn-base-hospital/curettage-and-evacuation-of-uterus/) | 2 days | 10 surgeries | not published |
| [Breast lump - excision and/or biopsy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/goulburn-base-hospital/breast-lump-removal/) | 14 days | 15 surgeries | not published |
| [Skin lesion - excision of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/goulburn-base-hospital/skin-lesion-removal/) | 27 days | 122 surgeries | 0.0% |
| [Hysteroscopy, dilatation and curettage](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/goulburn-base-hospital/dilatation-and-curettage/) | 31 days | 145 surgeries | 0.0% |
| [Large loop excision of the transformation zone cervix (LLETZ)](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/goulburn-base-hospital/lletz-procedure/) | 42 days | 21 surgeries | not published |
| [Cholecystectomy (open/laparoscopic)](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/goulburn-base-hospital/gallbladder-removal/) | 52 days | 60 surgeries | 0.0% |
| [Haemorrhoidectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/goulburn-base-hospital/haemorrhoid-surgery/) | 58 days | 23 surgeries | not published |
| [Arthroscopy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/goulburn-base-hospital/arthroscopy/) | 79 days | 43 surgeries | not published |
| [Carpal tunnel release](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/goulburn-base-hospital/carpal-tunnel-surgery/) | 112 days | 54 surgeries | 0.0% |
| [Inguinal herniotomy/herniorrhaphy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/goulburn-base-hospital/inguinal-hernia-repair/) | 121 days | 31 surgeries | not published |
| [Hysterectomy (abdominal/vaginal/laparoscopic)](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/goulburn-base-hospital/hysterectomy/) | 152 days | 16 surgeries | not published |
| [Cataract extraction (with or without intra-ocular lens insertion)](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/goulburn-base-hospital/cataract-surgery/) | 169 days | 344 surgeries | 0.0% |
| [Herniorrhaphy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/goulburn-base-hospital/hernia-repair/) | 178 days | 34 surgeries | not published |
| [Anterior cruciate ligament reconstruction](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/goulburn-base-hospital/acl-reconstruction/) | 226 days | 16 surgeries | not published |
| [Shoulder joint replacement](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/goulburn-base-hospital/shoulder-joint-replacement/) | 232 days | 18 surgeries | not published |
| [Total hip replacement](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/goulburn-base-hospital/hip-replacement/) | 312 days | 83 surgeries | 0.0% |
| [Total knee replacement](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/goulburn-base-hospital/knee-replacement/) | 332 days | 131 surgeries | 0.0% |
| [Adenoidectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/goulburn-base-hospital/adenoidectomy/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Anal fissure - repair of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/goulburn-base-hospital/anal-fissure-repair-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Arthrodesis](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/goulburn-base-hospital/arthrodesis/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Arthroplasty - revision of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/goulburn-base-hospital/arthroplasty-revision-of/) | not published | 9 surgeries | not published |
| [Bunion (hallux valgus) - removal of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/goulburn-base-hospital/bunion-surgery/) | not published | 9 surgeries | not published |
| [Circumcision](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/goulburn-base-hospital/circumcision/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Colectomy/anterior resection/large bowel resection](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/goulburn-base-hospital/colectomy-anterior-resection-large-bowel-resection/) | not published | 7 surgeries | not published |
| [Cystoscopy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/goulburn-base-hospital/cystoscopy/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Dermoid cyst - removal of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/goulburn-base-hospital/dermoid-cyst-removal-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Dialysis access surgery](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/goulburn-base-hospital/dialysis-access-surgery/) | not published | 8 surgeries | not published |
| [Diathermy of wart/s](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/goulburn-base-hospital/diathermy-of-wart-s/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Dupytren's contracture release](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/goulburn-base-hospital/dupuytrens-contracture-surgery/) | not published | 8 surgeries | not published |
| [Epididymal cyst - removal of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/goulburn-base-hospital/epididymal-cyst-removal-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Fracture non-union - treatment of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/goulburn-base-hospital/fracture-non-union-treatment-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Ganglion - excision of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/goulburn-base-hospital/ganglion-excision-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Hydrocele - repair of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/goulburn-base-hospital/hydrocele-repair-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Laparoscopy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/goulburn-base-hospital/laparoscopy/) | not published | 9 surgeries | not published |
| [Mastectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/goulburn-base-hospital/mastectomy/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Meniscectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/goulburn-base-hospital/meniscectomy/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Nerve decompression](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/goulburn-base-hospital/nerve-decompression/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Osteotomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/goulburn-base-hospital/osteotomy/) | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| [Pilonidal sinus surgery](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/goulburn-base-hospital/pilonidal-sinus-surgery/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Rotator cuff - repair of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/goulburn-base-hospital/rotator-cuff-repair/) | not published | 9 surgeries | not published |
| [Salpingo-oophorectomy/oophorectomy/ovarian cystectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/goulburn-base-hospital/salpingo-oophorectomy-oophorectomy-ovarian-cystectomy/) | not published | 6 surgeries | not published |
| [Scar revision](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/goulburn-base-hospital/scar-revision/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Tendon release](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/goulburn-base-hospital/tendon-release/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Toenail surgery](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/goulburn-base-hospital/toenail-surgery/) | not published | 7 surgeries | not published |
| [Tonsillectomy (with or without adenoidectomy)](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/goulburn-base-hospital/tonsillectomy/) | not published | 6 surgeries | not published |
| [Trigger finger/thumb release](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/goulburn-base-hospital/trigger-finger-release/) | not published | 6 surgeries | not published |
| [Vaginal repair - anterior/posterior](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/goulburn-base-hospital/prolapse-repair/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Varicose veins treatment](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/goulburn-base-hospital/varicose-vein-surgery/) | not published | not published | not published |

**Not reported for this period**

| Surgery | Median wait | Surgeries | Waited more than 365 days |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Acromioplasty/arthroscopy shoulder/sub acromial decompression last reported 2016–17 | not reported |  |  |
| Amputation of limb last reported 2018–19 | not reported |  |  |
| Axillary node dissection last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Bartholin's abscess drainage last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Breast prosthesis - removal of last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Breast reduction last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Cone biopsy last reported 2017–18 | not reported |  |  |
| Cystectomy last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Endometrial ablation last reported 2020–21 | not reported |  |  |
| Exostosis - excision of last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Female sterilisation last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Hammer/claw/mallet toe - correction of last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Lingual or maxillary frenulum surgery last reported 2020–21 | not reported |  |  |
| Lobectomy/wedge resection/pneumonectomy last reported 2020–21 | not reported |  |  |
| Muscle or tendon length - change of last reported 2020–21 | not reported |  |  |
| Myringoplasty/tympanoplasty last reported 2013–14 | not reported |  |  |
| Myringotomy last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Myringotomy (without insertion of grommets) last reported 2018–19 | not reported |  |  |
| Nasal cautery last reported 2019–20 | not reported |  |  |
| Nasendoscopy last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Orchidectomy last reported 2018–19 | not reported |  |  |
| Orchidopexy last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Parotidectomy/submandibular gland - excision of last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Pressure equalising tubes (grommets) - insertion of last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Prostate biopsy last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Prostatectomy (transurethral or open) last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Shoulder reconstruction last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Tenotomy of hip last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Thyroidectomy/hemi-thyroidectomy last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Ureteric stent - insertion of last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Urethra - dilatation of last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |

## Urgency categories

Urgency figures cover all planned surgery at the hospital, not one procedure. They are never combined with the procedure figures. Your treating specialist assigns your urgency category — it is not something you choose. [What the categories mean, and how every hospital compares.](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/)

All planned surgery at Goulburn Base Hospital by urgency category, 2024–25.

| Urgency category | Median wait | Treated within the recommended time | Surgeries |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [Urgent](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/category-1/nsw/) | 15 days | 99% | 198 surgeries |
| [Semi-urgent](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/category-2/nsw/) | 37 days | 100% | 554 surgeries |
| [Non-urgent](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/category-3/nsw/) | 225 days | 99% | 797 surgeries |

**Cite this page**

> In 2024–25, Goulburn Base Hospital published median planned-surgery waits from 2 days for curettage and evacuation of uterus to 332 days for knee replacement (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026).

### Copy-ready citation

```
Surgery Waits, "Goulburn Base Hospital wait times and waiting list", 2024–25 data released 28 May 2026, https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/goulburn-base-hospital/, accessed 28 May 2026.
```

Attribution: Surgery Waits ([https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/goulburn-base-hospital/](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/goulburn-base-hospital/)), from Australian Institute of Health and Welfare MyHospitals data, CC BY 3.0 AU. Reference period 2024–25, released 28 May 2026.

## What is not here

Public hospitals only. Private hospitals do not report to this collection, so their waiting times cannot be compared here.

[How these figures are put together](https://surgerywaits.au/methodology/) · [All surgery waits in New South Wales](https://surgerywaits.au/state/nsw/) · [All hospitals](https://surgerywaits.au/hospitals/)

## Before you use these figures

Surgery Waits is not medical advice. It republishes official statistics about waiting times that have already happened, and it does not recommend any hospital, doctor or treatment. Your general practitioner (GP) and your treating specialist are the right people to help you decide what is appropriate for you.

**In an emergency call 000.**

Waiting-time figures: Australian Institute of Health and Welfare MyHospitals, licensed under [CC BY 3.0 AU](https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/au/). Quarterly state figures: Queensland Health. Suburb and locality data: Australian Bureau of Statistics. Both licensed under [CC BY 4.0](https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/). Surgery Waits is not connected with any of these organisations.

Surgery Waits is published by [National Digital](https://nationaldigital.com.au/).

* * *

This is the Markdown copy of https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/goulburn-base-hospital/.
