---
title: "Gladstone Hospital surgery waiting times"
description: "Planned surgery waiting times and waiting list at Gladstone Hospital, a public hospital in the West Gladstone area of Queensland, for 2024–25."
url: "https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/gladstone-hospital/"
---

# Gladstone Hospital surgery waiting times

In 2024–25, this public hospital in the West Gladstone area of Queensland published median waits from **25 days** for breast removal to **427 days** for female sterilisation.

Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.

Gladstone Hospital is a public hospital in the West Gladstone area of Queensland. It is part of [Central Queensland](https://surgerywaits.au/health-service/central-queensland/). It reported 39 surgery types to the national planned-surgery collection for 2024–25. 23 surgery types were last reported in an earlier period; they are listed below, with the period the source last carried them.

**[Compare this near you →](https://surgerywaits.au/)** On the compare page, pick a surgery and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.

## Waiting times by surgery

Shortest median wait first. A surgery the source did not publish a figure for is listed after those, and a surgery it did not report at all this period is listed last. Neither is ranked, and neither shows an older figure in place of a current one.

Planned surgery at Gladstone Hospital, 2024–25. Every figure was released on 2026-05-28.

| Surgery | Median wait | Surgeries | Waited more than 365 days |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [Mastectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/gladstone-hospital/mastectomy/) | 25 days | 14 surgeries | not published |
| [Skin lesion - excision of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/gladstone-hospital/skin-lesion-removal/) | 27 days | 487 surgeries | 1.0% |
| [Breast lump - excision and/or biopsy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/gladstone-hospital/breast-lump-removal/) | 29 days | 19 surgeries | not published |
| [Dialysis access surgery](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/gladstone-hospital/dialysis-access-surgery/) | 31 days | 22 surgeries | not published |
| [Carpal tunnel release](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/gladstone-hospital/carpal-tunnel-surgery/) | 55 days | 35 surgeries | not published |
| [Circumcision](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/gladstone-hospital/circumcision/) | 62 days | 12 surgeries | not published |
| [Cholecystectomy (open/laparoscopic)](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/gladstone-hospital/gallbladder-removal/) | 82 days | 57 surgeries | 5.3% |
| [Large loop excision of the transformation zone cervix (LLETZ)](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/gladstone-hospital/lletz-procedure/) | 84 days | 21 surgeries | not published |
| [Hysteroscopy, dilatation and curettage](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/gladstone-hospital/dilatation-and-curettage/) | 104 days | 105 surgeries | 3.8% |
| [Haemorrhoidectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/gladstone-hospital/haemorrhoid-surgery/) | 121 days | 10 surgeries | not published |
| [Salpingo-oophorectomy/oophorectomy/ovarian cystectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/gladstone-hospital/salpingo-oophorectomy-oophorectomy-ovarian-cystectomy/) | 160 days | 12 surgeries | not published |
| [Inguinal herniotomy/herniorrhaphy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/gladstone-hospital/inguinal-hernia-repair/) | 161 days | 43 surgeries | not published |
| [Hysterectomy (abdominal/vaginal/laparoscopic)](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/gladstone-hospital/hysterectomy/) | 180 days | 21 surgeries | not published |
| [Herniorrhaphy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/gladstone-hospital/hernia-repair/) | 183 days | 49 surgeries | not published |
| [Laparoscopy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/gladstone-hospital/laparoscopy/) | 186 days | 32 surgeries | not published |
| [Arthrodesis](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/gladstone-hospital/arthrodesis/) | 279 days | 10 surgeries | not published |
| [Female sterilisation](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/gladstone-hospital/female-sterilisation/) | 427 days | 19 surgeries | not published |
| [Amputation of limb](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/gladstone-hospital/amputation-of-limb/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Anterior cruciate ligament reconstruction](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/gladstone-hospital/acl-reconstruction/) | not published | 6 surgeries | not published |
| [Arthroscopy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/gladstone-hospital/arthroscopy/) | not published | 6 surgeries | not published |
| [Breast prosthesis - removal of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/gladstone-hospital/breast-prosthesis-removal-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Breast reduction](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/gladstone-hospital/breast-reduction/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Bunion (hallux valgus) - removal of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/gladstone-hospital/bunion-surgery/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Colectomy/anterior resection/large bowel resection](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/gladstone-hospital/colectomy-anterior-resection-large-bowel-resection/) | not published | 7 surgeries | not published |
| [Common peroneal nerve release](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/gladstone-hospital/common-peroneal-nerve-release/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Cone biopsy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/gladstone-hospital/cone-biopsy/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Curettage and evacuation of uterus](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/gladstone-hospital/curettage-and-evacuation-of-uterus/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Diathermy of wart/s](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/gladstone-hospital/diathermy-of-wart-s/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Dupytren's contracture release](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/gladstone-hospital/dupuytrens-contracture-surgery/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Fracture non-union - treatment of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/gladstone-hospital/fracture-non-union-treatment-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Ganglion - excision of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/gladstone-hospital/ganglion-excision-of/) | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| [Hammer/claw/mallet toe - correction of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/gladstone-hospital/hammer-claw-mallet-toe-correction-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Muscle or tendon length - change of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/gladstone-hospital/muscle-or-tendon-length-change-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Osteotomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/gladstone-hospital/osteotomy/) | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| [Tendon release](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/gladstone-hospital/tendon-release/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Toenail surgery](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/gladstone-hospital/toenail-surgery/) | not published | 9 surgeries | not published |
| [Trigger finger/thumb release](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/gladstone-hospital/trigger-finger-release/) | not published | 6 surgeries | not published |
| [Vaginal repair - anterior/posterior](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/gladstone-hospital/prolapse-repair/) | not published | 8 surgeries | not published |
| [Vitrectomy (including buckling/cryotherapy)](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/gladstone-hospital/vitrectomy-including-buckling-cryotherapy/) | not published | not published | not published |

**Not reported for this period**

| Surgery | Median wait | Surgeries | Waited more than 365 days |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Acromioplasty/arthroscopy shoulder/sub acromial decompression last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Anal fissure - repair of last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Axillary node dissection last reported 2018–19 | not reported |  |  |
| Bartholin's abscess drainage last reported 2017–18 | not reported |  |  |
| Bartholin's cyst - removal of last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Cystoscopy last reported 2018–19 | not reported |  |  |
| Endometrial ablation last reported 2018–19 | not reported |  |  |
| Epididymal cyst - removal of last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Fundoplication last reported 2020–21 | not reported |  |  |
| Hydrocele - repair of last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Lingual or maxillary frenulum surgery last reported 2017–18 | not reported |  |  |
| Lymphangioma - surgery for last reported 2017–18 | not reported |  |  |
| Meniscectomy last reported 2017–18 | not reported |  |  |
| Orchidectomy last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Parathyroidectomy last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Pilonidal sinus surgery last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Prostatectomy (transurethral or open) last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Pyogenic granuloma - removal of last reported 2016–17 | not reported |  |  |
| Repair of obstructing hiatus hernia last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Scar revision last reported 2019–20 | not reported |  |  |
| Thyroidectomy/hemi-thyroidectomy last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Total knee replacement last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Varicose veins treatment last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |

## Urgency categories

Urgency figures cover all planned surgery at the hospital, not one procedure. They are never combined with the procedure figures. Your treating specialist assigns your urgency category — it is not something you choose. [What the categories mean, and how every hospital compares.](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/)

All planned surgery at Gladstone Hospital by urgency category, 2024–25.

| Urgency category | Median wait | Treated within the recommended time | Surgeries |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [Urgent](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/category-1/qld/) | 26 days | 92% | 660 surgeries |
| [Semi-urgent](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/category-2/qld/) | 120 days | 35% | 447 surgeries |
| [Non-urgent](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/category-3/qld/) | 427 days | 33% | 153 surgeries |

## Queensland's own quarterly figures

Queensland Health publishes its own figures every three months. They count differently from the national figures above and are never combined with them. This quarter ends after the national reporting period, so it is the more recent of the two.

These figures count patients, not surgeries, and they are a snapshot of one quarter. The table above covers a whole financial year. Comparing a number from one table with a number from the other does not tell you anything.

Covers July to September 2025, published by Queensland Health on 28 October 2025. Reported as Gladstone.

Planned surgery at Gladstone Hospital by urgency category, July to September 2025.

| Group | Patients treated | Treated within the recommended time | Still waiting at the end of the quarter | Waiting longer than recommended |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| All planned surgery at this hospital | 323 patients | 63.8% | 615 patients | 248 patients |
| Category 1 — urgent (recommended within 30 days) | 173 patients | 90.8% | 49 patients | 2 patients |
| Category 2 — semi-urgent (recommended within 90 days) | 116 patients | 34.5% | 249 patients | 136 patients |
| Category 3 — non-urgent (recommended within 365 days) | 34 patients | 26.5% | 317 patients | 110 patients |

### By surgical specialty

Queensland reports by surgical specialty, not by procedure. A specialty covers many different operations, so a specialty figure is never a figure for any one of them.

Planned surgery at Gladstone Hospital by surgical specialty, July to September 2025.

| Group | Patients treated | Treated within the recommended time | Still waiting at the end of the quarter | Waiting longer than recommended |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| General surgery | 202 patients | 73.8% | 401 patients | 200 patients |
| Gynaecology | 88 patients | 36.4% | 168 patients | 40 patients |
| Orthopaedic surgery | 33 patients | 75.8% | 46 patients | 8 patients |

**Cite this page**

> In 2024–25, Gladstone Hospital published median planned-surgery waits from 25 days for breast removal to 427 days for female sterilisation (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026).

### Copy-ready citation

```
Surgery Waits, "Gladstone Hospital surgery wait times and waiting list", 2024–25 data released 28 May 2026, https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/gladstone-hospital/, accessed 28 May 2026.
```

Attribution: Surgery Waits ([https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/gladstone-hospital/](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/gladstone-hospital/)), from Australian Institute of Health and Welfare MyHospitals data, CC BY 3.0 AU. Reference period 2024–25, released 28 May 2026.

## What is not here

Public hospitals only. Private hospitals do not report to this collection, so their waiting times cannot be compared here.

[How these figures are put together](https://surgerywaits.au/methodology/) · [All surgery waits in Queensland](https://surgerywaits.au/state/qld/) · [All hospitals](https://surgerywaits.au/hospitals/)

## Before you use these figures

Surgery Waits is not medical advice. It republishes official statistics about waiting times that have already happened, and it does not recommend any hospital, doctor or treatment. Your general practitioner (GP) and your treating specialist are the right people to help you decide what is appropriate for you.

**In an emergency call 000.**

Waiting-time figures: Australian Institute of Health and Welfare MyHospitals, licensed under [CC BY 3.0 AU](https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/au/). Quarterly state figures: Queensland Health. Suburb and locality data: Australian Bureau of Statistics. Both licensed under [CC BY 4.0](https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/). Surgery Waits is not connected with any of these organisations.

Surgery Waits is published by [National Digital](https://nationaldigital.com.au/).

* * *

This is the Markdown copy of https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/gladstone-hospital/.
