---
title: "Esperance Hospital surgery waiting times"
description: "Planned surgery waiting times and waiting list at Esperance Hospital, a public hospital in the Esperance area of Western Australia, for 2024–25."
url: "https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/esperance-hospital/"
---

# Esperance Hospital surgery waiting times

In 2024–25, this public hospital in the Esperance area of Western Australia published median waits from **30 days** for skin lesion removal to **265 days** for hernia repair.

Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.

Esperance Hospital is a public hospital in the Esperance area of Western Australia. It is part of [WA Country Health Service](https://surgerywaits.au/health-service/wa-country-health-service/). It reported 39 surgery types to the national planned-surgery collection for 2024–25. 24 surgery types were last reported in an earlier period; they are listed below, with the period the source last carried them.

**[Compare this near you →](https://surgerywaits.au/)** On the compare page, pick a surgery and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.

## Waiting times by surgery

Shortest median wait first. A surgery the source did not publish a figure for is listed after those, and a surgery it did not report at all this period is listed last. Neither is ranked, and neither shows an older figure in place of a current one.

Planned surgery at Esperance Hospital, 2024–25. Every figure was released on 2026-05-28.

| Surgery | Median wait | Surgeries | Waited more than 365 days |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [Skin lesion - excision of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/esperance-hospital/skin-lesion-removal/) | 30 days | 34 surgeries | not published |
| [Cholecystectomy (open/laparoscopic)](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/esperance-hospital/gallbladder-removal/) | 55 days | 14 surgeries | not published |
| [Pterygium - excision of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/esperance-hospital/pterygium-excision-of/) | 73 days | 17 surgeries | not published |
| [Carpal tunnel release](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/esperance-hospital/carpal-tunnel-surgery/) | 82 days | 22 surgeries | not published |
| [Cataract extraction (with or without intra-ocular lens insertion)](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/esperance-hospital/cataract-surgery/) | 84 days | 289 surgeries | 0.0% |
| [Arthroscopy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/esperance-hospital/arthroscopy/) | 140 days | 24 surgeries | not published |
| [Inguinal herniotomy/herniorrhaphy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/esperance-hospital/inguinal-hernia-repair/) | 219 days | 14 surgeries | not published |
| [Herniorrhaphy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/esperance-hospital/hernia-repair/) | 265 days | 14 surgeries | not published |
| [Acromioplasty/arthroscopy shoulder/sub acromial decompression](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/esperance-hospital/acromioplasty-arthroscopy-shoulder-sub-acromial-decompression/) | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| [Adenoidectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/esperance-hospital/adenoidectomy/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Anterior cruciate ligament reconstruction](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/esperance-hospital/acl-reconstruction/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Arthrodesis](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/esperance-hospital/arthrodesis/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Axillary node dissection](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/esperance-hospital/axillary-node-dissection/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Circumcision](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/esperance-hospital/circumcision/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Curettage and evacuation of uterus](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/esperance-hospital/curettage-and-evacuation-of-uterus/) | not published | 8 surgeries | not published |
| [Ectropion - correction of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/esperance-hospital/ectropion-correction-of/) | not published | 7 surgeries | not published |
| [Endometrial ablation](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/esperance-hospital/endometrial-ablation/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Epididymal cyst - removal of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/esperance-hospital/epididymal-cyst-removal-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Female sterilisation](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/esperance-hospital/female-sterilisation/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Ganglion - excision of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/esperance-hospital/ganglion-excision-of/) | not published | 8 surgeries | not published |
| [Haemorrhoidectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/esperance-hospital/haemorrhoid-surgery/) | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| [Hammer/claw/mallet toe - correction of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/esperance-hospital/hammer-claw-mallet-toe-correction-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Hydrocele - repair of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/esperance-hospital/hydrocele-repair-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Laparoscopy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/esperance-hospital/laparoscopy/) | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| [Large loop excision of the transformation zone cervix (LLETZ)](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/esperance-hospital/lletz-procedure/) | not published | 6 surgeries | not published |
| [Muscle biopsy/temporal artery biopsy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/esperance-hospital/muscle-biopsy-temporal-artery-biopsy/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Muscle or tendon length - change of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/esperance-hospital/muscle-or-tendon-length-change-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Myringoplasty/tympanoplasty](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/esperance-hospital/eardrum-repair/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Myringotomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/esperance-hospital/myringotomy/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Myringotomy (without insertion of grommets)](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/esperance-hospital/myringotomy-without-insertion-of-grommets/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Nasal cautery](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/esperance-hospital/nasal-cautery/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Parotidectomy/submandibular gland - excision of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/esperance-hospital/parotidectomy-submandibular-gland-excision-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Pilonidal sinus surgery](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/esperance-hospital/pilonidal-sinus-surgery/) | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| [Pressure equalising tubes (grommets) - insertion of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/esperance-hospital/grommets/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Prostate biopsy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/esperance-hospital/prostate-biopsy/) | not published | 8 surgeries | not published |
| [Rotator cuff - repair of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/esperance-hospital/rotator-cuff-repair/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Shoulder reconstruction](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/esperance-hospital/shoulder-reconstruction/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Toenail surgery](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/esperance-hospital/toenail-surgery/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Trigger finger/thumb release](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/esperance-hospital/trigger-finger-release/) | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |

**Not reported for this period**

| Surgery | Median wait | Surgeries | Waited more than 365 days |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Anal fissure - repair of last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Bartholin's abscess drainage last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Bartholin's cyst - removal of last reported 2018–19 | not reported |  |  |
| Blepharoplasty last reported 2019–20 | not reported |  |  |
| Branchial apparatus remnant - removal of last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Breast lump - excision and/or biopsy last reported 2018–19 | not reported |  |  |
| Chalazion - excision of last reported 2017–18 | not reported |  |  |
| Common peroneal nerve release last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Cystoscopy last reported 2020–21 | not reported |  |  |
| Dialysis access surgery last reported 2018–19 | not reported |  |  |
| Dupytren's contracture release last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Exostosis - excision of last reported 2020–21 | not reported |  |  |
| Hysterectomy (abdominal/vaginal/laparoscopic) last reported 2016–17 | not reported |  |  |
| Hysteroscopy, dilatation and curettage last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Mastectomy last reported 2020–21 | not reported |  |  |
| Meniscectomy last reported 2018–19 | not reported |  |  |
| Osteotomy last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Pyogenic granuloma - removal of last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Salpingo-oophorectomy/oophorectomy/ovarian cystectomy last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Tendon release last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Tonsillectomy (with or without adenoidectomy) last reported 2014–15 | not reported |  |  |
| Total knee replacement last reported 2018–19 | not reported |  |  |
| Vaginal repair - anterior/posterior last reported 2017–18 | not reported |  |  |
| Varicose veins treatment last reported 2018–19 | not reported |  |  |

## Urgency categories

Urgency figures cover all planned surgery at the hospital, not one procedure. They are never combined with the procedure figures. Your treating specialist assigns your urgency category — it is not something you choose. [What the categories mean, and how every hospital compares.](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/)

All planned surgery at Esperance Hospital by urgency category, 2024–25.

| Urgency category | Median wait | Treated within the recommended time | Surgeries |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [Urgent](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/category-1/wa/) | 14 days | 95% | 63 surgeries |
| [Semi-urgent](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/category-2/wa/) | 53 days | 89% | 117 surgeries |
| [Non-urgent](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/category-3/wa/) | 106 days | 99% | 443 surgeries |

**Cite this page**

> In 2024–25, Esperance Hospital published median planned-surgery waits from 30 days for skin lesion removal to 265 days for hernia repair (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026).

### Copy-ready citation

```
Surgery Waits, "Esperance Hospital surgery wait times and waiting list", 2024–25 data released 28 May 2026, https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/esperance-hospital/, accessed 28 May 2026.
```

Attribution: Surgery Waits ([https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/esperance-hospital/](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/esperance-hospital/)), from Australian Institute of Health and Welfare MyHospitals data, CC BY 3.0 AU. Reference period 2024–25, released 28 May 2026.

## What is not here

Public hospitals only. Private hospitals do not report to this collection, so their waiting times cannot be compared here.

[How these figures are put together](https://surgerywaits.au/methodology/) · [All surgery waits in Western Australia](https://surgerywaits.au/state/wa/) · [All hospitals](https://surgerywaits.au/hospitals/)

## Before you use these figures

Surgery Waits is not medical advice. It republishes official statistics about waiting times that have already happened, and it does not recommend any hospital, doctor or treatment. Your general practitioner (GP) and your treating specialist are the right people to help you decide what is appropriate for you.

**In an emergency call 000.**

Waiting-time figures: Australian Institute of Health and Welfare MyHospitals, licensed under [CC BY 3.0 AU](https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/au/). Quarterly state figures: Queensland Health. Suburb and locality data: Australian Bureau of Statistics. Both licensed under [CC BY 4.0](https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/). Surgery Waits is not connected with any of these organisations.

Surgery Waits is published by [National Digital](https://nationaldigital.com.au/).

* * *

This is the Markdown copy of https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/esperance-hospital/.
