---
title: "Cowra Health Service surgery waiting times"
description: "Planned surgery waiting times and waiting list at Cowra Health Service, a public hospital in the Cowra area of New South Wales, for 2024–25."
url: "https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cowra-health-service/"
---

# Cowra Health Service surgery waiting times

In 2024–25, this public hospital in the Cowra area of New South Wales published median waits from **18 days** for breast lump removal to **339 days** for cataract surgery.

Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.

Cowra Health Service is a public hospital in the Cowra area of New South Wales. It is part of [Western NSW](https://surgerywaits.au/health-service/western-nsw/). It reported 31 surgery types to the national planned-surgery collection for 2024–25. 24 surgery types were last reported in an earlier period; they are listed below, with the period the source last carried them.

**[Compare this near you →](https://surgerywaits.au/)** On the compare page, pick a surgery and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.

## Waiting times by surgery

Shortest median wait first. A surgery the source did not publish a figure for is listed after those, and a surgery it did not report at all this period is listed last. Neither is ranked, and neither shows an older figure in place of a current one.

Planned surgery at Cowra Health Service, 2024–25. Every figure was released on 2026-05-28.

| Surgery | Median wait | Surgeries | Waited more than 365 days |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [Breast lump - excision and/or biopsy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cowra-health-service/breast-lump-removal/) | 18 days | 12 surgeries | not published |
| [Hysteroscopy, dilatation and curettage](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cowra-health-service/dilatation-and-curettage/) | 19 days | 13 surgeries | not published |
| [Myringotomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cowra-health-service/myringotomy/) | 19 days | 17 surgeries | not published |
| [Pressure equalising tubes (grommets) - insertion of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cowra-health-service/grommets/) | 19 days | 17 surgeries | not published |
| [Cystoscopy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cowra-health-service/cystoscopy/) | 28 days | 67 surgeries | 0.0% |
| [Skin lesion - excision of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cowra-health-service/skin-lesion-removal/) | 36 days | 72 surgeries | 0.0% |
| [Cholecystectomy (open/laparoscopic)](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cowra-health-service/gallbladder-removal/) | 46 days | 28 surgeries | not published |
| [Adenoidectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cowra-health-service/adenoidectomy/) | 76 days | 26 surgeries | not published |
| [Carpal tunnel release](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cowra-health-service/carpal-tunnel-surgery/) | 87 days | 20 surgeries | not published |
| [Herniorrhaphy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cowra-health-service/hernia-repair/) | 89 days | 15 surgeries | not published |
| [Inguinal herniotomy/herniorrhaphy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cowra-health-service/inguinal-hernia-repair/) | 91 days | 23 surgeries | not published |
| [Tonsillectomy (with or without adenoidectomy)](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cowra-health-service/tonsillectomy/) | 235 days | 85 surgeries | 0.0% |
| [Cataract extraction (with or without intra-ocular lens insertion)](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cowra-health-service/cataract-surgery/) | 339 days | 187 surgeries | 23.0% |
| [Anal fissure - repair of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cowra-health-service/anal-fissure-repair-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Circumcision](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cowra-health-service/circumcision/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Curettage and evacuation of uterus](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cowra-health-service/curettage-and-evacuation-of-uterus/) | not published | 7 surgeries | not published |
| [Dermoid cyst - removal of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cowra-health-service/dermoid-cyst-removal-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Dupytren's contracture release](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cowra-health-service/dupuytrens-contracture-surgery/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Epididymal cyst - removal of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cowra-health-service/epididymal-cyst-removal-of/) | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| [Haemorrhoidectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cowra-health-service/haemorrhoid-surgery/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Hydrocele - repair of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cowra-health-service/hydrocele-repair-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Laparoscopy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cowra-health-service/laparoscopy/) | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| [Myringoplasty/tympanoplasty](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cowra-health-service/eardrum-repair/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Nasal cautery](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cowra-health-service/nasal-cautery/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Nasendoscopy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cowra-health-service/nasendoscopy/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Orchidectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cowra-health-service/orchidectomy/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Pilonidal sinus surgery](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cowra-health-service/pilonidal-sinus-surgery/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Salpingo-oophorectomy/oophorectomy/ovarian cystectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cowra-health-service/salpingo-oophorectomy-oophorectomy-ovarian-cystectomy/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Toenail surgery](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cowra-health-service/toenail-surgery/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Trigger finger/thumb release](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cowra-health-service/trigger-finger-release/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Varicose veins treatment](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cowra-health-service/varicose-vein-surgery/) | not published | not published | not published |

**Not reported for this period**

| Surgery | Median wait | Surgeries | Waited more than 365 days |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Axillary node dissection last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Bartholin's abscess drainage last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Breast prosthesis - removal of last reported 2020–21 | not reported |  |  |
| Chalazion - excision of last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Cone biopsy last reported 2017–18 | not reported |  |  |
| Dialysis access surgery last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Examination of eye under anaesthesia last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Female sterilisation last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Fracture non-union - treatment of last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Ganglion - excision of last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Hysterectomy (abdominal/vaginal/laparoscopic) last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Large loop excision of the transformation zone cervix (LLETZ) last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Lingual or maxillary frenulum surgery last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Mastectomy last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Myomectomy last reported 2016–17 | not reported |  |  |
| Nerve decompression last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Parotidectomy/submandibular gland - excision of last reported 2018–19 | not reported |  |  |
| Pharynx - excision of last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Scar revision last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Septoplasty last reported 2012–13 | not reported |  |  |
| Tendon release last reported 2020–21 | not reported |  |  |
| Thyroidectomy/hemi-thyroidectomy last reported 2019–20 | not reported |  |  |
| Trabeculectomy last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Vaginal repair - anterior/posterior last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |

## Urgency categories

Urgency figures cover all planned surgery at the hospital, not one procedure. They are never combined with the procedure figures. Your treating specialist assigns your urgency category — it is not something you choose. [What the categories mean, and how every hospital compares.](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/)

All planned surgery at Cowra Health Service by urgency category, 2024–25.

| Urgency category | Median wait | Treated within the recommended time | Surgeries |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [Urgent](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/category-1/nsw/) | 13 days | 93% | 83 surgeries |
| [Semi-urgent](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/category-2/nsw/) | 56 days | 88% | 272 surgeries |
| [Non-urgent](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/category-3/nsw/) | 265 days | 85% | 311 surgeries |

**Cite this page**

> In 2024–25, Cowra Health Service published median planned-surgery waits from 18 days for breast lump removal to 339 days for cataract surgery (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026).

### Copy-ready citation

```
Surgery Waits, "Cowra Health Service wait times and waiting list", 2024–25 data released 28 May 2026, https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cowra-health-service/, accessed 28 May 2026.
```

Attribution: Surgery Waits ([https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cowra-health-service/](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cowra-health-service/)), from Australian Institute of Health and Welfare MyHospitals data, CC BY 3.0 AU. Reference period 2024–25, released 28 May 2026.

## What is not here

Public hospitals only. Private hospitals do not report to this collection, so their waiting times cannot be compared here.

[How these figures are put together](https://surgerywaits.au/methodology/) · [All surgery waits in New South Wales](https://surgerywaits.au/state/nsw/) · [All hospitals](https://surgerywaits.au/hospitals/)

## Before you use these figures

Surgery Waits is not medical advice. It republishes official statistics about waiting times that have already happened, and it does not recommend any hospital, doctor or treatment. Your general practitioner (GP) and your treating specialist are the right people to help you decide what is appropriate for you.

**In an emergency call 000.**

Waiting-time figures: Australian Institute of Health and Welfare MyHospitals, licensed under [CC BY 3.0 AU](https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/au/). Quarterly state figures: Queensland Health. Suburb and locality data: Australian Bureau of Statistics. Both licensed under [CC BY 4.0](https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/). Surgery Waits is not connected with any of these organisations.

Surgery Waits is published by [National Digital](https://nationaldigital.com.au/).

* * *

This is the Markdown copy of https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cowra-health-service/.
