---
title: "Caloundra Hospital surgery waiting times"
description: "Planned surgery waiting times and waiting list at Caloundra Hospital, a public hospital in the Caloundra area of Queensland, for 2024–25."
url: "https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/caloundra-hospital/"
---

# Caloundra Hospital surgery waiting times

In 2024–25, this public hospital in the Caloundra area of Queensland published median waits from **67 days** for pterygium (eye growth) removal to **70 days** for cataract surgery.

Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.

Caloundra Hospital is a public hospital in the Caloundra area of Queensland. It is part of [Sunshine Coast](https://surgerywaits.au/health-service/sunshine-coast/). It reported 8 surgery types to the national planned-surgery collection for 2024–25. 11 surgery types were last reported in an earlier period; they are listed below, with the period the source last carried them.

**[Compare this near you →](https://surgerywaits.au/)** On the compare page, pick a surgery and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.

## Waiting times by surgery

Shortest median wait first. A surgery the source did not publish a figure for is listed after those, and a surgery it did not report at all this period is listed last. Neither is ranked, and neither shows an older figure in place of a current one.

Planned surgery at Caloundra Hospital, 2024–25. Every figure was released on 2026-05-28.

| Surgery | Median wait | Surgeries | Waited more than 365 days |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [Pterygium - excision of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/caloundra-hospital/pterygium-excision-of/) | 67 days | 48 surgeries | not published |
| [Cataract extraction (with or without intra-ocular lens insertion)](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/caloundra-hospital/cataract-surgery/) | 70 days | 621 surgeries | 0.2% |
| [Blepharoplasty](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/caloundra-hospital/blepharoplasty/) | not published | 6 surgeries | not published |
| [Ectropion - correction of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/caloundra-hospital/ectropion-correction-of/) | not published | 9 surgeries | not published |
| [Procedure for strabismus (squint repair)](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/caloundra-hospital/squint-surgery/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Ptosis - repair of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/caloundra-hospital/ptosis-repair-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Skin lesion - excision of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/caloundra-hospital/skin-lesion-removal/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Trabeculectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/caloundra-hospital/trabeculectomy/) | not published | not published | not published |

**Not reported for this period**

| Surgery | Median wait | Surgeries | Waited more than 365 days |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Cholecystectomy (open/laparoscopic) last reported 2012–13 | not reported |  |  |
| Cystoscopy last reported 2013–14 | not reported |  |  |
| Dacryocystorhinostomy last reported 2017–18 | not reported |  |  |
| Haemorrhoidectomy last reported 2012–13 | not reported |  |  |
| Hysteroscopy, dilatation and curettage last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Inguinal herniotomy/herniorrhaphy last reported 2012–13 | not reported |  |  |
| Muscle biopsy/temporal artery biopsy last reported 2019–20 | not reported |  |  |
| Probing of naso-lacrimal duct last reported 2020–21 | not reported |  |  |
| Pyogenic granuloma - removal of last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Varicose veins treatment last reported 2012–13 | not reported |  |  |
| Vitrectomy (including buckling/cryotherapy) last reported 2017–18 | not reported |  |  |

## Urgency categories

Urgency figures cover all planned surgery at the hospital, not one procedure. They are never combined with the procedure figures. Your treating specialist assigns your urgency category — it is not something you choose. [What the categories mean, and how every hospital compares.](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/)

All planned surgery at Caloundra Hospital by urgency category, 2024–25.

| Urgency category | Median wait | Treated within the recommended time | Surgeries |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [Urgent](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/category-1/qld/) | 15 days | 90% | 61 surgeries |
| [Semi-urgent](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/category-2/qld/) | 45 days | 94% | 325 surgeries |
| [Non-urgent](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/category-3/qld/) | 162 days | 99% | 396 surgeries |

## Queensland's own quarterly figures

Queensland Health publishes its own figures every three months. They count differently from the national figures above and are never combined with them. This quarter ends after the national reporting period, so it is the more recent of the two.

These figures count patients, not surgeries, and they are a snapshot of one quarter. The table above covers a whole financial year. Comparing a number from one table with a number from the other does not tell you anything.

Covers July to September 2025, published by Queensland Health on 28 October 2025. Reported as Caloundra.

Planned surgery at Caloundra Hospital by urgency category, July to September 2025.

| Group | Patients treated | Treated within the recommended time | Still waiting at the end of the quarter | Waiting longer than recommended |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| All planned surgery at this hospital | 218 patients | 99.1% | 256 patients | 3 patients |
| Category 1 — urgent (recommended within 30 days) | 16 patients | 100.0% | 2 patients | 0 patients |
| Category 2 — semi-urgent (recommended within 90 days) | 144 patients | 98.6% | 93 patients | 3 patients |
| Category 3 — non-urgent (recommended within 365 days) | 58 patients | 100.0% | 161 patients | 0 patients |

### By surgical specialty

Queensland reports by surgical specialty, not by procedure. A specialty covers many different operations, so a specialty figure is never a figure for any one of them.

Planned surgery at Caloundra Hospital by surgical specialty, July to September 2025.

| Group | Patients treated | Treated within the recommended time | Still waiting at the end of the quarter | Waiting longer than recommended |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Ophthalmology | 218 patients | 99.1% | 256 patients | 3 patients |

**Cite this page**

> In 2024–25, Caloundra Hospital published median planned-surgery waits from 67 days for pterygium (eye growth) removal to 70 days for cataract surgery (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026).

### Copy-ready citation

```
Surgery Waits, "Caloundra Hospital surgery wait times and waiting list", 2024–25 data released 28 May 2026, https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/caloundra-hospital/, accessed 28 May 2026.
```

Attribution: Surgery Waits ([https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/caloundra-hospital/](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/caloundra-hospital/)), from Australian Institute of Health and Welfare MyHospitals data, CC BY 3.0 AU. Reference period 2024–25, released 28 May 2026.

## What is not here

Public hospitals only. Private hospitals do not report to this collection, so their waiting times cannot be compared here.

[How these figures are put together](https://surgerywaits.au/methodology/) · [All surgery waits in Queensland](https://surgerywaits.au/state/qld/) · [All hospitals](https://surgerywaits.au/hospitals/)

## Before you use these figures

Surgery Waits is not medical advice. It republishes official statistics about waiting times that have already happened, and it does not recommend any hospital, doctor or treatment. Your general practitioner (GP) and your treating specialist are the right people to help you decide what is appropriate for you.

**In an emergency call 000.**

Waiting-time figures: Australian Institute of Health and Welfare MyHospitals, licensed under [CC BY 3.0 AU](https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/au/). Quarterly state figures: Queensland Health. Suburb and locality data: Australian Bureau of Statistics. Both licensed under [CC BY 4.0](https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/). Surgery Waits is not connected with any of these organisations.

Surgery Waits is published by [National Digital](https://nationaldigital.com.au/).

* * *

This is the Markdown copy of https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/caloundra-hospital/.
