---
title: "Cairns Hospital surgery waiting times"
description: "Planned surgery waiting times and waiting list at Cairns Hospital, a public hospital in the Cairns North area of Queensland, for 2024–25."
url: "https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/"
---

# Cairns Hospital surgery waiting times

In 2024–25, this public hospital in the Cairns North area of Queensland published median waits from **3 days** for curettage and evacuation of uterus to **381 days** for prolapse repair.

Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.

Cairns Hospital is a public hospital in the Cairns North area of Queensland. It is part of [Cairns and Hinterland](https://surgerywaits.au/health-service/cairns-and-hinterland/). It reported 102 surgery types to the national planned-surgery collection for 2024–25. 25 surgery types were last reported in an earlier period; they are listed below, with the period the source last carried them.

**[Compare this near you →](https://surgerywaits.au/)** On the compare page, pick a surgery and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.

## Waiting times by surgery

Shortest median wait first. A surgery the source did not publish a figure for is listed after those, and a surgery it did not report at all this period is listed last. Neither is ranked, and neither shows an older figure in place of a current one.

Planned surgery at Cairns Hospital, 2024–25. Every figure was released on 2026-05-28.

| Surgery | Median wait | Surgeries | Waited more than 365 days |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [Curettage and evacuation of uterus](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/curettage-and-evacuation-of-uterus/) | 3 days | 39 surgeries | not published |
| [Carotid endarterectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/carotid-endarterectomy/) | 11 days | 17 surgeries | not published |
| [Abdominal or thoracic aortic aneurysm - repair/replacement](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/abdominal-or-thoracic-aortic-aneurysm-repair-replacement/) | 12 days | 26 surgeries | not published |
| [Mastectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/mastectomy/) | 12 days | 78 surgeries | 1.3% |
| [Ureteric stent - insertion of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/ureteric-stent-insertion-of/) | 13 days | 43 surgeries | not published |
| [Colectomy/anterior resection/large bowel resection](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/colectomy-anterior-resection-large-bowel-resection/) | 14 days | 44 surgeries | not published |
| [Breast lump - excision and/or biopsy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/breast-lump-removal/) | 18 days | 134 surgeries | 0.0% |
| [Fracture non-union - treatment of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/fracture-non-union-treatment-of/) | 18 days | 24 surgeries | not published |
| [Prostate biopsy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/prostate-biopsy/) | 20 days | 72 surgeries | 0.0% |
| [Skin lesion - excision of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/skin-lesion-removal/) | 20 days | 1031 surgeries | 0.6% |
| [Dialysis access surgery](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/dialysis-access-surgery/) | 22 days | 187 surgeries | 0.0% |
| [Cone biopsy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/cone-biopsy/) | 25 days | 18 surgeries | not published |
| [Hysteroscopy, dilatation and curettage](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/dilatation-and-curettage/) | 25 days | 458 surgeries | 1.7% |
| [Cystoscopy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/cystoscopy/) | 28 days | 128 surgeries | 0.0% |
| [Prostatectomy (transurethral or open)](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/prostate-surgery/) | 39 days | 135 surgeries | 0.0% |
| [Discectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/discectomy/) | 42 days | 12 surgeries | not published |
| [Large loop excision of the transformation zone cervix (LLETZ)](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/lletz-procedure/) | 42 days | 137 surgeries | 0.0% |
| [Parotidectomy/submandibular gland - excision of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/parotidectomy-submandibular-gland-excision-of/) | 42 days | 27 surgeries | not published |
| [Adenoidectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/adenoidectomy/) | 45 days | 23 surgeries | not published |
| [Tonsillectomy (with or without adenoidectomy)](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/tonsillectomy/) | 47 days | 158 surgeries | 0.0% |
| [Shoulder reconstruction](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/shoulder-reconstruction/) | 57 days | 13 surgeries | not published |
| [Lithotripsy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/lithotripsy/) | 63 days | 12 surgeries | not published |
| [Cholecystectomy (open/laparoscopic)](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/gallbladder-removal/) | 66 days | 160 surgeries | 0.6% |
| [Nephrectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/nephrectomy/) | 69 days | 20 surgeries | not published |
| [Parathyroidectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/parathyroidectomy/) | 75 days | 16 surgeries | not published |
| [Thyroidectomy/hemi-thyroidectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/thyroidectomy-hemi-thyroidectomy/) | 75 days | 67 surgeries | 3.0% |
| [Myringoplasty/tympanoplasty](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/eardrum-repair/) | 78 days | 29 surgeries | not published |
| [Nasendoscopy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/nasendoscopy/) | 81 days | 54 surgeries | 0.0% |
| [Carpal tunnel release](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/carpal-tunnel-surgery/) | 84 days | 111 surgeries | 3.6% |
| [Hydrocele - repair of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/hydrocele-repair-of/) | 85 days | 11 surgeries | not published |
| [Inguinal herniotomy/herniorrhaphy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/inguinal-hernia-repair/) | 89 days | 134 surgeries | 5.2% |
| [Procedure for strabismus (squint repair)](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/squint-surgery/) | 89 days | 11 surgeries | not published |
| [Repair of obstructing hiatus hernia](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/repair-of-obstructing-hiatus-hernia/) | 89 days | 33 surgeries | not published |
| [Cataract extraction (with or without intra-ocular lens insertion)](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/cataract-surgery/) | 90 days | 172 surgeries | 8.1% |
| [Arthroscopy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/arthroscopy/) | 92 days | 42 surgeries | not published |
| [Herniorrhaphy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/hernia-repair/) | 96 days | 100 surgeries | 5.0% |
| [Arthroplasty - revision of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/arthroplasty-revision-of/) | 111 days | 14 surgeries | not published |
| [Laparoscopy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/laparoscopy/) | 111 days | 80 surgeries | 13.8% |
| [Muscle or tendon length - change of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/muscle-or-tendon-length-change-of/) | 113 days | 23 surgeries | not published |
| [Osteotomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/osteotomy/) | 114 days | 28 surgeries | not published |
| [Trigger finger/thumb release](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/trigger-finger-release/) | 114 days | 19 surgeries | not published |
| [Total hip replacement](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/hip-replacement/) | 116 days | 111 surgeries | 18.9% |
| [Anterior cruciate ligament reconstruction](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/acl-reconstruction/) | 119 days | 41 surgeries | not published |
| [Rotator cuff - repair of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/rotator-cuff-repair/) | 132 days | 16 surgeries | not published |
| [Salpingo-oophorectomy/oophorectomy/ovarian cystectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/salpingo-oophorectomy-oophorectomy-ovarian-cystectomy/) | 141 days | 62 surgeries | 1.6% |
| [Varicose veins treatment](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/varicose-vein-surgery/) | 142 days | 42 surgeries | not published |
| [Acromioplasty/arthroscopy shoulder/sub acromial decompression](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/acromioplasty-arthroscopy-shoulder-sub-acromial-decompression/) | 145 days | 11 surgeries | not published |
| [Ganglion - excision of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/ganglion-excision-of/) | 150 days | 13 surgeries | not published |
| [Arthrodesis](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/arthrodesis/) | 154 days | 36 surgeries | not published |
| [Dupytren's contracture release](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/dupuytrens-contracture-surgery/) | 155 days | 23 surgeries | not published |
| [Hysterectomy (abdominal/vaginal/laparoscopic)](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/hysterectomy/) | 165 days | 78 surgeries | 28.2% |
| [Shoulder joint replacement](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/shoulder-joint-replacement/) | 173 days | 24 surgeries | not published |
| [Septoplasty](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/septoplasty/) | 186 days | 52 surgeries | 1.9% |
| [Haemorrhoidectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/haemorrhoid-surgery/) | 214 days | 10 surgeries | not published |
| [Breast prosthesis - removal of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/breast-prosthesis-removal-of/) | 253 days | 13 surgeries | not published |
| [Total knee replacement](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/knee-replacement/) | 352 days | 200 surgeries | 34.5% |
| [Female sterilisation](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/female-sterilisation/) | 361 days | 25 surgeries | not published |
| [Vaginal repair - anterior/posterior](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/prolapse-repair/) | 381 days | 37 surgeries | not published |
| [Amputation of limb](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/amputation-of-limb/) | not published | 9 surgeries | not published |
| [Anal fissure - repair of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/anal-fissure-repair-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Bartholin's cyst - removal of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/bartholins-cyst-removal-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Bladder neck incision](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/bladder-neck-incision/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Blepharoplasty](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/blepharoplasty/) | not published | 9 surgeries | not published |
| [Breast reconstruction](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/breast-reconstruction/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Breast reduction](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/breast-reduction/) | not published | 8 surgeries | not published |
| [Circumcision](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/circumcision/) | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| [Common peroneal nerve release](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/common-peroneal-nerve-release/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Corneal graft](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/corneal-graft/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Cystectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/cystectomy/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Dacryocystorhinostomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/dacryocystorhinostomy/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Dermoid cyst - removal of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/dermoid-cyst-removal-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Diathermy of wart/s](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/diathermy-of-wart-s/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Ectropion - correction of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/ectropion-correction-of/) | not published | 7 surgeries | not published |
| [Epididymal cyst - removal of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/epididymal-cyst-removal-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Exostosis - excision of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/exostosis-excision-of/) | not published | 9 surgeries | not published |
| [Femoro-popliteal bypass graft](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/femoro-popliteal-bypass-graft/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Functional endoscopic sinus surgery](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/functional-endoscopic-sinus-surgery/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Fundoplication](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/fundoplication/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Hammer/claw/mallet toe - correction of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/hammer-claw-mallet-toe-correction-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Lingual or maxillary frenulum surgery](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/lingual-or-maxillary-frenulum-surgery/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Mastoidectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/mastoidectomy/) | not published | 7 surgeries | not published |
| [Meniscectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/meniscectomy/) | not published | 6 surgeries | not published |
| [Microlaryngoscopy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/microlaryngoscopy/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Myomectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/myomectomy/) | not published | 8 surgeries | not published |
| [Nerve decompression](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/nerve-decompression/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Orchidectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/orchidectomy/) | not published | 7 surgeries | not published |
| [Orchidopexy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/orchidopexy/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Pharynx - excision of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/pharynx-excision-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Probing of naso-lacrimal duct](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/probing-of-naso-lacrimal-duct/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Pterygium - excision of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/pterygium-excision-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Pyeloplasty/correction of ureteropelvic junction](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/pyeloplasty-correction-of-ureteropelvic-junction/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Removal of intracranial lesion](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/removal-of-intracranial-lesion/) | not published | 9 surgeries | not published |
| [Scar revision](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/scar-revision/) | not published | 9 surgeries | not published |
| [Stapedectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/stapedectomy/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Stone/s urinary tract - removal of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/stone-s-urinary-tract-removal-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Stress incontinence surgery](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/stress-incontinence-surgery/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Tendon release](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/tendon-release/) | not published | 6 surgeries | not published |
| [Thyroglossal remnant - removal of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/thyroglossal-remnant-removal-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Toenail surgery](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/toenail-surgery/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Trabeculectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/trabeculectomy/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Turbinectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/turbinectomy/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Urethra - dilatation of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/urethra-dilatation-of/) | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |

**Not reported for this period**

| Surgery | Median wait | Surgeries | Waited more than 365 days |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Axillary node dissection last reported 2019–20 | not reported |  |  |
| Branchial apparatus remnant - removal of last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Bunion (hallux valgus) - removal of last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Cervical discectomy and fusion last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Congenital pulmonary lesion - removal of last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Endometrial ablation last reported 2018–19 | not reported |  |  |
| Ethmoidectomy last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Examination of eye under anaesthesia last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Laminectomy last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Laryngectomy last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Muscle biopsy/temporal artery biopsy last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Myringotomy last reported 2019–20 | not reported |  |  |
| Myringotomy (without insertion of grommets) last reported 2019–20 | not reported |  |  |
| Nasal polypectomy last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Nerve decompression of spinal cord last reported 2019–20 | not reported |  |  |
| Pedicle screw fusion last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Pilonidal sinus surgery last reported 2018–19 | not reported |  |  |
| Pressure equalising tubes (grommets) - insertion of last reported 2019–20 | not reported |  |  |
| Ptosis - repair of last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Pyogenic granuloma - removal of last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Replacement of aortic aneurysm with bifurcation graft last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Rhinoplasty last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Sub-mucosal resection last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Untethering of spinal cord last reported 2017–18 | not reported |  |  |
| Vitrectomy (including buckling/cryotherapy) last reported 2017–18 | not reported |  |  |

## Urgency categories

Urgency figures cover all planned surgery at the hospital, not one procedure. They are never combined with the procedure figures. Your treating specialist assigns your urgency category — it is not something you choose. [What the categories mean, and how every hospital compares.](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/)

All planned surgery at Cairns Hospital by urgency category, 2024–25.

| Urgency category | Median wait | Treated within the recommended time | Surgeries |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [Urgent](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/category-1/qld/) | 15 days | 91% | 3798 surgeries |
| [Semi-urgent](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/category-2/qld/) | 83 days | 62% | 2435 surgeries |
| [Non-urgent](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/category-3/qld/) | 354 days | 64% | 964 surgeries |

## Queensland's own quarterly figures

Queensland Health publishes its own figures every three months. They count differently from the national figures above and are never combined with them. This quarter ends after the national reporting period, so it is the more recent of the two.

These figures count patients, not surgeries, and they are a snapshot of one quarter. The table above covers a whole financial year. Comparing a number from one table with a number from the other does not tell you anything.

Covers July to September 2025, published by Queensland Health on 28 October 2025. Reported as Cairns.

Planned surgery at Cairns Hospital by urgency category, July to September 2025.

| Group | Patients treated | Treated within the recommended time | Still waiting at the end of the quarter | Waiting longer than recommended |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| All planned surgery at this hospital | 1954 patients | 81.0% | 2876 patients | 389 patients |
| Category 1 — urgent (recommended within 30 days) | 974 patients | 88.8% | 462 patients | 84 patients |
| Category 2 — semi-urgent (recommended within 90 days) | 665 patients | 72.9% | 1042 patients | 194 patients |
| Category 3 — non-urgent (recommended within 365 days) | 315 patients | 73.7% | 1372 patients | 111 patients |

### By surgical specialty

Queensland reports by surgical specialty, not by procedure. A specialty covers many different operations, so a specialty figure is never a figure for any one of them.

Planned surgery at Cairns Hospital by surgical specialty, July to September 2025.

| Group | Patients treated | Treated within the recommended time | Still waiting at the end of the quarter | Waiting longer than recommended |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| ENT surgery | 108 patients | 92.6% | 157 patients | 8 patients |
| General surgery | 425 patients | 94.6% | 617 patients | 34 patients |
| Gynaecology | 299 patients | 70.6% | 516 patients | 65 patients |
| Ophthalmology | 141 patients | 97.9% | 285 patients | 1 patient |
| Orthopaedic surgery | 335 patients | 64.2% | 720 patients | 146 patients |
| Other surgery | 22 patients | 68.2% | 50 patients | 7 patients |
| Plastic & reconstructive surgery | 300 patients | 80.7% | 225 patients | 91 patients |
| Urology | 128 patients | 51.6% | 184 patients | 36 patients |
| Vascular surgery | 196 patients | 98.5% | 122 patients | 1 patient |

**Cite this page**

> In 2024–25, Cairns Hospital published median planned-surgery waits from 3 days for curettage and evacuation of uterus to 381 days for prolapse repair (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026).

### Copy-ready citation

```
Surgery Waits, "Cairns Hospital surgery wait times and waiting list", 2024–25 data released 28 May 2026, https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/, accessed 28 May 2026.
```

Attribution: Surgery Waits ([https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/)), from Australian Institute of Health and Welfare MyHospitals data, CC BY 3.0 AU. Reference period 2024–25, released 28 May 2026.

## What is not here

Public hospitals only. Private hospitals do not report to this collection, so their waiting times cannot be compared here.

[How these figures are put together](https://surgerywaits.au/methodology/) · [All surgery waits in Queensland](https://surgerywaits.au/state/qld/) · [All hospitals](https://surgerywaits.au/hospitals/)

## Before you use these figures

Surgery Waits is not medical advice. It republishes official statistics about waiting times that have already happened, and it does not recommend any hospital, doctor or treatment. Your general practitioner (GP) and your treating specialist are the right people to help you decide what is appropriate for you.

**In an emergency call 000.**

Waiting-time figures: Australian Institute of Health and Welfare MyHospitals, licensed under [CC BY 3.0 AU](https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/au/). Quarterly state figures: Queensland Health. Suburb and locality data: Australian Bureau of Statistics. Both licensed under [CC BY 4.0](https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/). Surgery Waits is not connected with any of these organisations.

Surgery Waits is published by [National Digital](https://nationaldigital.com.au/).

* * *

This is the Markdown copy of https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/cairns-hospital/.
