---
title: "Bowral Hospital surgery waiting times"
description: "Planned surgery waiting times and waiting list at Bowral Hospital, a public hospital in the Bowral area of New South Wales, for 2024–25."
url: "https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/bowral-hospital/"
---

# Bowral Hospital surgery waiting times

In 2024–25, this public hospital in the Bowral area of New South Wales published median waits from **2 days** for curettage and evacuation of uterus to **473 days** for knee replacement.

Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.

Bowral Hospital is a public hospital in the Bowral area of New South Wales. It is part of [South Western Sydney](https://surgerywaits.au/health-service/south-western-sydney/). It reported 43 surgery types to the national planned-surgery collection for 2024–25. 23 surgery types were last reported in an earlier period; they are listed below, with the period the source last carried them.

**[Compare this near you →](https://surgerywaits.au/)** On the compare page, pick a surgery and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.

## Waiting times by surgery

Shortest median wait first. A surgery the source did not publish a figure for is listed after those, and a surgery it did not report at all this period is listed last. Neither is ranked, and neither shows an older figure in place of a current one.

Planned surgery at Bowral Hospital, 2024–25. Every figure was released on 2026-05-28.

| Surgery | Median wait | Surgeries | Waited more than 365 days |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [Curettage and evacuation of uterus](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/bowral-hospital/curettage-and-evacuation-of-uterus/) | 2 days | 26 surgeries | not published |
| [Fracture non-union - treatment of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/bowral-hospital/fracture-non-union-treatment-of/) | 5 days | 12 surgeries | not published |
| [Breast lump - excision and/or biopsy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/bowral-hospital/breast-lump-removal/) | 14 days | 13 surgeries | not published |
| [Skin lesion - excision of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/bowral-hospital/skin-lesion-removal/) | 15 days | 213 surgeries | 0.0% |
| [Hysteroscopy, dilatation and curettage](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/bowral-hospital/dilatation-and-curettage/) | 17 days | 46 surgeries | not published |
| [Cholecystectomy (open/laparoscopic)](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/bowral-hospital/gallbladder-removal/) | 35 days | 70 surgeries | 0.0% |
| [Toenail surgery](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/bowral-hospital/toenail-surgery/) | 42 days | 18 surgeries | not published |
| [Arthroscopy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/bowral-hospital/arthroscopy/) | 52 days | 12 surgeries | not published |
| [Carpal tunnel release](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/bowral-hospital/carpal-tunnel-surgery/) | 53 days | 21 surgeries | not published |
| [Haemorrhoidectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/bowral-hospital/haemorrhoid-surgery/) | 56 days | 10 surgeries | not published |
| [Inguinal herniotomy/herniorrhaphy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/bowral-hospital/inguinal-hernia-repair/) | 63 days | 65 surgeries | 0.0% |
| [Herniorrhaphy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/bowral-hospital/hernia-repair/) | 77 days | 59 surgeries | 0.0% |
| [Cataract extraction (with or without intra-ocular lens insertion)](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/bowral-hospital/cataract-surgery/) | 204 days | 489 surgeries | 3.9% |
| [Total hip replacement](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/bowral-hospital/hip-replacement/) | 345 days | 85 surgeries | 45.9% |
| [Shoulder joint replacement](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/bowral-hospital/shoulder-joint-replacement/) | 456 days | 14 surgeries | not published |
| [Total knee replacement](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/bowral-hospital/knee-replacement/) | 473 days | 78 surgeries | 80.8% |
| [Acromioplasty/arthroscopy shoulder/sub acromial decompression](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/bowral-hospital/acromioplasty-arthroscopy-shoulder-sub-acromial-decompression/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Anal fissure - repair of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/bowral-hospital/anal-fissure-repair-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Anterior cruciate ligament reconstruction](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/bowral-hospital/acl-reconstruction/) | not published | 7 surgeries | not published |
| [Arthrodesis](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/bowral-hospital/arthrodesis/) | not published | 7 surgeries | not published |
| [Bartholin's abscess drainage](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/bowral-hospital/bartholins-abscess-drainage/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Colectomy/anterior resection/large bowel resection](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/bowral-hospital/colectomy-anterior-resection-large-bowel-resection/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Cone biopsy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/bowral-hospital/cone-biopsy/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Diathermy of wart/s](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/bowral-hospital/diathermy-of-wart-s/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Dupytren's contracture release](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/bowral-hospital/dupuytrens-contracture-surgery/) | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| [Exostosis - excision of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/bowral-hospital/exostosis-excision-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Female sterilisation](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/bowral-hospital/female-sterilisation/) | not published | 6 surgeries | not published |
| [Ganglion - excision of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/bowral-hospital/ganglion-excision-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Hydrocele - repair of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/bowral-hospital/hydrocele-repair-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Hysterectomy (abdominal/vaginal/laparoscopic)](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/bowral-hospital/hysterectomy/) | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| [Laminectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/bowral-hospital/laminectomy/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Laparoscopy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/bowral-hospital/laparoscopy/) | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| [Large loop excision of the transformation zone cervix (LLETZ)](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/bowral-hospital/lletz-procedure/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Mastectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/bowral-hospital/mastectomy/) | not published | 6 surgeries | not published |
| [Nerve decompression](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/bowral-hospital/nerve-decompression/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Osteotomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/bowral-hospital/osteotomy/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Pilonidal sinus surgery](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/bowral-hospital/pilonidal-sinus-surgery/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Pterygium - excision of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/bowral-hospital/pterygium-excision-of/) | not published | 7 surgeries | not published |
| [Rotator cuff - repair of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/bowral-hospital/rotator-cuff-repair/) | not published | 6 surgeries | not published |
| [Salpingo-oophorectomy/oophorectomy/ovarian cystectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/bowral-hospital/salpingo-oophorectomy-oophorectomy-ovarian-cystectomy/) | not published | 8 surgeries | not published |
| [Scar revision](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/bowral-hospital/scar-revision/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Trigger finger/thumb release](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/bowral-hospital/trigger-finger-release/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Vaginal repair - anterior/posterior](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/bowral-hospital/prolapse-repair/) | not published | not published | not published |

**Not reported for this period**

| Surgery | Median wait | Surgeries | Waited more than 365 days |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Axillary node dissection last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Breast prosthesis - removal of last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Bunion (hallux valgus) - removal of last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Cerebral haematoma - evacuation of last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Circumcision last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Cystoscopy last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Dacryocystorhinostomy last reported 2019–20 | not reported |  |  |
| Dialysis access surgery last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Ectropion - correction of last reported 2020–21 | not reported |  |  |
| Endometrial ablation last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Epididymal cyst - removal of last reported 2018–19 | not reported |  |  |
| Hammer/claw/mallet toe - correction of last reported 2019–20 | not reported |  |  |
| Meniscectomy last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Myomectomy last reported 2019–20 | not reported |  |  |
| Orchidectomy last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Parotidectomy/submandibular gland - excision of last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Ptosis - repair of last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Shoulder reconstruction last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Stress incontinence surgery last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Tendon release last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Thyroidectomy/hemi-thyroidectomy last reported 2018–19 | not reported |  |  |
| Trabeculectomy last reported 2020–21 | not reported |  |  |
| Varicose veins treatment last reported 2016–17 | not reported |  |  |

## Urgency categories

Urgency figures cover all planned surgery at the hospital, not one procedure. They are never combined with the procedure figures. Your treating specialist assigns your urgency category — it is not something you choose. [What the categories mean, and how every hospital compares.](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/)

All planned surgery at Bowral Hospital by urgency category, 2024–25.

| Urgency category | Median wait | Treated within the recommended time | Surgeries |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [Urgent](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/category-1/nsw/) | 14 days | 100% | 269 surgeries |
| [Semi-urgent](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/category-2/nsw/) | 43 days | 98% | 490 surgeries |
| [Non-urgent](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/category-3/nsw/) | 238 days | 79% | 674 surgeries |

**Cite this page**

> In 2024–25, Bowral Hospital published median planned-surgery waits from 2 days for curettage and evacuation of uterus to 473 days for knee replacement (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026).

### Copy-ready citation

```
Surgery Waits, "Bowral Hospital surgery wait times and waiting list", 2024–25 data released 28 May 2026, https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/bowral-hospital/, accessed 28 May 2026.
```

Attribution: Surgery Waits ([https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/bowral-hospital/](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/bowral-hospital/)), from Australian Institute of Health and Welfare MyHospitals data, CC BY 3.0 AU. Reference period 2024–25, released 28 May 2026.

## What is not here

Public hospitals only. Private hospitals do not report to this collection, so their waiting times cannot be compared here.

[How these figures are put together](https://surgerywaits.au/methodology/) · [All surgery waits in New South Wales](https://surgerywaits.au/state/nsw/) · [All hospitals](https://surgerywaits.au/hospitals/)

## Before you use these figures

Surgery Waits is not medical advice. It republishes official statistics about waiting times that have already happened, and it does not recommend any hospital, doctor or treatment. Your general practitioner (GP) and your treating specialist are the right people to help you decide what is appropriate for you.

**In an emergency call 000.**

Waiting-time figures: Australian Institute of Health and Welfare MyHospitals, licensed under [CC BY 3.0 AU](https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/au/). Quarterly state figures: Queensland Health. Suburb and locality data: Australian Bureau of Statistics. Both licensed under [CC BY 4.0](https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/). Surgery Waits is not connected with any of these organisations.

Surgery Waits is published by [National Digital](https://nationaldigital.com.au/).

* * *

This is the Markdown copy of https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/bowral-hospital/.
