---
title: "Bourke Multi Purpose Service surgery waiting times"
description: "Planned surgery waiting times and waiting list at Bourke Multi Purpose Service, a public hospital in the Bourke area of New South Wales, for 2024–25."
url: "https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/bourke-multi-purpose-service/"
---

# Bourke Multi Purpose Service surgery waiting times

In 2024–25, this public hospital in the Bourke area of New South Wales published median waits from **238 days** for cataract surgery to **286 days** for pterygium (eye growth) removal.

Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.

Bourke Multi Purpose Service is a public hospital in the Bourke area of New South Wales. It is part of [Western NSW](https://surgerywaits.au/health-service/western-nsw/). It reported 2 surgery types to the national planned-surgery collection for 2024–25. 5 surgery types were last reported in an earlier period; they are listed below, with the period the source last carried them.

**[Compare this near you →](https://surgerywaits.au/)** On the compare page, pick a surgery and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.

## Waiting times by surgery

Shortest median wait first. A surgery the source did not publish a figure for is listed after those, and a surgery it did not report at all this period is listed last. Neither is ranked, and neither shows an older figure in place of a current one.

Planned surgery at Bourke Multi Purpose Service, 2024–25. Every figure was released on 2026-05-28.

| Surgery | Median wait | Surgeries | Waited more than 365 days |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [Cataract extraction (with or without intra-ocular lens insertion)](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/bourke-multi-purpose-service/cataract-surgery/) | 238 days | 155 surgeries | 3.9% |
| [Pterygium - excision of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/bourke-multi-purpose-service/pterygium-excision-of/) | 286 days | 11 surgeries | not published |

**Not reported for this period**

| Surgery | Median wait | Surgeries | Waited more than 365 days |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Blepharoplasty last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Ectropion - correction of last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Ptosis - repair of last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Skin lesion - excision of last reported 2019–20 | not reported |  |  |
| Trabeculectomy last reported 2018–19 | not reported |  |  |

## Urgency categories

Urgency figures cover all planned surgery at the hospital, not one procedure. They are never combined with the procedure figures. Your treating specialist assigns your urgency category — it is not something you choose. [What the categories mean, and how every hospital compares.](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/)

All planned surgery at Bourke Multi Purpose Service by urgency category, 2024–25.

| Urgency category | Median wait | Treated within the recommended time | Surgeries |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [Urgent](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/category-1/nsw/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Semi-urgent](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/category-2/nsw/) | 73 days | 62% | 45 surgeries |
| [Non-urgent](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/category-3/nsw/) | 291 days | 94% | 117 surgeries |

**Cite this page**

> In 2024–25, Bourke Multi Purpose Service published median planned-surgery waits from 238 days for cataract surgery to 286 days for pterygium (eye growth) removal (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026).

### Copy-ready citation

```
Surgery Waits, "Bourke Multi Purpose Service waiting list", 2024–25 data released 28 May 2026, https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/bourke-multi-purpose-service/, accessed 28 May 2026.
```

Attribution: Surgery Waits ([https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/bourke-multi-purpose-service/](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/bourke-multi-purpose-service/)), from Australian Institute of Health and Welfare MyHospitals data, CC BY 3.0 AU. Reference period 2024–25, released 28 May 2026.

## What is not here

Public hospitals only. Private hospitals do not report to this collection, so their waiting times cannot be compared here.

[How these figures are put together](https://surgerywaits.au/methodology/) · [All surgery waits in New South Wales](https://surgerywaits.au/state/nsw/) · [All hospitals](https://surgerywaits.au/hospitals/)

## Before you use these figures

Surgery Waits is not medical advice. It republishes official statistics about waiting times that have already happened, and it does not recommend any hospital, doctor or treatment. Your general practitioner (GP) and your treating specialist are the right people to help you decide what is appropriate for you.

**In an emergency call 000.**

Waiting-time figures: Australian Institute of Health and Welfare MyHospitals, licensed under [CC BY 3.0 AU](https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/au/). Quarterly state figures: Queensland Health. Suburb and locality data: Australian Bureau of Statistics. Both licensed under [CC BY 4.0](https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/). Surgery Waits is not connected with any of these organisations.

Surgery Waits is published by [National Digital](https://nationaldigital.com.au/).

* * *

This is the Markdown copy of https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/bourke-multi-purpose-service/.
