---
title: "Blacktown Hospital surgery waiting times"
description: "Planned surgery waiting times and waiting list at Blacktown Hospital, a public hospital in the Blacktown area of New South Wales, for 2024–25."
url: "https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blacktown-hospital/"
---

# Blacktown Hospital surgery waiting times

In 2024–25, this public hospital in the Blacktown area of New South Wales published median waits from **20 days** for lobectomy/wedge resection/pneumonectomy to **362 days** for knee replacement.

Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.

Blacktown Hospital is a public hospital in the Blacktown area of New South Wales. It is part of [Western Sydney](https://surgerywaits.au/health-service/western-sydney/). It reported 60 surgery types to the national planned-surgery collection for 2024–25. 25 surgery types were last reported in an earlier period; they are listed below, with the period the source last carried them.

**[Compare this near you →](https://surgerywaits.au/)** On the compare page, pick a surgery and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.

## Waiting times by surgery

Shortest median wait first. A surgery the source did not publish a figure for is listed after those, and a surgery it did not report at all this period is listed last. Neither is ranked, and neither shows an older figure in place of a current one.

Planned surgery at Blacktown Hospital, 2024–25. Every figure was released on 2026-05-28.

| Surgery | Median wait | Surgeries | Waited more than 365 days |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [Lobectomy/wedge resection/pneumonectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blacktown-hospital/lobectomy-wedge-resection-pneumonectomy/) | 20 days | 60 surgeries | 0.0% |
| [Colectomy/anterior resection/large bowel resection](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blacktown-hospital/colectomy-anterior-resection-large-bowel-resection/) | 26 days | 81 surgeries | 0.0% |
| [Prostate biopsy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blacktown-hospital/prostate-biopsy/) | 45 days | 103 surgeries | 0.0% |
| [Hysteroscopy, dilatation and curettage](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blacktown-hospital/dilatation-and-curettage/) | 49 days | 708 surgeries | 0.0% |
| [Large loop excision of the transformation zone cervix (LLETZ)](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blacktown-hospital/lletz-procedure/) | 51 days | 64 surgeries | 0.0% |
| [Ureteric stent - insertion of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blacktown-hospital/ureteric-stent-insertion-of/) | 51 days | 67 surgeries | 0.0% |
| [Skin lesion - excision of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blacktown-hospital/skin-lesion-removal/) | 56 days | 15 surgeries | not published |
| [Cystoscopy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blacktown-hospital/cystoscopy/) | 57 days | 969 surgeries | 0.4% |
| [Cholecystectomy (open/laparoscopic)](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blacktown-hospital/gallbladder-removal/) | 63 days | 126 surgeries | 0.8% |
| [Prostatectomy (transurethral or open)](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blacktown-hospital/prostate-surgery/) | 78 days | 105 surgeries | 1.0% |
| [Repair of obstructing hiatus hernia](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blacktown-hospital/repair-of-obstructing-hiatus-hernia/) | 79 days | 11 surgeries | not published |
| [Thyroidectomy/hemi-thyroidectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blacktown-hospital/thyroidectomy-hemi-thyroidectomy/) | 82 days | 45 surgeries | not published |
| [Laparoscopy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blacktown-hospital/laparoscopy/) | 84 days | 25 surgeries | not published |
| [Salpingo-oophorectomy/oophorectomy/ovarian cystectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blacktown-hospital/salpingo-oophorectomy-oophorectomy-ovarian-cystectomy/) | 87 days | 77 surgeries | 1.3% |
| [Inguinal herniotomy/herniorrhaphy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blacktown-hospital/inguinal-hernia-repair/) | 148 days | 83 surgeries | 1.2% |
| [Hysterectomy (abdominal/vaginal/laparoscopic)](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blacktown-hospital/hysterectomy/) | 205 days | 111 surgeries | 0.9% |
| [Herniorrhaphy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blacktown-hospital/hernia-repair/) | 239 days | 65 surgeries | 1.5% |
| [Parathyroidectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blacktown-hospital/parathyroidectomy/) | 279 days | 26 surgeries | not published |
| [Endometrial ablation](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blacktown-hospital/endometrial-ablation/) | 299 days | 13 surgeries | not published |
| [Carpal tunnel release](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blacktown-hospital/carpal-tunnel-surgery/) | 309 days | 11 surgeries | not published |
| [Circumcision](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blacktown-hospital/circumcision/) | 312 days | 10 surgeries | not published |
| [Curettage and evacuation of uterus](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blacktown-hospital/curettage-and-evacuation-of-uterus/) | 320 days | 11 surgeries | not published |
| [Female sterilisation](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blacktown-hospital/female-sterilisation/) | 322 days | 12 surgeries | not published |
| [Vaginal repair - anterior/posterior](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blacktown-hospital/prolapse-repair/) | 322 days | 47 surgeries | not published |
| [Total hip replacement](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blacktown-hospital/hip-replacement/) | 349 days | 58 surgeries | 10.3% |
| [Varicose veins treatment](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blacktown-hospital/varicose-vein-surgery/) | 349 days | 52 surgeries | 1.9% |
| [Arthroscopy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blacktown-hospital/arthroscopy/) | 360 days | 12 surgeries | not published |
| [Total knee replacement](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blacktown-hospital/knee-replacement/) | 362 days | 169 surgeries | 40.8% |
| [Anal fissure - repair of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blacktown-hospital/anal-fissure-repair-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Anterior cruciate ligament reconstruction](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blacktown-hospital/acl-reconstruction/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Arthroplasty - revision of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blacktown-hospital/arthroplasty-revision-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Bartholin's abscess drainage](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blacktown-hospital/bartholins-abscess-drainage/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Bladder neck incision](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blacktown-hospital/bladder-neck-incision/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Breast lump - excision and/or biopsy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blacktown-hospital/breast-lump-removal/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Carotid endarterectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blacktown-hospital/carotid-endarterectomy/) | not published | 6 surgeries | not published |
| [Cystectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blacktown-hospital/cystectomy/) | not published | 6 surgeries | not published |
| [Dermoid cyst - removal of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blacktown-hospital/dermoid-cyst-removal-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Epididymal cyst - removal of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blacktown-hospital/epididymal-cyst-removal-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Femoro-popliteal bypass graft](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blacktown-hospital/femoro-popliteal-bypass-graft/) | not published | 9 surgeries | not published |
| [Fracture non-union - treatment of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blacktown-hospital/fracture-non-union-treatment-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Fundoplication](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blacktown-hospital/fundoplication/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Ganglion - excision of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blacktown-hospital/ganglion-excision-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Haemorrhoidectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blacktown-hospital/haemorrhoid-surgery/) | not published | 9 surgeries | not published |
| [Hydrocele - repair of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blacktown-hospital/hydrocele-repair-of/) | not published | 7 surgeries | not published |
| [Lingual or maxillary frenulum surgery](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blacktown-hospital/lingual-or-maxillary-frenulum-surgery/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Lithotripsy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blacktown-hospital/lithotripsy/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Myomectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blacktown-hospital/myomectomy/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Nephrectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blacktown-hospital/nephrectomy/) | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| [Orchidectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blacktown-hospital/orchidectomy/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Osteotomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blacktown-hospital/osteotomy/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Parotidectomy/submandibular gland - excision of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blacktown-hospital/parotidectomy-submandibular-gland-excision-of/) | not published | 7 surgeries | not published |
| [Pilonidal sinus surgery](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blacktown-hospital/pilonidal-sinus-surgery/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Pleurodesis](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blacktown-hospital/pleurodesis/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Rotator cuff - repair of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blacktown-hospital/rotator-cuff-repair/) | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| [Scar revision](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blacktown-hospital/scar-revision/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Shoulder joint replacement](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blacktown-hospital/shoulder-joint-replacement/) | not published | 7 surgeries | not published |
| [Stone/s urinary tract - removal of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blacktown-hospital/stone-s-urinary-tract-removal-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Stress incontinence surgery](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blacktown-hospital/stress-incontinence-surgery/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Toenail surgery](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blacktown-hospital/toenail-surgery/) | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| [Urethra - dilatation of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blacktown-hospital/urethra-dilatation-of/) | not published | not published | not published |

**Not reported for this period**

| Surgery | Median wait | Surgeries | Waited more than 365 days |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Acromioplasty/arthroscopy shoulder/sub acromial decompression last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Amputation of limb last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Arthrodesis last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Axillary node dissection last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Bunion (hallux valgus) - removal of last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Cerebral haematoma - evacuation of last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Cone biopsy last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Congenital cardiac defect/s - procedure for last reported 2017–18 | not reported |  |  |
| Coronary artery bypass grafting last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Dialysis access surgery last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Diathermy of wart/s last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Examination of eye under anaesthesia last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Mastectomy last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Meniscectomy last reported 2017–18 | not reported |  |  |
| Microlaryngoscopy last reported 2018–19 | not reported |  |  |
| Muscle or tendon length - change of last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Nasendoscopy last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Nerve decompression last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Orchidopexy last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Pharynx - excision of last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Pyeloplasty/correction of ureteropelvic junction last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Radical neck dissection last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Replacement of aortic aneurysm with bifurcation graft last reported 2021–22 | not reported |  |  |
| Shoulder reconstruction last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Tendon release last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |

## Urgency categories

Urgency figures cover all planned surgery at the hospital, not one procedure. They are never combined with the procedure figures. Your treating specialist assigns your urgency category — it is not something you choose. [What the categories mean, and how every hospital compares.](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/)

All planned surgery at Blacktown Hospital by urgency category, 2024–25.

| Urgency category | Median wait | Treated within the recommended time | Surgeries |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [Urgent](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/category-1/nsw/) | 20 days | 100% | 677 surgeries |
| [Semi-urgent](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/category-2/nsw/) | 59 days | 91% | 1967 surgeries |
| [Non-urgent](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/category-3/nsw/) | 336 days | 91% | 1076 surgeries |

**Cite this page**

> In 2024–25, Blacktown Hospital published median planned-surgery waits from 20 days for lobectomy/wedge resection/pneumonectomy to 362 days for knee replacement (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026).

### Copy-ready citation

```
Surgery Waits, "Blacktown Hospital surgery wait times and waiting list", 2024–25 data released 28 May 2026, https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blacktown-hospital/, accessed 28 May 2026.
```

Attribution: Surgery Waits ([https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blacktown-hospital/](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blacktown-hospital/)), from Australian Institute of Health and Welfare MyHospitals data, CC BY 3.0 AU. Reference period 2024–25, released 28 May 2026.

## What is not here

Public hospitals only. Private hospitals do not report to this collection, so their waiting times cannot be compared here.

[How these figures are put together](https://surgerywaits.au/methodology/) · [All surgery waits in New South Wales](https://surgerywaits.au/state/nsw/) · [All hospitals](https://surgerywaits.au/hospitals/)

## Before you use these figures

Surgery Waits is not medical advice. It republishes official statistics about waiting times that have already happened, and it does not recommend any hospital, doctor or treatment. Your general practitioner (GP) and your treating specialist are the right people to help you decide what is appropriate for you.

**In an emergency call 000.**

Waiting-time figures: Australian Institute of Health and Welfare MyHospitals, licensed under [CC BY 3.0 AU](https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/au/). Quarterly state figures: Queensland Health. Suburb and locality data: Australian Bureau of Statistics. Both licensed under [CC BY 4.0](https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/). Surgery Waits is not connected with any of these organisations.

Surgery Waits is published by [National Digital](https://nationaldigital.com.au/).

* * *

This is the Markdown copy of https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blacktown-hospital/.
