---
title: "Blackburn Public Surgical Centre surgery waiting times"
description: "Planned surgery waiting times and waiting list at Blackburn Public Surgical Centre, a public hospital in the Blackburn South area of Victoria, for 2024–25."
url: "https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blackburn-public-surgical-centre/"
---

# Blackburn Public Surgical Centre surgery waiting times

In 2024–25, this public hospital in the Blackburn South area of Victoria published median waits from **1 day** for curettage and evacuation of uterus to **690 days** for deviated septum surgery.

Reference period 2024–25 (1 July 2024 to 30 June 2025) · released 28 May 2026.

Blackburn Public Surgical Centre is a public hospital in the Blackburn South area of Victoria. It is part of [Eastern Health](https://surgerywaits.au/health-service/eastern-health/). It reported 43 surgery types to the national planned-surgery collection for 2024–25. 4 surgery types were last reported in an earlier period; they are listed below, with the period the source last carried them.

**[Compare this near you →](https://surgerywaits.au/)** On the compare page, pick a surgery and type your suburb to see the public hospitals within reach, ordered by their published wait. Nothing you type there is kept.

## Waiting times by surgery

Shortest median wait first. A surgery the source did not publish a figure for is listed after those, and a surgery it did not report at all this period is listed last. Neither is ranked, and neither shows an older figure in place of a current one.

Planned surgery at Blackburn Public Surgical Centre, 2024–25. Every figure was released on 2026-05-28.

| Surgery | Median wait | Surgeries | Waited more than 365 days |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [Curettage and evacuation of uterus](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blackburn-public-surgical-centre/curettage-and-evacuation-of-uterus/) | 1 day | 194 surgeries | 0.0% |
| [Hysteroscopy, dilatation and curettage](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blackburn-public-surgical-centre/dilatation-and-curettage/) | 22 days | 645 surgeries | 0.0% |
| [Anal fissure - repair of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blackburn-public-surgical-centre/anal-fissure-repair-of/) | 23 days | 14 surgeries | not published |
| [Cholecystectomy (open/laparoscopic)](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blackburn-public-surgical-centre/gallbladder-removal/) | 24 days | 224 surgeries | 0.9% |
| [Toenail surgery](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blackburn-public-surgical-centre/toenail-surgery/) | 29 days | 15 surgeries | not published |
| [Inguinal herniotomy/herniorrhaphy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blackburn-public-surgical-centre/inguinal-hernia-repair/) | 32 days | 260 surgeries | 0.4% |
| [Herniorrhaphy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blackburn-public-surgical-centre/hernia-repair/) | 35 days | 180 surgeries | 0.6% |
| [Skin lesion - excision of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blackburn-public-surgical-centre/skin-lesion-removal/) | 47 days | 165 surgeries | 0.0% |
| [Pilonidal sinus surgery](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blackburn-public-surgical-centre/pilonidal-sinus-surgery/) | 48 days | 27 surgeries | not published |
| [Haemorrhoidectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blackburn-public-surgical-centre/haemorrhoid-surgery/) | 49 days | 77 surgeries | 0.0% |
| [Salpingo-oophorectomy/oophorectomy/ovarian cystectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blackburn-public-surgical-centre/salpingo-oophorectomy-oophorectomy-ovarian-cystectomy/) | 50 days | 40 surgeries | not published |
| [Laparoscopy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blackburn-public-surgical-centre/laparoscopy/) | 53 days | 151 surgeries | 0.0% |
| [Carpal tunnel release](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blackburn-public-surgical-centre/carpal-tunnel-surgery/) | 60 days | 105 surgeries | 0.0% |
| [Hysterectomy (abdominal/vaginal/laparoscopic)](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blackburn-public-surgical-centre/hysterectomy/) | 80 days | 62 surgeries | 0.0% |
| [Breast reduction](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blackburn-public-surgical-centre/breast-reduction/) | 87 days | 10 surgeries | not published |
| [Tonsillectomy (with or without adenoidectomy)](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blackburn-public-surgical-centre/tonsillectomy/) | 133 days | 26 surgeries | not published |
| [Varicose veins treatment](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blackburn-public-surgical-centre/varicose-vein-surgery/) | 185 days | 36 surgeries | not published |
| [Septoplasty](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blackburn-public-surgical-centre/septoplasty/) | 690 days | 94 surgeries | 78.7% |
| [Anterior cruciate ligament reconstruction](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blackburn-public-surgical-centre/acl-reconstruction/) | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| [Arthroscopy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blackburn-public-surgical-centre/arthroscopy/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Bartholin's abscess drainage](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blackburn-public-surgical-centre/bartholins-abscess-drainage/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Blepharoplasty](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blackburn-public-surgical-centre/blepharoplasty/) | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |
| [Breast lump - excision and/or biopsy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blackburn-public-surgical-centre/breast-lump-removal/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Breast prosthesis - removal of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blackburn-public-surgical-centre/breast-prosthesis-removal-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Breast reconstruction](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blackburn-public-surgical-centre/breast-reconstruction/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Circumcision](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blackburn-public-surgical-centre/circumcision/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Dupytren's contracture release](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blackburn-public-surgical-centre/dupuytrens-contracture-surgery/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Ectropion - correction of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blackburn-public-surgical-centre/ectropion-correction-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Endometrial ablation](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blackburn-public-surgical-centre/endometrial-ablation/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Epididymal cyst - removal of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blackburn-public-surgical-centre/epididymal-cyst-removal-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Female sterilisation](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blackburn-public-surgical-centre/female-sterilisation/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Functional endoscopic sinus surgery](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blackburn-public-surgical-centre/functional-endoscopic-sinus-surgery/) | not published | 9 surgeries | not published |
| [Ganglion - excision of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blackburn-public-surgical-centre/ganglion-excision-of/) | not published | 8 surgeries | not published |
| [Hydrocele - repair of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blackburn-public-surgical-centre/hydrocele-repair-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Mastectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blackburn-public-surgical-centre/mastectomy/) | not published | 6 surgeries | not published |
| [Myomectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blackburn-public-surgical-centre/myomectomy/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Myringotomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blackburn-public-surgical-centre/myringotomy/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Pressure equalising tubes (grommets) - insertion of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blackburn-public-surgical-centre/grommets/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Pterygium - excision of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blackburn-public-surgical-centre/pterygium-excision-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Ptosis - repair of](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blackburn-public-surgical-centre/ptosis-repair-of/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Trigger finger/thumb release](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blackburn-public-surgical-centre/trigger-finger-release/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Turbinectomy](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blackburn-public-surgical-centre/turbinectomy/) | not published | not published | not published |
| [Vaginal repair - anterior/posterior](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blackburn-public-surgical-centre/prolapse-repair/) | not published | 5 surgeries | not published |

**Not reported for this period**

| Surgery | Median wait | Surgeries | Waited more than 365 days |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Axillary node dissection last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Large loop excision of the transformation zone cervix (LLETZ) last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |
| Pyogenic granuloma - removal of last reported 2022–23 | not reported |  |  |
| Repair of obstructing hiatus hernia last reported 2023–24 | not reported |  |  |

## Urgency categories

Urgency figures cover all planned surgery at the hospital, not one procedure. They are never combined with the procedure figures. Your treating specialist assigns your urgency category — it is not something you choose. [What the categories mean, and how every hospital compares.](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/)

All planned surgery at Blackburn Public Surgical Centre by urgency category, 2024–25.

| Urgency category | Median wait | Treated within the recommended time | Surgeries |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [Urgent](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/category-1/vic/) | 6 days | 100% | 494 surgeries |
| [Semi-urgent](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/category-2/vic/) | 36 days | 85% | 1758 surgeries |
| [Non-urgent](https://surgerywaits.au/urgency/category-3/vic/) | 94 days | 86% | 593 surgeries |

**Cite this page**

> In 2024–25, Blackburn Public Surgical Centre published median planned-surgery waits from 1 day for curettage and evacuation of uterus to 690 days for deviated septum surgery (AIHW MyHospitals, released 28 May 2026).

### Copy-ready citation

```
Surgery Waits, "Blackburn Public Surgical Centre waiting list", 2024–25 data released 28 May 2026, https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blackburn-public-surgical-centre/, accessed 28 May 2026.
```

Attribution: Surgery Waits ([https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blackburn-public-surgical-centre/](https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blackburn-public-surgical-centre/)), from Australian Institute of Health and Welfare MyHospitals data, CC BY 3.0 AU. Reference period 2024–25, released 28 May 2026.

## What is not here

Public hospitals only. Private hospitals do not report to this collection, so their waiting times cannot be compared here.

[How these figures are put together](https://surgerywaits.au/methodology/) · [All surgery waits in Victoria](https://surgerywaits.au/state/vic/) · [All hospitals](https://surgerywaits.au/hospitals/)

## Before you use these figures

Surgery Waits is not medical advice. It republishes official statistics about waiting times that have already happened, and it does not recommend any hospital, doctor or treatment. Your general practitioner (GP) and your treating specialist are the right people to help you decide what is appropriate for you.

**In an emergency call 000.**

Waiting-time figures: Australian Institute of Health and Welfare MyHospitals, licensed under [CC BY 3.0 AU](https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/au/). Quarterly state figures: Queensland Health. Suburb and locality data: Australian Bureau of Statistics. Both licensed under [CC BY 4.0](https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/). Surgery Waits is not connected with any of these organisations.

Surgery Waits is published by [National Digital](https://nationaldigital.com.au/).

* * *

This is the Markdown copy of https://surgerywaits.au/hospital/blackburn-public-surgical-centre/.
